We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for Families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resort for Families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am currently staying at the Villa del Palmar and I am happy with the accomodations. I am a time share owner that is not on the all inclusive plan and find that the service level could be improved somewhat because of the fact that most people here are not tipping on their drinks, meals, etc so why should the servers go out of their way to please if they don't make tips. That being said we have found servers to be pleasant and accomodating regardless. Rooms are a bit dated and kitchens small but still comfortable and nice. I would say this is the a great place for families to relax and have a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to your next visit and to provide you with the level of service you deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    750
    319
    219
    140
See reviews for
639
744
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This resort has great grounds/nice beach. Service is good and so is the food (pricey as you would expect at a resort. Cabo weather doesn't dissapoint but there are a few cons:
1. Time share hassle: They actually knocked on our door for several mornings before 8am to give us our "notice" for the breakfast presentation "we signed up for."
2. Garden View Rooms (for all interval members trading) are prison like with no windows. Certainly functional but bedrooms are up against hall way and loud. No sleeping much past 8am.

We enjoyed our stay but most likely wouldn't come back to this resort as the rooms offered little in the way of a "resort" like atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We thank you for your valuable information. Please be sure your comments will not go unnoticed.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Been to Mexico several times, Cabo is my least favorite because its become so commercial. Our room had a great view of Los Arcos- when the flippin cruise ships aren't posted in front of it! Beach is nice- but the current is too strong for swimming, took the taxi boat over to lovers beach (Los Arcos) to swim. Also- the locals have gotten ridiculous on the beach- hassling you to purchase things (including drugs! I was shocked, this is 15 ft from the steps of the hotel- going to the beach). The food: breakfast buffet is pretty good, but everything else sucks! I don't understand for the life of me- why these mega hotels in Mexico- cant do Mexican food right! Oh, and everything is extremely overpriced (food, drinks, etc). The way that the hotel is shaped- its terrible for relaxing. Each floor is open in the middle & goes around in a circle, so you constantly hear music & people being loud on the 1st floor in the sports bar. Also- the stage is right outside by the pool- so every night, you can here the music & the guys on the microphone (we were on the 8th floor). The staff was OK, but I wouldn't go back to that hotel. Mater of fact- I think I'm done with Cabo- period. (If you want a fun little spot to eat- try the sushi place in the same Plaza as WalMart. They have some really impressive rolls in there, including the "Diego Roll" & they have great customer service skills).That's it Cabo... PEACE!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We would like to thank you for having shared your experience with others. Your comments are taken by heart. We hope that on your next vacations, you would give us the opportunity to provide you with the level of service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Travelled Dec 1 to 8th. A trade through Interval, We went with friends who have never travelled outside of Canada our ages are between 55-69. Our room had a great view of the ocean when the cruise ships were'nt in the bay. Our room was nice but the kitchen was small and no oven just two burners so if your planning to cook think small.
The thought was if you stay at one of the resorts you can play at the other two which are on the same property....not, so this was a little disheartening but ok.
Check you bill if you are signing for drinks at they will automatic put tips on even if you have already tipped.
Sevice was good in all areas of the resort.
The beach area was always full of the locals selling their goods so if that bothers you don't sit on the beach as the roped off area is small.
It is very close to walk into town and also you can take a collectivos bus for 9 pesos per person which is great too.
All in all this resort is very good.

Room Tip: If you can the rooms from the 4 to top floor offer the best beach views...do not take garden rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We thank you for your kind review. Your comments have been forwarded to those involved. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I went with a group of ten people. I have been to Cabo San Lucas before. I have stayed at other timeshare properties before. I will never again stay at this property. There are 3 or 4 massive hotels in this 'gated' community.

When we checked in, the hotel was clean and beautiful. The beach access is excellent. The pools are lovely. The rooms are average. A little musty smelling. Overall, we were happy. After our check in, we were hungry after a long day of travel. We went to the Italian restaurant and asked if we could get a table. We were told it would be an hour wait (about 80% of the tables were empty). We didn't understand, but were polite and asked if there were other restaurants on the property. We were directed to the buffet.

The buffet was $35 per person plus drinks. We asked about the other hotels and were directed to another restaurant that charged an average of $45 per plate. So after walking around two hotels, we decided to just bite the bullet and pay for the buffet. The pineapple and pork taco bar was excellent. Everything else I ate that night was mediocre at best. After dinner, we ended up back at one of our rooms to have drinks on our balcony. It was around 11pm at night. We received a noise complaint. We apologized and said it would not happen again. It didn't. We received no further complaints.

The next day we went to the front desk to ask if they could look into our phone. It wasn't working and we wanted to be able to communicate plans with the rest of our group. When we gave our room number to the front desk, the gentleman there only want to reprimand us, again, about our noise complaint. He was very rude and just kept going on about the noise and we kept apologizing. He told us he couldn't fix our phone. We walked away frustrated. They did fix our phone a couple days later.

Other small Complaints:

- When we went to the restaurant for breakfast, they really apply pressure to buy their $25 breakfast buffet. Every time we were told "you can have the buffet now, but if you want to order off the menu it takes 30-40 minutes to get your food". I guess I could be grateful they warned us, but that wasn't the way I took it. It felt like another sales pitch.

- One day the hotel ran out of tequila. In Mexico? Their hotel store was fully stocked with tequila. But, we aren't allowed to go buy it and make our own margaritas to bring to the pool.

- You can't order anything at this hotel without being asked "do you have a gold card?" And when you don't, they want to tell you how to go get one. Constant pressure.

- The onsite excursion rep, wants to sell you excursions at a reduced priced of you attend the sales breakfast. Finally, someone in our group gave in and went to the breakfast. Then when we went back to book our excursions, the rep told she can't actually book them and we had to go to another office in another building. Her only purpose there was to get you to the breakfast.

The food from the menu's was over all pretty good. The food at the buffets was overall pretty bad. The one exception I have with the menu's is the pool menu. Everything I had off this menu was terrible. I could have made better tacos at home.

The bellhops out in front, to call you a taxi or help with your bags were very friendly and informative. I thought they were the best staff on the property. They should be promoted to work the front desk.

Overall, the entire experience was very sales pressure heavy. I have never been to a timeshare this bad. We spent our entire week there feeling targeted because of our one noise complaint. I would never again return to this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Do believe your remarks will not go unnoticed. We hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When looking for an All-Inclusive resort I exchanged several emails back and forth about price. We did get a good deal, or I thought we did until I found out Villa del Palmar's only word is "UPGRADE" We were told we could get an ocean view room if available but that would be about $1000 extra. We decided on looking at Wal Mart. The first day they only had one restaurant open "sports bar" due to rain, second day they only had one restaurant open for breakfast "sports bar" and only one for dinner because of an employee Christmas party. Third day both were open. Drinks are made with rot gut liquor unless you asked and they had something a little better. Drinks were weak service was slow. There are a few that were very good and polite. The ocean view from this resort was great. You look right at lovers beach and everything going into the marina. Beach sand was hard to walk on, felt like quick sand. Besides all that just take in the ocean view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Be sure actions will be taken to prevent and avoid these unfortunate shortcomings.
We hope you give us the opportunity to host you once again on your next vacations.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Like a lot of other stated before me, this hotel is a timeshare nightmare. Now, you always expect some of this in Cabo, but this one tops the cake. They are aggressive and even rude to you if you don't accept their 3 hour long timeshare presentation, and if you don't have thier "Gold Card" you can expect to pay 15-20% more for food and drinks which are mediocre at best. In addition, this hotel should not be visited by anyone looking to have a good time past 8pm, as they shut down the pool and expect no noise on the property (aka people having a good time). Service level is next to none, expect them to take 45 minutes to ask you if you want a drink by the pool. The really sad part is we were with a large group, so of whom were interested in a timeshare, but after this experience who would want to buy into any of thier properties?

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our sincere apologies for not providing you with the level of service you deserve. Do believe you remarks will not go unnoticed. Your comments are taken by heart.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.