We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food compared to other all inclusives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Newport, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and food compared to other all inclusives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Feb 22-March 2 2013. The location is great. Downtown Cabo is within walking distance. The Villa is a little smaller than most all inclusives that we have stayed at. It is very clean and the upkeep is good. There were 10 of us in our group. All would recommend it.

Positives:
Pool side service and maid service was very good
Canned beer, not draft. Mixed drinks are also very good
Food was very good for an all inclusive resort
Great views and nice beach
Nice rooms with balcony

Negatives:
NO POOLSIDE BAR or any outside bars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again and offer you the excellent service you deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    696
    751
    320
    220
    140
See reviews for
643
748
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 week vacation here. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. When I requested a room with a view Fernando was very helpful in giving us a room on the 5th floor with a wonderful view of the arches. It was noisy at night while the evening shows were on but they finished early enough so as not to be a problem for sleeping unless you retire early. I appreciated the complementary activities especially the Spanish lessons I attended with Iris and Ramon.
The transportation to the airport was around $20 each which consisted of a taxi for 6 people. You can get the same taxi yourself for $80 and share it with 2 couples if you want to save money.
There is a small decapitated bus that provides regular transportation into town or you can walk there in about 20 mins. It runs regularly even at night but I'm not sure how late. We felt safe going into town and went into town most nights. We did attend the timeshare presentation and it was not high pressure. The orientation to the hotel for first time visitors could have been better but we eventually found out what was going on. There is a bulletin board near the main entrance that was helpful. If you ask you can get the code for wifi in the lounge provided for members (not the lobby or room). We declined the all inclusive and enjoyed the many restaurants in town
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Pamar we thank you for the time you took to write your experience at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your future vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well let me say this first the staff was very nice. Food was good as far as the rooms go NOT CLEAN. I stayed for 6 days 5 nights and on the fifth day I started to itch and their was bumps all over my arms stomach and some on my legs. My husband and lifted up the bed and the bottom of the mattress their was poop stains everywhere. We talked to the manager and seen the doctor their and she confirmed that it was bug bites. The manger put us in a up grad room but told us that they did not find any bugs. I told him if u don't burn those beds you will loose a lot of customers and we are one of them. ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Room Tip: Do not go to Villa Del Palmar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We offer you our deepest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Do believe actions will be taken in order to correct any service issue and offer you the level of service you deserve.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Large Family trip x 11 of us...
First Time To Los Cabos and i was a little concerned after we booked and then read about some of the complaints. At that point i reminded myself to not look at the individual posts but look at the overall and when 75% of them are in the good, very good & excellent category it usually tells the tale. Some people could sleep in a closet and post excellent and other would be upset that its humid in the Jungle or too hot on the beach.

Anyway, beach towels on loungers in the am is common everywhere, they have an hour rule so if there not around put them aside and use them, but there was plenty of spaces throughout the day.

Time share push is minimal, they present and ask you at checkin, be polite and say no & we'll think about it and they leave you alone, & you dont need to attend. At the end of our trip i was asking questions because there is an interest now as it was beautiful stay, there supposed to email me some info however we are probably more motivated to buy a Condo at some point.

Signing for your stuff was absolutely not an issue, no different than any restaurants except you don't have to give them credit card or cash....just sign.....big deal they have time share people and all inclusive so really i can't even consider it a minor inconvenience.

And they shut down early....big deal....if you feel they urge to keep going after 10:30-11:00 buy some beers or whatever sit on your balcony or pay $7 or $8 for 2 cab ride to Town and party it up....the sports bar stays open a little later but not much. We had a noise complaint every night for getting a little loud on our balcony ....tried to tone it down but never stopped....never stayed up or out too too late as the real beauty is in the day.

The resort was.....beautiful, clean, polite servers and staff....little slow to check in but out of our last 6 trips...it was pretty consistent other parts of the South.....short trip from the airport. Very little or non English Language barrier.

Food was very good and easy to figure out where to go....yes we have had better at home at our favorite steak joint etc...but whatever never starved and enjoyed eating there and elsewhere off resort.

Went golfing with 2 sons at Vill Palmar designed by Jack Nichalous.....most beautiful course i've ever played on especially the Ocean 9....I think After 2 pm it was around $100 bucks each including carts and clubs....The clubs were better than mine..Calloways...I think it was a $35 cab ride with tip [one way]....good day.

Pools were beautiful, the beach is awesome...we walked the beach to the Marina [The Marina is a must...breath taking] for a day of taking in the sights and sounds, shopping around stores and flea Market, couple refreshments at Cabo Wabo and so on....We were going to take a water taxi back to the resort but took a cab...we went back to the marina 2 more times but cabbed it as we wanted to maximize our time there....the kids went clubbing to town on 2 evenings and cabbed back safe and sound, little hungover the next day but all good....Beach vendors stay outside the roped areas and don't bother you......but buy some stuff its cheap...costume jewelry , wraps shirts hats, necklaces...its feeding someone

My wife and myself took a ME day and ditched the whole family for the day and went to town/Marina /shopping, had the best time, had dinner looking over the Marina....Forget the name of the Place, Steak, lobster, shrimp and fish, red wine and a couple beers.....Awesome ...hired a 4 piece band to play " And I love her" by the Beatles [Our wedding song] and I sang for her loud and proud on the Pier & brought her close to tears...pretty dam Romantic I'll say...and the boys finished it off in Spanish....Beautiful day, beautiful stay...

We did some barging...for all our beach activities
....6 kids did a Kyak trip to lovers beach and snorkelled and hung out
...they also bargained for some Seadoos ripped it up
....We did a group Whale watching Tour which was WOW....Of all the places we've been this is the 1st place where they garaunteed we would see Whales or Money back and we were not disappointed as we followed a family of 3 for about 1.5 hours and 1000 photos from close up
.... But pretty much everyday we would see the Whales from the beach being followed by the boats as we did and playing in the Bay
We all did Para sailing for our 1st time which we didnt think was going to happen because 2 days it was cancelled due to winds. It was pretty cool and the guys were great.

I would recommend this place and the area in general, we might end up back there at the end of this March and maybe do a little Condo shopping as we were impressed and felt safe.

Room Tip: The rooms were all nice, we had 3 Juniors at different locations and a 1 Bedroom for us. Our in laws...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. We are looking forward to welcoming you once again and make Villa Del Palmar your Home Away from Home.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Don't listen to the bad reviews on here. Villa Del Palmer is a great place to stay! Great location, close to downtown. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will go back here. Very clean. Did not have a problem the whole trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you once again and provide you with the level of service you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just returned from their getaway promotion and we were more impressed
with the package than expected. We were in a Jr. Suite with partial ocean view,

Our room was decent by luck, thanks to Adrien. We were on back side, yet room 2709 jets out over the other rooms and we had a view in both directions. Villa del Palmar is Villas older hotel vs the new Villa del Arco, two doors down the beach,which was full of time share owners in peak season. Since we decided to buy a timeshare that fit our vacation desires we were able to use Villa del Arco's pool and grounds. Their pools are much warmer, better to swim laps in, and more hot tubs to use. Plus we enjoyed their ping pong table by the pool. However, we thought Villa del Palmar lush green grounds were nicer, less sterile, and lots of ground keepers and waiters to wait on you. .

Our all inclusive included food and drink, and we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet which includes just about every tropical fruit,and more, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a juice bar. I am not a big breakfast eater, but this wet my appetite every morning. We knew some tips were
to be tacked onto your bill and discovered it was just $3.50 per day no matter what you ate or
drank. So please tip, especially those whom gave us such great service such as Liz on the
breakfast bar, Ester who waits on you at the pool and beach. They work so hard, and with a
great attitude and smile. We tipped them extra at the end to show them we appreciated it.

I did not enjoy their white fish specials as much as their salmon. I'm sure it is farm raised, but
in both restaurants we enjoyed that the most. My partner enjoyed the beef dishes especially the flank sandwich in the bar. We did not do dinner buffet, as we were too
stuffed to try it each night. Their fries are to die for, and so is the guacamole and chips.

If you are considering a time share, do your home work and don't get conned on the first
round. They keep coming up with better deals until they get you hooked. We believe we
got a great deal on what we wanted. And of course with that, we took advantage of a couple
of adventures. Don't miss the whale watch this time of year on a small boat. We did ours on
Cabo Expeditions and super happy, seeing all kinds of whales.


I

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators. The bar is on the lower level and you can hear the noise in the main tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We thank you for your valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming once again on your future visit.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just want to give a thumbs up to Iris for her ability to teach Spanish at your resort. Defineltly she's a keeper. I didn't have the others as my teachers so can't say anything about them other than they all seemed friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and more of a view. If you are placed in either wing, then choose the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our daily activities. We hope to welcome you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.