We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great weeks in Cabo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Rose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 great weeks in Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

It was time for our family vacation and as a young family of four we wanted to go back to Cabo San Lucas. We decided on Pueblo Bonito Rose after some careful decision making based on friends experiences. I can say that the service at the resort is top notch from Check in with Rene to eating and pool side service with Guadalupe to check out with Karla they did not miss a beat. I would not hesitate recommending this resort to anyone.

Thanks again everyone,
John and Amber Bethell

Room Tip: Higher floors help to reduce noise from people walking on the tile floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    480
    169
    91
    60
See reviews for
379
490
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is the most relaxing and beautiful place to stay. Not the fanciest, just the best! LOL. The accomidations are very authentic. You have the beach or pool to relax and swin. Excellent activites at the pool. great activity staff- Pablo, Donny & J Lo. Made my vacation a blast. The Carnival and Sunday Brunch are the best meal activities, and always with delicious food. I would recommend getting the all-inclusive option. A good value if you have at least one or two meals a day at the hotel, then drinks of course! The great servers by the pool were Armando, Jay, Alejandro, Isreal and Heidi. We felt like a King and Queen for a week! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Rose, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Diane D,

We truly appreciate your kind remarks and we feel very happy to hear that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable, or like you said, like King and Queen! We'll make sure to pass your recognition to every staff member you mentioned above.
Hope to see you again anytime soon!

Sincerely,
Goyita Osako, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The people who work there made our vacation fantastic. Specifically, Isreal by the pool was the very best, so professional and clearly loves what he does. Others that were so friendly and treated us great were Heidi, Cecy, Pedro, Armando and Evel. If we go back, it will be because of these people!!!a Great vacation!!

Room Tip: All rooms will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We traveled with 14 family and friends, staying in both junior and luxury suites. Shop your rates online; there are some better pricing than their website if you are not an owner. This is a great place to relax and unwind, take advantage of a beautiful spa, lovely pool, great rooms and people who enjoy taking care of you. We have been to the Rose' about 10 times and love each visit. I would advise a quick trip to the local Walmart for some goodies for the kitchen; water, beer, etc. Muchies and drinks can run you a chunk of change at the end of the week if you partake all day at the pool. And do yourself a favor and go to the local restaurants...there are some amazing place to eat just minutes away. A quick tax ride will take you to places such as Salvatores for incredible Italian food just down the street from Cabo Wabo. Take in The Heart of the Artichoke!! The most incredible food ever!!!! A bit pricey but so worth the experience. My favorite place! And Taco Loco in town. Yum! But enjoy the different dinner experiences the Rose' gives each night. Asian, Mexican night, Carnivale, and others. And don't miss their guacamole either. We enjoy laying at the pool during the day and reading, relaxing and enjoying a nice swim. They have games, trivia, water aerobics and different things a poolside if you choose. Fresh towels at hand all day with your towel card. The beach is right there if you choose to swim in the ocean. Nice sand and canopy and big umbrellas if you wish to hide from the warm sun. Get your towels out there soon to reserve your space. There is a wide variety of every age group; no one is excluded. And you can take the hourly bus to the Sunset Resort and see what that is all about; a very lovely location but a bit out of the way for my taste. But certainly go there and check it out. Its on the Pacific side, and you can partake in all the goodies over there as well. They bring you back hourly so enjoy the day. Take your suit and the pool is beautiful!! No ocean though as the waters there are far too strong for swimming. As far as the internet is concerned, my one issue. You can have free internet if you sit by the deli cafe; outside they have a nice seating area where everyone sits on their laptops, iPads, etc. If you want to spend the money, you can have internet in your room for a 24 hr period on one device. And then you pay again...for 24 hrs. So that is my one issue. I do not do the all inclusive at the Rose' since I am not a drinker. I'm told that the inclusive package does not include premium liquor so if you are looking for Patron or Grey Goose, you won't get it on the all inclusive package. But all in all, a great place to spend a week, rest, relax and enjoy a great time and eat good food.The rooms are comfy, you'll sleep well and spend great time with family and friends. I am sure I'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo San Lucas. We traded into Rose through RCI, but bought the meal/drink plan from the resort at a discount by purchasing early (five days for the price of seven). The resort opened in 1999 but has been well maintained. We stayed in Room 4016, a "junior suite", which is essentially a very large hotel with two queen beds, sitting area with a table and two chairs, a nice balcony and a reasonably well equipped kitchenette (two burner stove, microwave, small refrigerator, sink, and necessary kitchen supplies considering this is an all inclusive-optional resort). A great room for two people, but perhaps too small for a family of four for a whole week.

The balcony of our room had a great view of the pool and a partial view of the bay and Lands End. Room are not very well insulated from the corridors or other rooms, although we didn't find it particularly objectionable. However, if you are a guest that enjoys a very quite room, this may not be the resort for you.

Resort is in a great location if you enjoy an active beach scene. Between the resort and the marina are a number of restaurants and bars, including the Mango Deck, which provides Spring Break atmosphere all year long.

All inclusive food ranged from average to very good. Drinks were served "average strength" unless you asked the staff to make them strong, which they happily obliged. Speed of service ranged from slow to average, but this is Mexico, so don't expect speedy service. We found the staff to be generally very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Paulina, the hostess at Mare Nostrum, and David, who served guests at the pool, provided outstanding customer service. By the way, I didn't notice a difference in the service provided to all inclusive guests versus guests that paid a la carte, as mentioned in a few other reviews. We dined at both of the Rose restaurants as well as those at the sister resort next door, Blanco, and found the food to be of similar quality. Prices are rather steep for a la carte customers, so consider the value of the all inclusive plan, especially if your can buy it at a discount.

We did three Cabo Adventures excursion while in Cabo, which I have commented on in detail in a separate review. In a nut-shell, however, this is a great company with excellent excursions.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort, would staff again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Rose, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for these comments to our reviewer. The drinks served to all our guests, contain standardized liquor measures, however we will, as a result of these comments, reinforce our procedures by re-training to all our bartenders staff. All our guests are treated with kindness, friendliness and hospitality with no differences of any kind. Our philosophy is to satisfy all our guests and it;s a pleasure for us to serve them. We will continue working to improve our services. Thank you very much.

Yours cordially,
Goyita Osako, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Pueblo Bonito Rose in Cabo. This was our second time visiting it since the first time was so nice and relaxing. Last year we decided to try Cabo Azul, which is in San Jose and closer to the airport. However, we had to taxi in to town if we wanted to enjoy the nightlife, which was about 20 miles away. Not only that, there was really nothing to do at Cabo Azul. At the Rose, there were activities everyday such as pool volleyball, trivia, water aerobics (although it wasn't much of a workout), poker. The activities directors, Doni, Pablo, J Lu, and a couple of the girls were also very fun and inclusive of everyone. The food was delicious and so much to choose from at all hours of the day. The sushi was great too! Even the room service was included in the all-inclusive. And although you won't get the top shelf alcohol, you can always upgrade for a few bucks. The ages of guests ranged from young 20 somethings to retirees soaking in WAY too much sun. My only wish is that the pool would play music all day long, even if it's not loud so as to not give everyone a headache. But it would be fun to sit and drink near the music. I also wish they didn't close down so early at night. Staying up with music and drinks would be fun without having to travel into town and splitting up groups of newly made friends. Overall, the staff was SO friendly and accommodating. We wanted to sit on chairs by the beach but all of the shady spots were taken. No problem. A guy came, dug a hole, and placed the beach umbrella right where we wanted it. And as for the time share hagglers and people selling stuff... you just say, "no thank you" and keep walking if you're not interested. However, we met a few people who seem to have gotten about $400. in spa credit and who weren't too scarred from the experience. Anyway, I promised a few of the staff members that I would write about my experience so here it is. I hope it helps someone :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife & I stayed at PB Rose the first week of April. We have been owners there since 2001 so I can't say anything too bad about it because it would be like admitting we made a mistake. Only kidding. We love the location and feedback from other reviews that it is getting a little old is true, but the maintenance is immaculate. We have a Junior Suite, which is just a hotel room with a microwave and fridge. I love getting up early and seeing a swarm of people sweeping, polishing, painting, cleaning the pool. We have a floating week and typically have visited in February or March. This year we went later and there were still some Spring Breakers there. I get up before sunrise (mostly due to the time change from Eastern time). There was quite a bit of competition for beach chairs/umbrellas, and good spots by the pool, so getting up early is an advantage. We don't do the all-inclusive because we don't drink enough to make it worthwhile, and we like trying different restaurants. We ate three times at the Medano Beach Club - a pretty good value and you can usually get them to give you a free margarita. We also ate at Cabo Wabo and it wasn't what I expected - pricey, and I was just looking for a good burger, which was mediocre. We also ate at Rafaele's (new) on the way to the marina, and it was pretty good, as was El Ricazon just down the street. Weather was sunny, but cool and windy for April. Wife & I, inexperienced kayakers, rented a 2-person kayak for 2 hours and paddled to El Arco, then to Lovers Beach where we got tipped over by the surf, and washed up ashore, to the amusement of people on the beach. Two amigos helped us, and asked for a tip, so I gave them 50 pesos. Exchange rate at Rose was 12 pesos per dollar which is as good as anywhere I saw. For veterans of Medano Beach, the Attessa was anchored, minus the helicopter. Service at the resort is fine, the help friendly and we love our yearly trip. The Pueblo Bonitos are definitely pushing the all-inclusive. The one night we wanted to eat on-prem, there was a 2 hour wait at Blanca next door, so we just went back Medano Beach Club. We have never had a bad experience at Rose, although the U-configuration doesn't allow for many really good views from the rooms. We prefer higher floors for better views, and less noise from the beach bar area. We're looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher, near to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Rose, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Merman3,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Pueblo Bonito Rose anytime soon.

Sincerely,
Goyita Osako, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.