We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Logan, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All Inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this resort as "all inclusive" which meant most inclusive. It was a little bit of a pain because the resort has other guests that are time share or just renting they have to track you with a wrist band, and every time you eat or drink anything you have to give them your name, number in your party and your room number. Then you have to sign every time. The food was middle of the road but we did love their chips and guac. The resort is in a great location because you can get in the water on the beach, you can walk to town. We found the staff to be very nice and the rooms and resort are very clean. If you walk down the beach a ways you will find a tent with a Mexican Flag on it. This is "Fly's place' We used them for water taxi, whale watching (which was great) and found them to be great! Close by Fly's place, we also like to get massages from "Edens" they were $30.00 for an hour. All in all it was a great trip.

Room Tip: I have no idea how to pick a good room. Ours looked like it was part of a time share, it had a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We thank you for sharing you thoughts. We hope that in the future you give us the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    724
    771
    327
    222
    143
See reviews for
661
767
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay at Villa Del Palmar. I did email in advance to request a room closer to the ocean and was disappointed when we were the last room before the lobby. But the view was nice and the 2 bedroom had an extra bathroom in the second room. Our stay last time did not include that.
Service varied from indifferent to excellent depending on the staff member. Ester at the pool was awesome and the site manager walked around each day to make sure everything was up to snuff. I wish I remembered his name as he was amazing. Some days our room was made up promptly but a couple of times we did have to call at around 3pm to have them come clean it. So it was hit or miss. I would say it mostly was very good.
When we arrived the hotel was only half filled and as such it was nice to get up and not have to do the towel dance. I simply would head down at around 8:30 with my kids and get a spot. By the following Sunday, it had completely filled up and then the chairs would have towels on them by 7:30. I find this very annoying and wish that all resorts would just promptly remove items after the hour is up.
My kids greatly enjoyed the Whale slide each day. It did get a little unsafe when a lot of kids were on it and not supervised by a parent. We found the staff to be on top of this though and would address the children who were not obeying the rules.
Entertainment staff by the pool are excellent. They did different activities each day. I wish they had a few more for activities for young children. They only did one that targeted them our whole stay. But we all enjoyed the bingo every day.
They do offer a few paddle board lesson every Monday, Wed and Friday from 9:30-11am. It is free and all you have to do is sign up. I took it and loved it. I also was able to take a board out the following day free of charge. My only complaint was that they only had one working board. I could tell the staff was frustrated by this as well when more than one person wanted a lesson or to take the boards out.
Overall, this is a wonderful family friendly resort. If you can find a COSTCO or time-share package that includes all inclusive I highly recommend it. Food was reasonable and tasty if you just wanted to go to town every night as well. We only spend a couple of hundred to each lunch with our family by the pool every day. I would recommend to a family travelling with young children. If I was alone with my husband, I would much rather stay at Villa Estancia or Del Arco next store as they are more upscale.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites in building 1 have a view of the arch but not a 3rd bathroom. They get the afternoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your valuable comments. Do believe they will not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you once again in a near future and make your stay a memorable one.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Nice suites with separate bedroom and 2 bathrooms which was much appreciated as my husband and I had our 2 adult children staying with us. We were there hanging out with extended family for our niece's destination wedding so the all-inclusive plan made sense for us as we didn't go off property. Enjoyed the beautiful outdoor California restaurant for breakfast (with whale watching from our table) and dinner with excellent service. Ordered lunch served on our lounge chairs on the beach and at the pool. Awesome guacamole. The all-inclusive plan included use of the kayaks and we had a great time paddling over to Lover's Beach.

Room Tip: Spring for the suite if you have more than 2 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you once again and provide you with the level of service we are recognized for.

Kind regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i spent five nights in Cabo San Lucas. i bought the Costco Travel Package with air for 2 for about $1150. i did not get the all inclusive because my wife and i like to try street food.

if you have never traveled to mexico beware the "sharks"!!! :) if you buy an all inclusive (hotel/air/transport to and from hotel), you will be greeted as you exit customs. these 'sharks' pretend like they are part of the transportation to the hotel. they are not!!! they say they are part of the Cabo Association and want to give you 2 free activities to enjoy on your stay in Cabo. Keep walking!!! Keep walking!!! They want you to show up at a seminar and sell you time shares. i declined :). people that show up to these seminars end up getting harassed to buy timeshares. alot of people fall for it!! Walk away like i did.

Go past a few more slidiing doors until you are outdoors. there you will see your transportation company person holding a company sign. find your transport company and be on your way.

the timeshare selling doesn't stop though. once you get to the hotel, they will try to sell you on it tooo. don't do it. nothing is free!!! nothing is free!!!

the hotel was excellent. clean rooms with fridge, stove, and microwave. my wife and i used the bus system in Cabo. saves alot of money, but you may do a little more walking because the bus stops in general areas. we liked the walking. the hotel was within walking distance of downtown. we walked during the day and late at night. i did not have a concern about safety. its SAFER to walk there than in downtown Los Angeles or my hometown Santa Ana, CA :)

the only thing i didn't like was wifi was not free. $10.00 a day is too much. i used the wifi at the local mall. the resort credit can only be used at the Villa Del Palmar and not at the other 2 establishments (Villa Estancia and Villa...something i can't remember the name), even though your told its one big place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We thank you for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and offer you the quality and service you deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, wa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice clean rooms, pleasant staff, great location. What's not to like?

Food on resort was a bit overpriced, so don't get locked in to the resort. Don't think the all-inclusive is worth it unless you plan on drinking a lot.

Great kid's pool with a killer whale slide. Full access to the beach.

Great location with short drive access to excellent restaurants "downtown". The rooms were nice and they all come with kitchenette which is great for heating leftovers or some on the spot cooking if you get tired of eating out every meal.

Time share presentation was long but not unpleasant. Great value for the family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We thank you for having shared your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Ut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo. We were traveling with our 4 children, ages 9-18. I will admit after I booked the reservation I was a little concerned about our safety and food. After staying a week I can say that neither concern was an issue. We did not purchase the all inclusive, felt that it was way too expensive. We did eat a couple of times at the resort but mostly we ate in town at local places. We were careful with the water outside the resort but other than that pretty much ate what we wanted to. This is the first time I have ever written a comment but will admit the main reason I am writing is to compliment the concierge staff, especially, Teresita Partida, she was exceptional. She went out of her way to be helpful and got us some awesome deals on zip lining and swimming with the dolphins. With 6 of us traveling she made it very affordable, so just wanted to say thanks to her. We had an amazing time and this resort is very kid friendly, I loved how we had easy access from the pools, to the beach, back to the hot tubs. Our kids stayed busy all day long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week at VDP Cabo. The beach is amazing. The firepit us the best way to end the night. Great rooms. Sergio is the best waiter at the pool/ beach. Victor the restaurant manager is amazing. Whales everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.