We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Nashville
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Solmar. I had planned to go back for my honeymoon. But I have recently found out about all the renovating they are doing and what the ultimate outcome will be and I no longer see the beautiful, funky little hotel I stayed at and had a great time at. The hotel is going to become an overbearing and materialistic hotel that will much resemble its sister hotel The Playa Grande. Here is what I am talking about:
http://www.playagrandeclub.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=758

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    292
    115
    65
    38
See reviews for
125
410
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

First I want to say that Solmar was wonderful. I would stay there again and again. Our room was older but very clean. The staff was excellent, helpful and accomidating.
I loved the fact that it was not crowded. Although you could not swim at the beach it was breathe taking, I loved you could hear the surf from the room. There was alot of construction going on but that means bigger and better.
It was very close to town and they would gladly shuttle you back and forth from Solmar to Playa Grande. We went through the time share which included a free breakfast which was awesome, and yes I bought one..lol. We also received $150.00 coupon for food and drink and 4 excursions.We went snorkling, ATV riding, parasailing, and a midnight cruise, all for free!!! They had a Fiesta night which was wonderful that included buffet, drinks and entertainment ($28.00 a person) which was well worth it.
If your looking for a great get away I would recommend it!! Especially during March and April before it gets to crowded. I loved how exclusive it felt there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

When we arrived at SolMar we were shown to our room with no view. The overall decor was dark and drab. The two double beds were hard as rocks and left little room to walk around. After dinner we returned to find a very large cockroach sharing our room with us.
The next morning we asked to be moved to another room. After not hearing back from the front desk we moved to the Me Hotel for the remaining three night- much more our scene.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

we had a lovely time at the solmar. we went at i think the most humid time of year so were grateful for the air con in our room. we had a beach front room and it was lovely. we had nothing to complain about. even the timeshare people left us alone, apart from having to run the gauntlet through the airport to avoid them. the location was beautiful as it was on an amazing beach but it was a bit of a walk into town. the sushi at the pool bar was gorgeous and the service around the pool which was where we spent most of our time was very good. i would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bethany, DE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

For our recent stay (Feb 23-Mar 5) we had requested building 4 (by the rocks). as we always do. At check in we were told that we would have to move to another room during our stay because demolition was to start on this building. We told the front desk that we did not want to move because that meant a lost day packing up and unpacking again. They offered us a free upgrade to a junior suite in building J. We took a peek at the unit and accepted the offer. Great unit, great view and 2 bathrooms.

Now for the downside that we did not realize until the next day. There was construction going on under this building by the guest laundry. Jack hammmers and banging from 8AM to 6PM every day our whole stay.

There was more construction on the glass enclosed building by the pool where the hot tub is. They are moving the La Roca restaurant to this location. Jack hammers and banging all day here, too.

No noise problem at the front pool. But that will change when they start demolishing buildings 4 & 5.

We love the Solmar and the locatiion but will not return until all the construction is complete. We want peace and quiet during our trips.

The staff are friendly and wonderful, as always. The owner is NOT dead, I talked to him last week in the lobby of the Solmar.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Ive just returned from Solmar for a weeks vacation and I must admit im surprised at the negative reviews ive read. The resort was in a great location, just a few minutes walk to Cabo and while you cant swim on the beach it was nice to have a stretch of beach that was only shared by a few resorts (no sales people on the beach). The Food at the main restaurant was great and the prices were surprisingly reasonable given this is a hotel bar/restaurant. Staff was fantastic all the way through our stay and I struggle to find a negative comment on our solmar experience - I was told they are beginning construction in two weeks time on the new resort so It would be wise to ensure any ony booked to go in the next several months ensures their room is well away from the area of construction. For a laugh we attended the Playa Grande timeshare presentation and rec'd 200.00 in food/drink gift cert. for the hotel and a free whale watching tour - well worth the 3 hours- particularly if you find their crazy sales antics as funny as we did. We will definately be looking to return after the reno's and would actually consider a resale timeshare (better deal than new one's) - its a great resort in a great location and from what Ive sure the owners will make the new and updated Solmar as great as the current version. Also worth noting and the best part of our trip was Chiliano beach - they had a security person watching the cars as its a public beach on mile 14 of highway 1 which let you enjoy your day and not worry about the car (we tipped him 50 pesos at the end of the day) . the swimming and snorkeling were the best ive ever experienced so if your down make sure you treat yourself to a day there and bring a few pieces of bread to feed the fish its amazing how many different fish come out of hiding when you feed them. Also worth noting is there is a more private cove right beside the main beach - no umbrella's like the main beach but if you had your own much quieter location...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We have stayed at the Solmar 5 times. This year we came in on a cruise ship, got off and had reservations at the hotel for 5 days...beginning on New Years Eve. More about that later. We have always enjoyed and just loved the place...it's old, cool and close to town. But, they are tearing it down in March 09 and replacing it with two 10 story highrises. The staff is pissed, and the service has gone down the toilet. We got food poisoning on the ship the night before (Big time, confined to our room for 24 hours etc.) and were not in the best of spirits when we checked in 31 Dec. but got the rush from the salespeople and signed up for the New Year's Eve dinner at the Playa Grande anyway. $254.
Around 6:00 we both got violently sick again and were off to bed...my wife went to the concierge to cancel, who got her in touch with the maitre de' at Playa Grande who told her it would not be a problem. The next day, after recovering a bit, we checked our bill and the charges had not been removed. I then talked with the concierge, the Manager of the Solmar, the Manager of the Playa Grande and they all refused to refund our money as it was "hotel policy". That night, feeling better but not 100% we decided to just get a snack and a couple of glasses of wine at the hotel restaurant (Which was empty...hmmm). I was served a glass containing perhaps 1 ounce of red wine...$9. We got up and walked out. Do me a favor and do not do business with this group of hotels (Solmar, Finisterra, Playa Grande). With the death of the owner last year, they have become a corporation only interested in ripping off the rich gringo and selling you a timeshare/condo. We'll be off to San Jose next trip to Cabo.

  • Liked — great view...location
  • Disliked — graet view...location...soon to be all screwed up
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.