We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale of a Good Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Whale of a Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my first resort experience, and I had a great time! The staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. The pools were well maintained. The food was so-so, but overall, a great experience! Definitely wouldn't pay extra to have an all-inclusive package, just because the food was less than great. But otherwise, everything was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your comments, as they assist us in our effort to improve the service offer to our valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming soon to Villa Del Palmar on your future vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    1,002
    386
    237
    147
See reviews for
882
1,003
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great week relaxing in Cabo, at Villa Del Palmar. We did sit through the time share presentation, with Giovanni, he was nice and respectful, but sadly he had to pass us onto the more shifty sales staff after we did not buy the timeshare. The people after him felt like used car salesmen. We got out of the "tour" in 2 hours, and were able to enjoy the rest of the week by the pool. I do advise renting snorkel gear form the hotel, and taking a water taxi to Pelican and Lover's beach. The snorkeling was amazing, and so was the beach. I did enjoy being right on the ocean, and hearing the waves even form our hotel room. I recommend making reservations at the Bella California Restaurant, and enjoying the finest food the hotel has onsite. Just relax and enjoy all the sun Cabo has to offer, and remember they do things a little slower in Mexico.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 3 are away from the main resort, so you will not hear the nightly entertainment fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you sharing your experience with others. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to beautiful Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First Off as cliche as this sounds.... I never write reviews. This is how bad of an experience we had....Basically our entire trip was a battle. From the moment we got to the airport, somebody wearing a Villa del Palmar shirt (which will turn out to be ironic) showed us to a taxi-driver/activities person. We bargained with them for a taxi plus actvities. When we got to the hotel, our reservation was wrong. That was resolved after arguing for about 30 min. The conceirge activities person then told us that the person at the airport was lying and cheating us, which we then spent over 2 hours dealing with. She was not able to meet the compensation that we paid, so luckily we didn't listen to her. However, she was very persistent and basically ruined our first night telling us everybody is lying to us here. The person we saw at the airport did show up for the activities, which is the only thing about the trip that did work out. Thank goodness we didn't listen to the workers at Villa del Palmar. The telephone in the room was broken. We had to switch rooms to a room with a broken shower knob and non functioning safe. The safe was fixed. However, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
On behalf of Villa Del Palmar we offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We hope you give us the opportunity to change this past experience and offer you the level of service you have come to expect on your future vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Used a 2bd/3ba unit in September. The unit was nice and roomy...the only problem was with one of the TVs and we lost reception due to a lightning storm one night. September is still in Cabo's monsoon season so the possibility of rain or a major storm is possible. Overall, the resort is nice. The resort didn't accept cash at the bars & restaurants we used and had to charge to the room...but you can settle your final bill with cash at check out. A couple of the more popular Cabo restaurants (La Fond & Pancho's Restaurant & Tequila Bar) we wanted to visit in town were close because the owners were out of town on their own vacations. The grounds are well maintained and pleasant. At check in, they direct you to the concierge staff who offer you stuff, but you have to schedule for their timeshare tour...what they don't tell you at check in, is that you don't have to see the concierge and can skip them and the tour completely. You're close enought to town to walk there, but having a rental car made things so much easier with one exception. Being September, a hurricane passed off-shore appx 175 miles. One night we drove to town for dinner..it started raining for a short bit. When we returned to the resort, we came upon a river of water coming down the wash the road crosses just short of the resort. We had to park the car, wade across the water, and walk the remaining short distance. The weather extended to Cabo...we couldn't scuba dive one day due to the stormy weather...then the next day, the harbor master closed the port so we couldn't get out to fish either even though the weather looked OK...better safe than sorry. Regardless of the minor problems we experienced, a bad day in Cabo San Lucas is always better than good day in California...OK, better than most days. September in CSL is their slow month so you can find great deals on flights, hotels, and car rentals. On a side note, we visited the local Cabo San Lucas Airport (not the commercial one in San Jose del Cabo) where the airport owner/manager gave us a tour. It is now an "airport of entry" so if you fly there on a private aircraft, you can clear customs there and be just a short trip to town. There are big expansion plans and construction in progress with the hopes of attracting direct commercial flights in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other. Your comments are highly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your future visit to Cabo.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off I want to say we went to this resort on a timeshare invite. One thing about going to resorts on a timeshare invite is you know you will be treated exceptionally when you get there...until you say no. This vacation is difficult to decide. First the Villa del Palmar is not one of the best resorts I have been to. We went on the the all-inclusive and they aren't quite sure how to do this. You get your bracelet (which I have to say I am starting to hate after going to one that did not require it).
Here's how it works: You register and are given your bracelets. You go to your room and there is a mini bar...but the mini bar items will cost you as they are not included in the all-inclusive. Neither is room service. I try to understand this as there are some guests there who are pay as you go (not all inclusive) but we were very disappointed that we couldn't have room service or mini bar items with our all-inclusive. You go to eat and you are required to sign a ticket before you leave. You aren't charged this but it is a bit "unnerving" since you now know that all-inclusive isn't really ALL inclusive.
We arrived on a Saturday and had our timeshare tour Sunday morning. We talked about this before we left and decided to tell them that there is no way we could make a decision since we had only been there for less than 24 hours and have no idea about the facility. This quickly changed when we woke up the next morning as by this time we knew everything. When they presented the cost to us (in thousands) we told them it wasn't worth the the single digits. Service was extremely poor. We went to the pool on Saturday and after 30 minutes no one approached us to get our order while we watched six staff members about 20 feet from us talking the entire time. Restaurants were same as for service. I will say the food is good to excellent. Our room smelled like you washed your clothes and left them in the washer for a week. My husband smokes and we requested SIX times for him to have an ashtray. Sunday morning when we told the sales people this they moved us to a different room (gave us the option of one bedroom garden view or studio ocean view). New room was "better" but our view of the ocean was above the palm trees. My husband was guaranteed an ashtray in the new room. We packed from our old room and unpacked in our new room, went to the pool and when we came back, no ashtray. (Forget getting one at the pool, it's a plastic glass with ice). My husband went to the front desk and requested a couple of soft pillows (they have four in the room but they are hard). They said the would "try." Nothing got any better on Monday (we spent most of the day in Cabo but when we returned I spent 20 minutes at the pool with no service, had to stop someone and ask for a drink and another 20 minutes before someone came to take my order) and on Tuesday we went back to the manager of the sales department and complained. They said we could come over to the next door sister resort Villa del Arco and use their facilities. I asked if we would get all inclusive there (normally it is a discount at that resort when you have all inclusive at Palmar). We were told no they couldn't do that and my reaction (to myself) is we have to now PAY to get away from poor service. After about an hour they allowed us all inclusive at Arco...so we are on our way out. Tuesday, we did get softer pillows (only to have them taken from us on Wednesday...so we had them for one night only). So we get up, get on the trolly and head to Arco everyday.
I do want to say this. From Weds. morning on we had a fantastic time. Service at the Alco was great. Staff was friendly. (I forgot to mention that was another complaint was the front desk staff never acknowledged you...and the ladies who are at the Palmar to "help" you were just downright RUDE). The staff at the Arco were very pleasant, friendly and attentive. I will add that by the end of the week the staff at Palmar were better. At the Palmar Liz at the breakfast buffet was absolutely the sweetest girl ever. So our vacation ended well and it was recovered we just wish we hadn't "wasted" 3 1/2 days dealing with issues. We are not high maintenance customers. We are very friendly and did not feel our requests were difficult....an ashtray, water in our room that was not $5.00 per bottle, softer pillows and smiles from the staff. We were there for seven days (and two are spent as travel days) so it was disappointing that half our trip was dealing with what we would call common travel requests.
Ricky with the sales department: Absolutely AMAZING!
Now for the one thing that I will NEVER be able to forget. The first night there they had their Mexican Independence Day celebration with great culture dancing. It was beautiful UNTIL they bring out two chickens and throw them at each other and get them to fight (no razor blades on their claws and it lasted about 1 minute). I am a believer in NO animal abuse AT ALL so I stomached this UNTIL THEY DID IT AGAIN. I was disgusted. I got up and walked out and could not believe the looks on the faces of the people watching; children hiding their eyes, parent covering their children's eyes, women with their hand over their mouths, etc. This is a FAMILY resort with children in the audience (I am an adult without children and could not stomach this). No amount of talks of "Mexican tradition" will ever make me think this was okay to do. There are many traditions that we should NEVER repeat for entertainment.

Now we spoke to many people: some who think the Palmar is fantastic and some who had the same complaints we did. I don't want to "discourage" anyone from going here but if you do be prepared and jump on the issues you may have immediately....go to a manager first so if you experience these same type of problems you don't waste 3+ days getting them fixed. They did correct it after we got to the manager and Ricky involved so they did make the rest of our vacation very nice. The food in the restaurants was really good (the Italian, the El Patron and La Pera (maybe mispelled...but it's by El Patron DOWNRIGHT EXCELLENT FOOD). The resort is beautiful (although pool at Palmar was green but they shut it down for a few days and when they reopened it, it was clear...still glad we spent our days at the Alco).
If you choose this resort I hope you see the staff we saw the last part of the week and do not experience our troubles....and if you do they get fixed quickly. Just remember...all inclusive is not ALL inclusive and be prepared....it is difficult to remember to stay and sign the check before you leave :) Below with the rating: Service is not going to be rated as it was extremely poor in the beginning and excellent in the end. Did not go to the spa.

Room Tip: Smell the drawers BEFORE you accept the room and unpack. We were in the center building and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We truly appreciate the time you took to provide this valuable feedback. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We hope you give us the opportunity to change this past experience on your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth,tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful resort the first of September and it was everything we wanted for a restful vacation and more. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The timeshare people were very polite, when we told them we were not interested that was the end of it. A wonderful family resort. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again on your next vacations.

Cordially,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week vacation in Cabo. From September 8th through September 15, 2012.We spent a lot of time at the pool and hot tub. Every night we went downtown and enjoyed the local venues. The food was amazing! There are many places to eat at a range of prices from $12-$15 for 2 up to as high as you want to go. Cabo is more commercialized then most small Mexican towns, but seems to be very clean. The resort staff, other than the Timeshare sharks are very friendly. The Timeshare employees are pushy and tried to get us to go to the presentation. After saying NO three times they left us alone.The Timeshare sharks are everywhere in Cabo, From getting bombarded at the airport upon arrival to getting approached everywhere including Wal-Mart , the streets and even at the restaurants around town . The resort is very nice and our 2BR 3Bath suite was very large. More like a small apartment. The people in Cabo are very nice. Because of the impression that Cabo left on us, my wife and I plan to head back again and enjoy everything Cabo has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, General Manager at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We thank you for sharing your experience with others. We value your comments as they assist us in our effort to improve our service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Villa Del Palmar on your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Jorge Herrán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450 , Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos is "fun" with a capital "F," described by previous guests as "awesome," "enjoyable," and simply, "a great place to get away from it all." Soak up South of the Border comfort at Villa del Palmar Beach Resort Los Cabos, our family-friendly property with newly renovated rooms and an emphasis on entertainment. You can't help but smile the minute you see our Willy the Whale water slide.On any given day, you might see a crowd partaking in aqua-aerobics, water volleyball, or simply slipping and sliding into the pool (don't forget your camera!). In addition, the resort hosts a large variety of on-site activities including scuba diving, cooking lessons, a techno-arcade and theme nights featuring mariachi music, talent shows and more.The property also boasts a walk-out-the-door stretch of powdery sand, with gorgeous views of the turquoise surf and famous rock formation, El Arco. The recently updated all-suite property with its 460 air-conditioned units offers a range of "home away from home" options, be it a one-, two- or three-bedroom suite, sure to satisfy everyone in your group.While the area's beach and water sports get most of the attention, Villa del Palmar goes out of its way to offer the utmost in peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas Villa Del Palmar
Villa Del Palmar Los Cabos
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.