We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay very much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay very much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our first visit to Cabo San Lucas and the Villa del Palmar. My husband and I enjoyed the resort immensely. We were on the all-inclusive plan and would recommend it. We thought the food was very good, service was great and the people here very friendly. We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room on a high floor...spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of Villa del Palmar we would like to thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you once again an offer you the quality and service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    844
    348
    228
    144
See reviews for
733
848
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is not a party place, but it is family oriented - with Willie Whale Slide (awesome for adults, too!), ceramic painting, some games around pool. Get to know the staff, it makes a HUGE difference. It is very quiet after 10:30, true, but we were tired enough after a full day in sun, pool and drinks that it was actually time to go to bed, or we had drinks on our patio! Otherwise head into town. That's where all the action is, but be aware that yes, drinks are $10. We only went once. We had a kitchen, so did not participate in all-inclusive. Found it to be too pricey when WalMart is so close. Timeshare was fine, no pressure, Bill from Vancouver was great. Gave us some local info for restaurants and things to do. Room was adequate, air conditioning worked the entire time.
Easy to go down beach to all the bars. Mango Deck was a blast. Benjamin was great for our server. The Office is right there, too. Try Koi Sushi in the WalMart food court - you will NOt be disappointed. Villa Serena has a beautiful location and amazing food. Pool right in restaurant. Have your bathing suit on!
Take the local bus. It's easy, affordable, safe, and a good way to use up the Mexican change.
Spa is nice, and priced accordingly. Honestly, it's as much fun to go down the beach and get a massage for $30/hr. Did not do any of the fascials or wraps.
We had a two bedroom with kitchen. It was adequate. Three bathrooms worked well for 5 of us. Pillows are terrible, but beds are good.
We did a timeshare exchange for this two-week vacation, and would go back. I would say the exchange was good for the value rec'd.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your experience with others. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Villa Del Palmar on your next vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The resort is very pretty. Our room was comfortable. We had a microwave, refrigerator, and stove. We bought items from the deli which were ail good and reasonably priced. We also bought items from the market. We had to buy the upgrade in order to have a DVD player in the room. (TV is very limited but we had brought DVDs with us. No player was available unless we bought the $200 upgrade....we also got extra amenities for that price.)

We ate at one of the dinner/shows. We did not have the all inclusive. The dinner was mediocre and the show was very average. We would not do that again.

We had an ocean view that was great!! The pool area fills up fast and early. People save their lounge chairs all day.there are plenty of things to do for every age.

We used the hospitality room for free wifi. It's $10 a day in the room.

Do not do the time share presentation. We felt lied to at every step of the way.

We reserved a shuttle to and from the airport which is the best way. Otherwise you have to deal with the timeshare gauntlet of people who say they are not timeshare people!!!

Cabo is a great place to relax and do as much or as little as you want. Weather was very nice. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We thank you for sharing your thoughts. They are taken by heart.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My Husband and I stayed 7 days at Villa del Palmar in Cabo San Lucas last week. It was fantastic as usual. They have the friendliest employees. From the moment you step out of your airport shuttle and get greeted by Dago, Efrain or any of the guys out front, they immediately make you feel at home. The front desk check in employees are friendly and our concierge Lupita was so sweet and helpful. We attended an owners update and Janelle and Juan Pablo did a nice job of presenting all the information, and made our time with them enjoyable, super nice people.
The only complaint I have is, the Palmita store needs to have REAL butter available to purchase instead of the margarine spreads, we just can't eat that stuff. Also one more thing, there is a light in the hallway that shines into the bedroom where the curtain doesn't meet up against the wall. That is all. Love the entire resort. We go back once or twice a year and can't wait to go again. This is the first time we've gone in November and I believe the weather is PERFECT, never to hot or too cold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Del Palmar. We look forward to your next visit and provide you the quality and service you expect and deserve.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just returned from 8 nights at the Villa Del Palmar.. The place shuts down at 10:30 at night we were all inclusive which did not include all inclusive?? They tried to charge me for Tequila? Arcade for kids is $10.00 per hour wifi is $50.00 for the week with poor service. They have one show with dinner no music after dinner.. The service even if you walk up to the bar is at least a five minute wait if you drink beer and want a bucket of ice and six beer you cant have it as all inclusive only is served two drinks at a time. I have been to the Mayan Riviera many times to the Grand Palladium and all inclusive means great service and after 10:30 nightlife we are in Mexico?? aren't we and on holidays. The pools were small but adaquate for the size of the resort including beach front. the best service we recieved was from the peddlers on the beach! Cabo is not for all inclusive as they don't understand the meaning. The main bar closes at 10:30 on a good night but better be there at 10:15 for last call as they just close when they want!!! The disco is open Sunday and Tuesday with a charge of $12.00 for all inclusive guests to get in.... We had one really great server Ester!!

Room Tip: the rooms are all tiled so you hear every noise and the water supplies being used at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention; do believe your comments will not go unnoticed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next vacations.

Respectfully,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I don't know where to begin. The staff at this hotel made us feel like a couple of criminals. My husband and I are 44 and 39 yrs old and chose this hotel thinking we would have a wonderful time...not looking for a party place, just a nice hotel where we could relax and have fun if we felt like it. The hotel does not offer anywhere for you to dance, or even sit outside by the fire place after 10:30pm Everything shuts down. They put out the fire and we were told..."this area is closed". I asked if we could finish our drinks there with the fire going. We were told.."no". They stood there and watched us until we left. We went to the hot tub to relax. They followed us and said.."This area is closed". They threatened to call the police if we did not leave. We could not believe this place. We were not being loud and are very friendly polite people. Never in our lives have we been treated this way. We were all inclusive but they want you to stop drinking and go downtown where u have to pay $10 a drink at the night clubs. Be prepared to go to bed at 10:30 every night.

The all inclusive IS NOT all inclusive. Drinks are not top shelf unless you pay extra. The rules change everyday. Sometimes you can get the pizza to go and sometimes you cannot. Depends on who is working and what their mood is like. Sometimes the waiters serve you and sometimes not. Some people get green bacelets and can eat at the Arco Hotel next door and and some not, even if they have the exact same booking as you. When we questioned it, we were told that was not the case. BS!!

This hotel has one restaurant and a sports bar. Make a reservation everyday because there are not enough seats for everyone. The food is awful. The birds sit on the bread you are expected to eat. The pizza is o.k. that is the only reason I give them 1 star.

Better be up by 6am to get a seat at the pool. Not enough for everyone.

This hotel ruined our 10 day vacation. We will NEVER go here again!! Thank god we don't own a time share here. Never have we been so disappointed,

Management: Unless you want to give us a refund,no need to respond. I never want to hear from you again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I have been to Cabo San Lucas a number of times, we especially love the Villa del Palmar for its location. It's located on the best section of beach with an incredible view of the famous Arch. I must say its pretty cool too when you see cruise ships moored out in the bay. Also, its only a few minutes down to the Marina where I love the nightlife and my wife loves to shop. Definitely hit Sammy Hagar's Cabo Wabo and the Nowhere Bar on the Marina - you will thank me. Our room overlooked the pool and had a beatiful balcony. The rooms are very clean and the service is exceptional. Fernando poolside kept the drink margaritas and pinas flowing. I am simple man, just keep my belly full and cold drink in my hand and I happy!

I am not a big spa guy but my wife definitely is, however, the Desert Spa is truly world class. It's more than a massage, they have a section as big as basketball court with 4 or 5 differrent jacuzii pools of different temperatures. This is close is I have ever felt to being a king - no joke. I spent half day between the pools. jacuzzis, sauna, steam shower - repeat.

We are on tight budget so we did the special timeshare package for 5 nights / 6 days with LuxuryCaboHotel - com. We were a little hesitant at first, however we are very glad we did as saved well over a thousand dollars which we put to good use in other ways like my wfe's shopping and my fishing trip! We definitely recommend Villa del Palmar and cant wait to get back to Cabo!

Room Tip: listened to Lee at LuxuryCabohotel and got us 2nd floor poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
On behalf of Villa del Palmar we thank you for having shared your experience at the resort with others. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next Visit to beautiful Cabo

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.