We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of extra fees / Very let down.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be careful of extra fees / Very let down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

For an "All inclusive" there was certainly a lot, of extra charges. Complimentary coffee in room was $14.99 USD if you dare open it. Bring your own sugar and cream, it's not provided. Complimentary water and soft drinks, $6.00 each. No robes in rooms, or alcohol in the drinks. That would be considered premium bar and extra fee again. Room service, extra charge for the same menu. Be careful, review your bill. $75 for a lock for the safe in your room. $10 fee for a community donation of some sort, extra fees for water to launder linens, Et cetera.

Employees were not eager to assist, or friendly, but expected tipping. Really? My husband went up to the pool bar to get a pool menu, 5 employees talking, not acknowledging him or others. After 5 minute of waiting, my husband finally asked, can I see a menu for the pool area, their reply was they had to find one, and then they would bring it by. 15 minutes later..... We decided to go into town, for great, friendly service. The feeling that you are imposing on others is not acceptable in the hospitality / hotel industry.

Ernest one of the restaurant captains, was exceptional, friendly, and very accommodating. Always welcoming. He was the only one.

Weekend was quieter than during the week. A lot of construction noise, building the new Solmar resort.

Loved Cabo, will NOT EVER stay at Solmar. I will be sure to tell all my friends and business associates to beware, and choose somewhere else to vacation.

Room Tip: Choose another resort for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Sue L. from Albuquerque, New Mexico;
Thank you so much for posting a review. I really appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience with others… I offer you an apology due of the extra fees applied to your account I am sure we did not explain them correctly. The donation fee it is voluntary and is deleted at your desire, the usage of safety deposit box is completely free nevertheless there is a deposit which is credited when you return the key, etc. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations on this visit. I will make sure that your feedback is shared with the rest of the team to ensure we handle things differently in the future. Cordialy Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    270
    108
    61
    34
See reviews for
115
372
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The all inclusive plan is simply excellent. The food was wonderful and I can't say enough about the staff. Ernesto (maitre'd) and his staff are genuinely interested in making your meals enjoyable. Housekeeping and grounds staff always had a smile and a "hola" and seemed truly happy to be there. I myself had no problem with the construction but I can sleep thru most any noise. I found the Solmar to be very restful with beautiful views and nice breezes. It isn't what I call a "disco all night party" hotel but a charming older hotel interested in making your trip pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the construction zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear customer from Lake Havasu City;
We appreciate very much your kind comments, it is gratifying to read that you have enjoyed your vacation, and the service from our cordial staff has contributed to that. It will be my pleasure to greet you here again as our guest. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked Hotel Solmar all-inclusive through a Living Social deal. We tried to look at the hotel on Google to get an idea of what and where. The Google Maps picture showed no trace of construction. When we arrived there was construction going on less that 20 feet from our room. We asked to be moved but the noise went from 8am-8pm M-F, so it didn't help much.
The all inclusive alcohol was poured from cheap, non-distinct bottles and the service for meals was excruciatingly long (over an hour for breakfast). The food was well prepared but the choices were few.
The hotel is right on the beach but you CANNOT SWIM IN THE OCEAN AT YOUR HOTEL! We had to arrange transportation or rent a car to go to the beaches where you could swim.
IInternet was sporatic and expensive. The rooms were pretty nice but a/c was loud and we had two dead, 2" long roaches in the room in the morning.
We also went fishing and saw nothing. Bad time to go as water was unusually cold.
Recommend more research before booking in Mexico.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear customer from Arvada, Colorado;
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience. I am very sorry to know that you did not find enough information from the resort before your journey, it is available in the voucher that you bought and even on this page you'll find photos and reviews of previous customers. Our least intention is to surprise our customers. Thank you again for your report I'm working with my staff to correct and meet our customers' expectations.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just want to say the food and the waiters were amazing. Ernesto, Raul, Samuel, Daniel, Moses - just to name a few- were very attentive, ready accommodate every fancy.
The resort comfortable, quiet at night and very clean. Currently there is a construction going on next door but the noise wasn't too bad. Somehow we only noticed this in the morning, plus when you get closer to the ocean you only hear the huge waves crashing down. Definitely not a swimming beach, the rip tide was very strong.
The only downside to the Cabo trip was the relentless scam to get you to go to a timeshare sales presentations. It starts at the airport and the hotels have a representatives that are in on it too. Just keep walking through the airport, transportation is waiting outside, no need to arrange that inside the airport.

Room Tip: the studios are definitely worth it. you get two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear customer from Los Angeles, California;
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff has provided you a great service. We hope to have the opportunity to greet you here again and provide you an even better experience. Cordially. Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Solmar by using a Living Social promotion for a 4 day/3 night trip. I have mixed feelings about the resort.

Pros:
-Amazing food
-Attentive and friendly staff (Jose Luis, Ernesto and Jose were awesome!)
-Walking distance to the marina
-Rooms were clean and large
-Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our fridge.

Cons:
-CONSTRUCTION!!! It was right outside of our room and went from 7am-7pm.
-Everything shut down at 10pm- no more food or drinks.
-It took a long time to get your food during the meals.
-Can't go into the water on the beach
-There were leaks in the second bathroom under the sink and in the shower

The fact the resort was all-inclusive did make the trip a lot easier but I don't think I would come back to this resort. We went to the Playa Grande to play mini-golf and the difference between the two resorts was astounding. I can't be too upset though because you get what you pay for.

The staff was excellent and it was a nice little trip. The biggest issue I had was with the construction so wasn't the "quiet getaway" I had been hoping for. I will probably not come back to this resort.

Room Tip: As for rooms close to the pool and as far away from the construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear customer from San Diego, California;
I thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations on this visit. I am sharing your service's comments with our staff they will be happy to know their efforts are well appreciated by you. You can be sure we will handle things differently in the future. Cordially Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After losing mom and dealing with many other family issues, getting away to Cabo was a welcome retreat. The Solmar fit the bill completely. Quiet, easy-going, friendly people at the pool, pleasant employees, good food and great weather made for an awesome break from the real world. Solmar is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of the big resorts. We went on a timeshare exchange and took the all inclusive package add on. That was worth it because we would have spent that much on one meal per day! We graciously got upgraded to a bigger room but that was due to some very loud construction right out everyone's window. They are building a more lavish and upscale timeshare resort next door and that was probably the only really bummer of the trip. But down by the pool it was a bit quieter and after a few margaritas, you forgot about the noise. The beach waves drown out all sounds. You cannot swim on the beach at Solmar. Too rough. We did hike down the beach and climbed over the rocks to Lover's Beach near the Arch. You can get in the water there. We took a day snorkle cruise and a sunset cruise...both lots of fun. We spent a day on Medano beach which is horribly crowded but a great place to drink up some tequila and stroll the beach. It seemed to be where all the tourists and young people party. Fun for a visit but glad to come back to quiet Solmar. We did not do the timeshare presentation after hearing from the other guests that the schpeel is longer than they say and the attitude is relentless. All to save a few bucks on a tour or massage? Forget it. Besides everyone in town is trying to sell you a timeshare too. HA JUST SAY NO to all the sales pitches at the airport, hotel, boardwalk and beach and you will have a great time! By the way, it is a medium distance walk to the downtown or you can take a cheap cab ride. That is great versus all the other resorts all the way out along the bay coast. A cab ride from the airport is $80!! So do your homework and get the shuttles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear customer from Tucson, Arizona;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are glad to know you could escape a little from reality and you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again at the hotel soon. I'm sure you didn't get a chance to do everything on your list.
Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My Dad brought me to this resort for a little daughter/father time and I love everything about this resort. The sister resort, Playa Grande, is grand, but more geared towards families and being extravagant. Solmar delivers a staff who remembers your face, welcomes you personally every day and takes excellent care of you at all times. As a first time experience leaving the states, this was absolutely amazing. A "MUCHOS GRACIAS" to Moises, Jose, Damian, Ernesto, Cita and the rest of the incredible staff here!!! Hope to see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear customer from Puyallup, WA;
Thank you very much to you and your dad for considering our resort to spend your holidays together, definitely the best moments are the ones we share with our loved ones. We are delighted to know that our friendly staff has contributed to make your vacation memorable. Please come back soon, I'm sure still you have many things to do with your dad. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.