We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad and disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Rose

Save Saved
You added Pueblo Bonito Rose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Rose
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So sad and disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are timeshare owners at the Rose. We hardly ever trade it because we love it there. Or I should say loved it there. We have gone during the same time frame for many years, the middle to end of March. Mostly the Spring Break College kids have stayed at the cheaper all inclusives in Cabo.....but not any more! The place was over run with loud, drunk, and rude kids. ALL of the pool chairs were "saved" by 7:00am. We walked to the beach only to return to our lounge chairs and find them taken over by 2 college kids. They denied taking our chairs, even though we were only gone 15 minutes and people around the pool saw them do it. They also said the towels we left on the chairs were theirs too and the resort did NOTHING and even wanted us to pay $25 for the towels they stole! The water aerobics class was over run with drunk boys, trying to be funny...again,... no staff member did a thing. Now for the rooms....they are in terrible shape. The mirrors in our bathroom were cracked and broken, The vanity was broken and glued back together.
Our room had so many bugs, mainly mesquitos, that we woke but every morning covered in bites.
The timeshare people were relentless, even tho we already own there...keep wanting us to upgrade...ARE YOU SERIOUS? The owners need to sink some money into this place to make it more enjoyable for the owners. The location is great, but that's the only thing positive I can say. Until things change, we will trade our timeshare for something nice. Also...PBR think more about the owners and less about filling your rooms cheaply with drunk College students. I spoke to many adults and families at the pool who said they would never return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    480
    169
    91
    60
See reviews for
379
490
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As always my wife and I just spent 3 great weeks at the Rose (3/11/13-4/1/13). The front desk service was awesome and professional - especially the supervisor.

There were a couple of areas that need to be addressed by management in the future. The Rose had a new promotion to bring in a huge number of college spring breakers on the all inclusive (drink all you want) program - from which the college kids told me was for $1,000.00 they got airfare, 4 nights of lodging and the all inclusive drink/eat program.

This created the most noisy spring break crowd that I have ever heard at the Rose and the noise went into the early morning hours - which was not good for sleeping. There were many very drunk college students doing what they do best. The Rose also held beach festivals for the college spring breakers which took up the normal beach lounge sitting areas. This led to the cramming in of the many owner/vacation beach lounge sitters into a small area - which was way to tight.

The Rose needs to remember that it was the owners who made this resort possible and management needs to put the owners first.

Dale

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Rose for the last week of March 2013. While the resort had pretty much everything you would expect (nice pool, beach access, nice comfortable rooms with balconies, kitchenettes allowing affordable meals, etc.), we had a few experiences that prevented this resort from being as relaxing as we would have liked.

First off, end of March means spring breakers. This is a timing thing, but we didn't like how loud they were and how they took over the bar. (We're in our mid 20's, but we still found this annoying.)

Second, there are not nearly enough lounge chairs at the Pueblo Bonito Rose. In our week long vacation, we were only able to get good lounge chairs twice and that was when my boyfriend went down at 7 AM for them. Once when I went down at 7:30 AM, there was nothing. This does not create relaxation. And it's not that there were people in all the chairs at 7 AM. People would save their chairs early and them come back to them at 10 AM or one family member would be there holding 6 chairs. Basically, the chairs rarely had people in them but were always taken. Additionally, we were not all inclusive and returned to our room for meals, essentially requiring us to give up chairs. Big families and people under the all inclusive plan definitely had an advantage on us for lounge chairs. This was incredibly frustrating and for this alone I would not return to the Pueblo Bonito Rose.

Third, we went on a glass bottom boat out to the Arch and Lover's Beach. This boat tour was recommended to us by a waiter at the hotel; he signed us up for it. However, our boat driver dropped us off at the beach, said he'd be back for us in an hour, so we were upset when two hours later we had to pay another boat driver to get us back since our boat driver never came for us. When we complained both to the boat tour company and the hotel, no one cared. This should have become the hotel's problem once their waiter recommended and signed us up for this boat trip. At a top quality resort, I definitely expect better than promoting tours that rip off their customers.

Overall, we enjoyed Cabo and liked the ease of access to downtown. The walk isn't pretty but it felt safe enough and was short enough. We generally did breakfast and lunch in our room (we bought food at City Club, a short walk away, and downtown). Dinners and drinks downtown were affordable; the hotel restaurants were pricy. The room was comfortable and pleasant, normal sized. The grounds were pretty. We had a room with a partial ocean view, which resulted in noise from a fiesta on Saturday night but was not a problem any other night. If there was better lounge chair access, we probably would have loved this resort, but for us that made the vacation significantly less relaxing.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view, which resulted in one noisy night (Saturday for a fiesta) but as fine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here last week. The hotel was ok, but is past it's prime. The room size was great, stayed in an executive suite with two huge rooms, two master bathrooms, giant balcony, fully equipped kitchen. But the floors and furniture were very dirty, mattressed needed replacing abut 5 years ago, fridge didn't work, had to call twice for repairs, bulbs out, etc. Check in was a lengthy process with no information provided - no map, nothing.
The pool area and grounds were gorgeous. Not enough lounge chairs - they were taken by 6:30 am so we gave up and just laid our towels on the concrete at pool edge. And they are serious that if the lounge is empty for more than an hour they will take it for someone else!
Taxi from the airport was $80. Now it was spring break so they could demand those prices, the driver said it wasn't normally that expensive. Hotel shuttle is only $22 per person.
Bought groceries at City Club - less than 10 minute walk. You can buy a one day pass when you check out for $2. It was a $6 cab ride back to the hotel.
Fellini's and Cilantro's had amazing food! But extremely expensive. Lunch at Cilantros with nachos, quesedilla, and a burger was $55. Pasta dinner at Fellini's for two with the cheapest bottle of wine was $110. Drinks at the pool were $10+ each. Definitely do the all-inclusive if you would have more than 3-4 drinks in a day. Meals are atleast $20/person.
The deli was very well stocked - anything you could possibly need - but insanely expensive. Bought a loaf of bread, small jar of jam, small jar of PB - $22. But its convenient.
Never had a single problem with time share people, but maybe because we were staying under a timeshare reservation. The young lady doing the pottery stand was so sweet and talented, we enjoyed a few afternoons painting pottery in the shade.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and basically at palm tree level. Go higher if you want a view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an ALERT for any family considering the Pueblo Bonito Rose in Cabo. We noticed an increase in number of college spring breakers last year. We didn’t think too much about it. This year it was out of control. We have since learned from time share owners at the resort that the hotel specifically targeted college spring breakers with cheap offers of airfare, lodging, and all inclusive wrist bands. This is a big red warning flag. The hotel was very noisy at night/early morning (as college spring breakers were making their way home from partying all night), the lines long to order any drinks by the bar due to having to fight your way through college kids (could take 30+ min to get a drink), lots of behavior observed inappropriate for families traveling with kids, and the college kids made a mess on the beach (which the hotel did clean up on a daily basis). The hotel needs to decide if it’s a family friendly resort or the next college spring break destination. Our assumption is that the hotel has learned it's lesson based on feedback we heard from many of their employees (Who were not happy with what sales staff basically had done). We will start looking for alternatives as we are not looking for a college spring break resort.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham. Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

P.B.Rose has everything. Its perfect for multigenerational family vacations. Ours has done spring break there for years.
Unfortunately, this year management sold cheap packages to college kids, which included all you can eat & DRINK. Sadly we got little sleep night after night, as the kid's parties kept waking us up. We saw drunk girls sprawled on the patio and our grandchildren heard terrible language.
Our perfect vacation spot got tarnished this year. We hope Pueblo Bonito management will rethink this new, ugly policy. If they do not, their usage will markedly decline!
Mary Jo H. Warr-King, Gresham Oregon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I own at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan and decided to come to Cabo. We stayed in room 2041. My husband and I had a great time and had a wonderful stay at PB Cabo. Beautiful grounds, just like other properties of theirs. Thanks to David and Israel - they work very hard but managed to keep us happy. Thanks also to Alejandra, our maid, for keeping our unit clean and neat! It was a short walk to the Marina and we felt safe walking anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Rose, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LawJunkie,

It is great to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay at Pueblo Bonito Rose, we'll make sure to pass your recognition to David, Israel and Alejandra. Looking forward to welcome you and your husband anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Goyita Osako, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pueblo Bonito Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Rose

Address: Playa El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Rose 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the many colors of Land's End and El Arco. Stroll to the vibrant downtown Cabo San Lucas, filled with restaurants and clubs. Walk on the few swimmable beaches in Cabo or just relax shades of crimson poolside or from your private balcony. Discover a restful spa and resort where warm hospitality and beauty harmonize to create the greatest of pleasures. Now offering a deluxe all-inclusive option which includes all restaurants and bars, as well as those at sister resort Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Rose Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort
Pueblo Bonito Rose Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.