We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Cabo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Prince Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the first time we used our timeshare ownership with the Villa Group and were happy with our experience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great. We were in a one bedroom which was located in the far east building on the east side. This means we were next to an open space so sitting on our balcony was very quiet with no walls to look out at. We were on the 5th floor as well. The balcony was small but with a table and chairs so we spent mornings watching the sun come up. There was a small, but adequate kitchen so we did not do the all inclusive. We like to try different restaurants while away and enjoy eating in and cooking for ourselves.
The pool area looked fine but was quite busy. We enjoy hanging out on the beach so didn't really use the pools. The ocean was swimmable most days but with the waves on shore timing was critical in order to get out far enough to float around. We were there at the end of October so this may have some influence on how rough the water is. We were always able to get a lounger and an umbrella and a simple "No thanks" to the beach vendors if not interested in buying anything was adequate.
We were close enough to downtown that we could walk in about 20 minutes so spent some time at the marina and going to a few restaurants. We also bought groceries downtown and then hired a cab to return to the hotel.
A bit of advice - if you are not in the market for a timeshare and don't want to spend time at a presentation, don't accept any freebies. The timeshare people do their jobs well and it is high pressure sales.

Room Tip: Far east building as high up as possible if you want to be away from the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We thank you for sharing your experience after your stay at Villa Del Palmar. We hope to host you once giant on your future vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    744
    318
    219
    140
See reviews for
634
740
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were invited to attend a time share pitch and that allowed us to stay at the Villa del Palmar at a very good price. All meals and drinks were included which was a HUGE plus because everything is pretty expensive if you are eating out at the restaurants. They do have kitchens in the rooms so you can buy your own food if you don't do the all inclusive. There is a SAM's Club across the street so bring your card if you are a member. There is also a walmart. Pretty funny to see these places in Cabo. Cabo is beautiful! Oh my goodness! Villa del Palmar is in the perfect location! You can take a water taxi for $10 each round trip to go to the arch and lover's beach. Don't get suckered into doing any other time share things because it takes too much of you short vacation time. We didn't mind the one at Villa del Palmar and even really considered it but we were suckered into sitting through a second presentation at Pueblo Bonita to get a bunch of freebies. I say "DON'T DO IT!" I felt like we wasted so much of our time there listening to two long presentations. We didn't mind the one at our hotel because we were actually interested but the second one was just frustrating and I left in tears. Just wanted to get to the beach and start relaxing before it was time to leave again. If you want to get downtown cheaply, there is a bus that will take you there for $1 instead of $12 like the taxi. You get more of the authentic feel that way anyway. Bargain for things for sure. It is Mexico and they start high but go low. This is a very nice hotel and I highly reccomend it. Service was good in some places (the sports bar and the italian restaurant but the bar tenders don't even look at you. Be prepared to wait a bit but you will get what you want if you are patient. Have fun! Jet skis were fun and worth the money. We bargained down to $55 for an hour which was way better than $90.

Room Tip: We were in room 2811 facing the parking lot and Sams. It wasn't the best view but we had gotten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your experience with others. Your comments are highly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to this resort. We will go again! Our room was lovely, the view of the Sea of Cortez and the Cruise ships was gorgeous. Great Pools, tennis courts, workout room and spa.
The services was outstanding and we felt safe and secure. Super clean and well manicured. Excellent variety of entertainment and food. We want to bring our whole family next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you once again in a near future.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 with my wife, 2 yr old daughter, and in-laws. We purchased this vacation through one of those 3rd party marketing companies the resort uses offering a 5 night "all-inclusive" stay for $199 per person if you do the time-share presentation. Be very careful about the fine print with these types of promotions, because there ended up being alot of hidden fees and charges which my MIL missed when she booked the trip for everyone. There was an "in-season" charge of $200 per person that was applied for going anytime during 6 months of the year, even though traveling in early November is not considered "in-season" by any other resort's standards.

So now, that $199 per person offer for 5 nights is now $399 per person. When booking, we asked about oceanview rooms and were assured not to worry b/c all rooms were oceanview. This is NOT the case at all. Upon arrival, the reservation desk had us booked in rooms on the front side of the resort facing the dusty highway and mountains-no oceanview whatsoever. We brought up the guaranteed oceanview room, but the resort did not care and disclaimed any responsibility for the 3rd party marketing company (that they hired). We had to pay $434 per room to upgrade to an oceanview (not oceanfront) room for the 5 nights. Those 5 all-inclusive nights for 2 adults end up costing $1233 total, before additional charges during your stay for things other resorts don't charge all-inclusive guests for, like wi-fi, ice cream, fresh deli sandwiches, etc. Tack on $500 for adding 2 more nights to make it a weeklong vacation and the cost is $1733. Hardly a deal for what you get in return.

Rooms: After paying for the upgrade, we did receive a nice oceanview room on the 7th floor. The view was great (when standing on the patio, although the patio had a wall with flowers instead of a normal patio enclosure yo can see through when sitting on your bed in the room. The room does not contain any luxurious furnishings and there was a very small queen bed with hardly any sleeping pillows. I will say the room was clean upon arrival, the flatscreen TV was nice, storage amount was adequate, as was the bathroom (but not luxurious by any means). The kitchenette was fine, but they advised you would be charged for extra for taking any items (water, beer, coffee, snacks) of the pre-stocked items from the fridge, despite the fact we paid for all-inclusive. Room service was also not included in the all-inclusive option.

Food: There are only 2 restaurants on-site, Tortugas, the sports bar/buffet restaurant, and Bella California, an italian restaurant. The inside area of Tortugas, the sports bar area, was a good atmosphere for people to be able to watch their pro and college sports games. However, they served dinner at Tortugas outside in front of he entrainment stage and the food was absolutely awful. We tried it twice, then chose to eat at Bella California the rest of the week. Bella California is the beachfront restaurant, the view is gorgeous, and it offered good italian choices, but we would have liked more mexican dishes offered at this location which is where everyone wants to eat. Lunch options were very limited and it got very tiresome by the end of the week. The saving grace was the brickoven pizza offered poolside and at Bella California. Finally, the breakfast buffet offered at either restaurant is rather terrible as well. Really, breakfast isn't that difficult, but rubber-like pancakes in a warming tray are not appealing. The quality of the other food options (scrambled eggs, french toast, etc.) were also not that good. Food overall at this resort is not good.

Pools/Beach: There are 3 pools, as well as a teeny-tiny baby pool area. The pools are nice (th whale slide is great for older kids) but the pools are overall much too small for the number of people staying at this resort. Serious expansion is needed in this area. The pools are crowded and cramped, except for the adult pool which we could not use because of our daughter. Also, the best selling point at any resort located on Medano Beach is the beach and view of Land's End. The pool areas need to be expanded and should be ideally relocated to a more beachfront location to maximize the view. People want to lounge next to the pool and stare at an unobstructed gorgeous view, not stare through rows of palm trees, the boutique, walkways, etc. for a glimpse of the ocean.

The beach area was nice and the ocean was warm and calm enough for 5 out of 7 days for young children to swim in the water with their parents. Water clarity is very good and temp was about 80 degrees. There is a steep drop off and an extremely strong undertow, so children of all ages need to be closely supervised or assisted at all times. This is definitely not the Carribbean. The beach is a difficult to walk in due to the steep incline and heavy, course nature of the sand. We joked that it felt like quicksand. We booked a glass bottom boat tour and jet skis through Baja Watersports located directly next to the resort on the beach and they were great. Very friendly and fair prices. We enjoyed these activities very much and highly recommend them.

Service/Enterainment: Service was friendly, but spotty. Pool service takes forever (due to lack of adequate number of servers), so you end up walking to the bar to get a drink. Then you have to sign a "fake" check every time you get any drinks or food, which is ridiculous when you have the all-inclusive option. Waiting for a check at the bar, during meals, poolside, etc., often takes an extended period of time (5-10+ minutes) which adds up significantly over the course of your vacation and is very annoying. It is basically an attempt for each bartender/server to obtain a tip from you each time you obtain any drinks or food, which is fine for normal guests but not for someone who paid an all-inclusive rate which normally covers this. I worked in the service industry for several years and I appreciate how hard they work and tip very generously (even at all-inclusives), but I do not think it is appropriate for an all-inclusive guest to feel guilty about not tipping for every single drink they get. The nightly entertainment was fairly standard for resorts these days, but it was very loud and its location directly in front of guest rooms interferes with families who have young children trying to sleep. The outdoor karaoke night in particular was horrendous, loud, and extended past 10PM.

Location: The resort is located directly next to its more elegant and higher-end sister resorts, Villa L Estancia and Villa Del Arco. They are located on Medano Beach, but far enough away where you need to take a taxi or rent a car to venture into downtown. You even need a taxi to go to Walmart (cost is $15 round trip) which is located on other other side of the highway, but still about 1 mile away door-to-door due to the windy roads. The costs of taxis added up over the course of the week.

Overall: Cabo felt like a great place for people to come for vacation, more so for adults rather than small children. The desert tropical landscape, including the rock formations, is stunning and the fishing was great. I can see why everyone from California comes here, given they only have a 2 hour flight. However, for those of us from the East Coast, it is an approx 5.5-6 hour flight and the Caribbean and Riviera Maya offer much much more for our young family at this price point, and are even more beautiful. We will likely return to Cabo sometime in the future, but we will definitely be staying somewhere else, somewhere more high-end and probably within immediate walking distance to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Do believe we will be working on improving the service offer to our valuable guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and change this past experience.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our first visit to Cabo San Lucas and the Villa del Palmar. My husband and I enjoyed the resort immensely. We were on the all-inclusive plan and would recommend it. We thought the food was very good, service was great and the people here very friendly. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room on a high floor...spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of Villa del Palmar we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you once again an offer you the quality and service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is not a party place, but it is family oriented - with Willie Whale Slide (awesome for adults, too!), ceramic painting, some games around pool. Get to know the staff, it makes a HUGE difference. It is very quiet after 10:30, true, but we were tired enough after a full day in sun, pool and drinks that it was actually time to go to bed, or we had drinks on our patio! Otherwise head into town. That's where all the action is, but be aware that yes, drinks are $10. We only went once. We had a kitchen, so did not participate in all-inclusive. Found it to be too pricey when WalMart is so close. Timeshare was fine, no pressure, Bill from Vancouver was great. Gave us some local info for restaurants and things to do. Room was adequate, air conditioning worked the entire time.
Easy to go down beach to all the bars. Mango Deck was a blast. Benjamin was great for our server. The Office is right there, too. Try Koi Sushi in the WalMart food court - you will NOt be disappointed. Villa Serena has a beautiful location and amazing food. Pool right in restaurant. Have your bathing suit on!
Take the local bus. It's easy, affordable, safe, and a good way to use up the Mexican change.
Spa is nice, and priced accordingly. Honestly, it's as much fun to go down the beach and get a massage for $30/hr. Did not do any of the fascials or wraps.
We had a two bedroom with kitchen. It was adequate. Three bathrooms worked well for 5 of us. Pillows are terrible, but beds are good.
We did a timeshare exchange for this two-week vacation, and would go back. I would say the exchange was good for the value rec'd.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your experience with others. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Villa Del Palmar on your next vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The resort is very pretty. Our room was comfortable. We had a microwave, refrigerator, and stove. We bought items from the deli which were ail good and reasonably priced. We also bought items from the market. We had to buy the upgrade in order to have a DVD player in the room. (TV is very limited but we had brought DVDs with us. No player was available unless we bought the $200 upgrade....we also got extra amenities for that price.)

We ate at one of the dinner/shows. We did not have the all inclusive. The dinner was mediocre and the show was very average. We would not do that again.

We had an ocean view that was great!! The pool area fills up fast and early. People save their lounge chairs all day.there are plenty of things to do for every age.

We used the hospitality room for free wifi. It's $10 a day in the room.

Do not do the time share presentation. We felt lied to at every step of the way.

We reserved a shuttle to and from the airport which is the best way. Otherwise you have to deal with the timeshare gauntlet of people who say they are not timeshare people!!!

Cabo is a great place to relax and do as much or as little as you want. Weather was very nice. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We thank you for sharing your thoughts. They are taken by heart.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.