We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare hell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Timeshare hell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The beach is the best thing of this hotel. Our 90 minute timeshare presentation took 3 hrs. We were irrattted by the constant signing for EVERYTHING. We were told we could not even get drinks ourselves, we had to have a waiter order drinks for us. We had all-inclusive bracelets on but we still had to sign for everything. The food was tasteless buffet food so we ended up ordering from a menu in the Sports bar. The staff was fruendly and I am sure they were not too happy to have to chase us down for our signature.
We are not resort people and looked forward to move from the Palmar to a more central hotel where we would eat at local restaurants.
We even spoke to a lady who purchased a timshare years ago and was upset that most people were paying less than the timeshare owners. Risk you take by purchasing a timshare when there is so many deals out there.
Oh the extra charges on the bill was a challenge too, especially the charge for the honour bar, which we figure a maid ate and hoped we would pay for. It was removed once we questioned the charge. There was also an optional $3.50 per day maid charge, which we declined as we tip the maid daily and we also had to pay a $20 per day resort fee, go figure that one?
Be careful some deals are just not worth it

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We offer you our deepest apologies for not providing you with the level of service we are recognized for and for not been able to fulfill your expectations. Your comments are highly appreciated.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    781
    329
    222
    144
See reviews for
671
775
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our one week stay here was incredible. We had spent the previous week at a 3/4 star resort in San Jose and the difference was amazing. Everything from food quality to pool service to the amenities was a huge upgrade from the first week. The only inconvenience would be the constant signing of chits for every drink and item of food consumed. This was of course due to the fact that Palmar is optional all-inclusive [AI] but it also gives one a good idea of how much you are saving by paying the AI fees at check in.

When we first arrived we went directly to the Sports Bar where we ordered fries and were plyed with glass after glass of COLD Mexican beer. We actually had to beg the barkeep to stop the flow of beer. We particularly enjoyed the variety of restaurants available for AI guests which included all eateries in the del Arco resort as well as in del Palmar. The Bella California on the beach was such a pleasant place to start your day with the ocean view and the awesome service and food. Espresso coffee available on request came quickly and hot. Additionally, the pizza from the wood-fired oven at Bella was to die for. Tortugas was the dinner venue after which there was a stage show every night. The beer at this resort was always by the can or bottle and was ALWAYS COLD...Canadian eh? El Faro, the japanese restaurant deserves particular mention for the location, service and quality of food served. El Patron is also worthy of a dinner occasion...service and food was again incredible.
During our stay a couple of crise ships showed up right on our doorstep..uh, make that; our beach, which was very novel for us and enhanced the viewspace for a few days. Activities here were always happening and always on time. We particularly enjoyed the ceramic painting that happened every day. One disappointment was the lack of beach volleyball. The hottub was truly Canadian...over 40c...the first one we've found in Baja. Another disappointment was the lack of late night dancing...the stage shows were done by 9pm so to get any dancing later in the evening we had to bus into Cabo which is 10 minutes and 21 pesos by bus or 70 pesos by taxi. There is also a food market on site for those not paying AI fees although buying food in town is a much less expensive option. A free bus runs back and forth between the 2 resorts passing the main gate for those with mobility issues. The bus to Cabo turns around just steps away from the main gate.
Yes, this was a dream week for us. We'd definitely return to Villa del Palmar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We thank you for kind review. Your comments assist us in our effort to improve the level of service offer to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed in or seen many of the resorts in Cabo San Lucas and Villa del Palmar is nothing special. It's very quiet, as it is secluded and away from the noisier end of Medano Beach, which is a plus. The grounds are beautiful -- there is bougainvillea everywhere. But a rather expensive cab ride is necessary to get into town. The rooms look like the rooms in every other resoTrt in Cabo; in other words, they aren't very inspiring. If you like pools, this is the place for you, but if you are interested in getting out and exploring Los Cabos and the Baja, stay elsewhere. The resort is designed for people who like to stay put.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. Your comments are taken by heart.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently spent 2 weeks at this resort. The service was excellent and the evening entertainment was exceptional after the amazing buffet dinners..a personal mention of the entertainers
Iris,Yenia,Ana,Ramon,Chuy,Erik,Hugo,Miguel,Chucho and Carmina.
the waiters and waitresses were amazing...Adriana,Madrigal and Grace just to mention a few.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. We look forward to your next visit and provide you with the quality of service we are recognized for.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at villa del palmar for a week on an all-inclusive plan. Check in was smooth and easy with the typical time share sales pitch built in, but once we expressed no interest we were not approached again.

Our room was a spacious and clean 1 bedroom suite with a well equipped kitchen that we didn't use. We found a small snack waiting for us each day after returning to our well made-up room. Each time we came across a house cleaning manager they were sure to ask if we needed anything for our room.

The pools and garden areas were very clean and well kept. The beach area was also very clean and there were a good number of lounges.

Service on the beach and at the pool was good, but not great. I believe the service could be improved greatly if management would be more consistent in scheduling the time it begins and by allowing servers to work the same areas each day. I guess its more of a personal preference, but in most resorts we have stayed at that was the case. One other complaint about the service (and again it's a management issue) is you are required to sign a receipt every time you eat or order anything, even down to a bottle of water. Maybe servers could scan bar codes on the bracelets all-inclusive guests are required to wear, or something else, but the amount of paper generated in one day would be enough to motivate me to seek a better way.

We only ate breakfast and lunch at the resort so we can't review dinner, but the two meals we had each day were very good. Breakfast was always fresh with all of the usual choices and lunch by the pool was also very good. The pizzas were great.

The location is excellent for those who like to head into Cabo. You could easily take a cab ($7) each way, or take a leisurely stroll down the beach (just about a mile) to the marina area.

Overall, this resort was very relaxing and enjoyable, the staff were very friendly and the the price matched the facility and level of service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we thank you for having shared your experience at the resort. We hope to welcome you once again in a near future and provide you with the level of service you expect and deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My family and I stay here (and Villa la Estancia, we bounce between the two) every year around Halloween for 2 weeks. Halloween in Cabo is such an experience! The Villa del Palmar also has a FANTASTIC spa. I always wake up early with my sisters one day out of the trip and we go and get massages and hang out in the hot tub and the sauna. It is so relaxing! The resort staff is fantastic and so helpful. They have a nice staff of people out front who will call taxis for you if you need them. It's very helpful. You're never too far from a fun thing to do when staying at this resort. I have no complaints about this resort. Everyone is so great here :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We truly appreciated your valuable comments and the time you took to share your experience with others. We look forwarded to welcoming on your next visit and make your stay a memorable one.

Kind regards,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week Jan 17-24 (my birthday was on the 21st). Weather was warm 28 - 30 degrees everyday. We arrived early and were able to check in. Ramone at the front desk was very friendly and was able to answer any questions we had. We also met Elena Martinez (concierge) who was very friendly and helpful. The resort is older but beautiful and well kept. Our view was exactly what we requested. We had the view of Lands End, Lovers Beach etc. Service was great in restaurants, breakfast was great especially the omlettes and the themed buffets had a good variety and the entertainment each night was great. We were able to watching from our balcony. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets, cruise ships and whales. We did the Whale watching Safari tour with Cabo Adventures and had an amazing time. was able to witness the amazing humpback whales fairly close to the Zodiak. Would definitely do it again. We had our pictures done by the photographer on site the night before we left and she captured some amazing photos. On the morning we were leaving we spent half hour talking to the Bell hop outside his name was Efrain. He is very friendly and funny! Took our minds off having to come back to Alberta, Canada where it is -30 temperatures now. We would definitely go back and recommend it to our friends and family that want to have a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on 7th floor (junior suite oceanview) have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.