We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third consecutive year !! Best Experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Third consecutive year !! Best Experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is our third consecutive year at VDP, First time we went in 2011 with our 8 months old daughter, each stay was 9 days or so. Tomorrow 4/5/13, we are going there again for 9 days.

Following are few things we like and dislike.

Firstly, Let me thank Alex at Bella California, He is manager there and always there to help and very nice person to talk to.

Jose - 2011, he had this dinner settings near the fire pit and we enjoyed it so much, he is one of the best servers we have ever met and he made our trip, and he along with Alex and the rest of the server staff were the reason we went there next year.


- Great location
- All the servers are very nice, except Morning staff at breakfast buffet and some people at dinner. I feel that is mostly because we always do all inclusive and they dont seem to like that.
- Food is always nice, never had to complain about food
- Very clean
- Most of the staff at Las tortugas are Awesome, we had few bad experiences first year but i think they got rid of bad people, last year the manager there was very helpful with my daughter's stroller and also he made sure we got served drinks etc. sometimes they are short of servers but again, they have great Live entertainment at night so no big deal.
- I would not say that font desk staff is very friendly, they are OK. they need to improve in this area and make sure all guests feel special, and treated with equal respect.
- Also, yes spring breaks are busy but any place in cabo will be full with drunk students at that time so stop complaining about spring breaks. i have been there in spring breaks and its busy time but you can manage.
-Kid pool area should be reserved for people with kids, many people just reserve this area and then families with kids dont have space to sit.
-We never had any problems with timeshares, just be firm and say that you are not ready for it right now. and that's it, no one will bother you. if they do then just tell them again same thing that you cant do it right now. be nice about it.

Complaints from last year:

- We had hard time convincing about the Kid's pool temperature, all the kids were cold, and we were afraid that my daughter will catch cold. even other kids around 10 years were cold. It took me half of my vacation and more to convince Ronaldo but still it wasn't fixed. He tried but not sure what was the problem, after 5th day he kept asking me every day if its good(I give him credit for that), and i kept saying that its good, i was actually really angry and decided not to go there again. but then again, i give him a lot of credit for trying and just one problem should not cloud whole experience. I will see what happens this time.


People please take a minute and see how hard they work in heat and cold, they are always working so if it take few minutes longer to get your drinks then whats the big deal ?? get more beers and ask for ice. You can even go and get your own drinks and little walking might even help with the beer belly. :)

Hotel staff - Please make sure you give people time of their life, as most people have very stressful life and they are on vacation to get away from all that and to relax.Also, I have noticed that hotel managers are not around at front desk so when you have a complaints its very hard to reach them so please be available during normal business hours as front desk staff is not always helpful or dont have permission to do many things that managers can do.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a quiet room when you make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
On behalf of Villa del Palmar we thank you for having shared thoughts regarding your previous stays with us. We also thank you for your kind preference. Do believe your comments will not go unnoticed.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    851
    350
    227
    145
See reviews for
743
856
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been here several times you have to stop by the bar inside to enjoy the cool air and the hottest bartender in town. Ask for his signature drinks they're the best!!! He is so awesome!!! The views from this hotels is absolutely the best in town! Outside of the concierge service I would recommend everything

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are pleased to know that once again you enjoyed your stay at Villa Del Palmar. We are also glad to know that Oscar provided you with exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you on your next vacations and provide you with the level of service you have come to expect.

Best regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Telephone charges from our room were extremely high, and we lodged an appeal with Jorge Herran, Regional Director of Operations for the Villa Group. He committed to lobby BBG Communications, the resort's communications provider, for relief on the charges. He promised he would follow through until our discomfort was alleviated, and he did. It took four months, but getting a significant refund against $370 charged for 53 minutes of calling seemed worth the wait. Mr. Herran and his staff were all motivated to resolve this matter, and they did so to our satisfaction. The phone matter was the only unpleasant aspect of an otherwise highly enjoyable stay. We will return, and do so with more caution where room telephone charges are concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It was our pleasure to have assisted you. We look forward to hosting you once again on your future vacations.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galisteo, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Worst night sleep I've had in a long time. I don't know what all the roars and bangs were through the night, but they were loud. Also, the bedroom had no windows and the air conditioner was off at night. I think they must turn it off. Even though it wasn't very hot it was really stuffy. Bad night, place is too big, overdeveloped. So glad we only had one night there.
The best thing was great help from Carolina, at the concierge desk who was very helpful and knowledgeable re the local restaurants. She was great !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are sorry to learn of the inconvenience you encountered during your sta with us. Be sure your comments will not go unnoticed. We truly hope that on your next vacations you would give us the opportunity to change this paste experience.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne Bay, Alaska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I would like to say thank you to pool waiter Alberto Lopez who provided us with such excellent service and friendliness during out stay in Mach at VDP. He made my days pleasant and became a friend to us. So thanks so much Alberto and hope to see you in a couple of years. Brenda MCDonald

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad to know that Alberto provided you with exceptional service and assisted in making your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your future vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our check-in time was 4pm, at 4.45pm when we arrived at the hotel we were told our room wasnt ready and that it would be another hour. We were given some drink vouchers and sent to the bar. An hour later we returned to the check-in desk and were given our room details and passed on to a lady who invited us to breakfast and was giving us all these discount cards (trying to get us into timeshare). We told her we werent interested in Time Share, and we were then told to give back all the cards. After this we were left alone and not harrassed about timeshare again. Our room was decent sized, had a fully stocked kitchen and good sized clean bathroom. Our room had a fabulous view of the arch and lands end. The activities staff / entertainers were amazing! The resturants were alright. There is a buffet dinner everynight with different themed entertainment. The food was generally good. The only small issue we had was on check-out we were told we had taken food from the mini-bar when we had not. We werent made to pay for anything though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We thank you for having shared your experience at the resort. We hope to welcome you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from Spring Break in Cabo San Lucas. We loved the Villa del Palmar as far as the location, amenities and cleanliness. What we did NOT like was all the college spring breakers. I never thought that was a destination for them and so stupidly did not check it out. The place was over run with college students having a good time (in many cases a WAY too good time!) Many of them were clueless as to their surroundings and insensitive to the other guests (especially small kids and families) with their language and behavior. It was also very loud most of the night. Definitely not a huge relaxing vacation! The beach however was pretty deserted until early afternoon - which was a bonus :)

Overall the workers did a great job - they worked and worked and worked. The place was very clean and the servers, etc did a great job! Alexis the beach and pool guy was great in finding extra chairs, umbrellas, etc and bringing them and setting them up - he works hard so a tip is a nice gesture!

The location is great and it is a really easy walk to the marina area - Taxi's are only $7 to that area or there is a local bus you can ride for $1. Take the water taxi over to lover's beach - $8 round trip - although we negotiated that price down.

The rooms are nice and we enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen since we did not do the all inclusive option. After a quick trip to Walmart our first day, we had breakfast in the room and snacks and drinks the rest of the trip. I think the sofa bed needs to be updated - our teenager who can sleep on anything, had a hard time with the bed being super uncomfortable.

Go to Villa del Palmar and enjoy! Just stay away from SPRING BREAK!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We thank you for your valuable comments. They are taken by heart. We look forward to welcoming you once again on a different time of year and make your stay at Villa Del Palmar a memorable one.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.