We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was surprised by the property since I bought this deal through Living Social. The location was perfect. 5-10 minute walk from downtown and the Marina but far enough from the hustle and bustle. The hotel staff was very welcoming and spoke fluent english. The all inclusive deal is a must because eating and drinking on the resort was set your wallet back a bit. The restaurant food was decent and the drinks were decent but the service was fast and there was never a wait. The only drawbacks to the property is the construction next door to the neighbor property Grand Solmar (which btw is 10 times better looking than Solmar) and the strong surf of the beach. It's nearly impossible to swim on the beach on the resort because the waves and undertow are soo strong but you can take a water taxi for $2 bucks at the marina and take a swim on lovers beach or medano beach which is more calm. Worth the money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean or pool view. Its beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear customer from Charlotte, North Carolina;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your holidays and that the location of the resort was perfect for you. It is nice to know that your "Living Social" package was worth for you. It will be our pleasure to greet you here again and allow us to provide an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    270
    108
    61
    34
See reviews for
115
372
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort Jones Calif
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Solmar, both times we were very happy with everything. They upgraded our room and it was terrific thanks to Mary.The food is very good and also the service thanks to Jose and Alejhandro always right there to help. Christina at the concierge desk also very helpfull.
Now about the timeshare deal at the hotel we said that we weren't interested and that was it. Now at the airport thats a whole different story, if your not interested,when you get off the plane just keep walking till you get outside,do not stop!! We will be comming back to stay again. Dont bother getting mexican money everyone takes our $$$.

Room Tip: Had room 2264, 2nd floor away from the construction and always in the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mike C. from Fort Jones, CA;
We appreciate very much your continued visits. It is rewarding to know you have enjoyed your vacation and our customer services once again. Please do not wait too much to come back and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were a little nervous since this was our first all inclusive as well as using a voucher from a Living Social Deal. We just bought a new house and this was just to be a quick cheap getaway where we were going to compromise a little bit to get the right price. What a positive surprise we found! While the hotel is truly a three star and nothing is luxurious, it is an amazing deal at the perfect location with a staff that makes you wanting to come back. There is still some construction at the sister property but the noise level is very reasonable and can't be heard from most of the pool area and beach. The level of attention and personal service of the entire crew truly shows their dedication to making this a very memorable experience. While there is only one restaurant, the selection, preparation and presentation of all the meals was outstanding. The sushi bar was excellent and we already miss our afternoon sushi accompanied by pool side cocktails. Tips are included and while not expected I am sure that most of the guys appreciated a dollar here and there extra. (Beware that any tips you add to your food and drink statements they make yo sign for the all inclusive package do not transfer to your bill! That's how honest they are! Get some one dollar bills before you leave and reward great service) We both are looking to come back and hopefully will have another chance soon to spend some very relaxing days at the Solmar. We wanted but did not use the Spa since it was simply too expensive compared to other options.

Room Tip: A building would be the best. Close to the pool and and on the far side from the construction noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear customer from Roanoke, Virginia;
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased to know that we have surprised you positively due to our privileged location, our customer service and the amenities from your program. I'm glad to say that we have included some discounts on spa services for our customers in the all-inclusive program. We hope you take your time to visit us again and enjoy these services too at reasonable fees. Once again thank you for trust in us. Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by Solmar. We weren't sure because we had purchased a Living Social deal to come down all inclusive but the staff from the time we showed up made it clear that our experience was important to them. Vanessa was wonderful and always willing to help out anlong with the entire front office. By the pool Raul was our guy! He was wonderful and always had a smile on his face. We ate in the restaurant most meals and were quite pleased with the food and service there as well. If I had to say anything NOT possitive about Solmar it would just be that it is pretty dated in the rooms (how much time to you spend in your room?) Cabs were easy to come by and town was a short distance away (walking distance). The beach is beautiful and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves. Late check-out was not a problem. We also did a time share presentation (not required) and enjoyed talking to Johnny. I golfed and my wife got a massage on the beach right there at Solmar too which she said it was "the best massage she has ever received". We would deffinately like to return to Solmar in the future. (as long as the construction next door is finished :)

Jeff and Sabrina Cross
Seattle, Wa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jeff and Sabrina Cross from Seattle, WA. USA;
We thank you for having chosen our Resort to spend your vacation and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased to read that we have exceeded your expectations and make your "Living Social" package was worth it. Our entire staff welcomes your kind comments, they are happy to know that they have contributed to make your holiday a memorable one. Please do not take long time to come back and allow us to pamper you as you deserve. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Solmar is getting old,and it only takes a short jaunt next door to the new Grand Solmar to see just how old. Thing is it would not take a lot to make this hotel a great place to stay.
Most things like service, food, comfort of accommodations are good but could be better.
If they want to make them better, you need to renovate the rooms and speed up service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear customer;
Your invaluable feedback is important to improve in order to meet your expectations which are our priority. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. By the other side we are glad to read you have enjoyed the service from our staff and the amenities from your package. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to greet you here and provide an even better experience. Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A beautiful location and resort. You can tell it was a 5-start resort when it was built back in the 80s. It's still really nice now, and while it doesn't have the modern resort look and feel, it does have its nice old charm.

The staff is super friendly and the food is really good. I've never had such fresh and delicious chicken salad! It's a secluded beach and resort, so you don't have to worry about people always haggling you to buy stuff.

Although when you first check-in they offer you a timeshare presentation in exchange for freebies. We did it. It was nice to see their sister resorts, right next door, The Grand Solmar [built within the last decade] and Playa Grande [built in the 90s]. Both 5-star resorts, with the Grand being the most modern. Even if you don't do the timeshare you can still check them both out. Because the Grand is literally right next door. And the shuttle will take you to the Playa Grande because certain amenities are included with your all-inclusive package at the Solmar; ie. gym.

The location is perfect because it's right on a secluded beach. Get a room with an ocean view, you'll thank me later! It was nice waking up every morning to the beach and ocean.

The resort is about a 5-10 minute walk from the Marina. Really even less than that if you figure, after you get off the resort premise it's just across the street. But it takes you 5-10 minutes to walk from the hotel lobby to the end of the resort premise. Once you're off the premise stay in groups or go during the day, because you will be hassled every 5 minutes to buy something or another or do a timeshare. Just say, "Hola, Senor. No, Gracias" and most vendors will leave you alone.

Again, the staff were super nice. Didn't even feel pressured for tips.

Halfway through our trip, one of our guest ended up injuring herself on one of the excursions and ended up in the hospital. The hotel staff were super accommodating and remembered us, asking how she was doing everyday. Matter fact the entire Solmar staff provided first class service!

The only complaint is if you buy the Internet, it's crappy service. But I guess it's for light use only, because you're suppose to be enjoying your vacation!

Overall: Great accommodations, great food, great service, and great resort. I can't believe we got it for such a great price!

Shout out to Christina at the Concierges desk, super friendly in helping us plan our activities!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean from view. You'll thank me later! Room 2253 had a great balcony view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear customer from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments; we are delighted to read you have enjoyed your vacation and the customer services from our friendly staff. It is rewarding to know that the value of your package worth it for you. Certainly our secluded location allow our customers to enjoy privacy without be far from down town. We are looking forward to your next visit, it will be a pleasure to greet you here again. Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I needed time to relax , because we both work a lot in stressful environments. We definitely wanted to avoid party animals or loud music. We chose to stay at Solmar. We enjoyed it, great choice! The resort is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The food is delicious, it's not a buffet where it's all you can eat, which makes it better. The dinning area is not crowed or loud. Having my cup of coffee while enjoying the beautiful sight of the ocean. Very calming and soothing. Our room was located at 3 minutes walk from the beach, where the waves are spectacular and delightful! We slept with the patio opened every night to the sound of the waves. Very pleasant! During April, it can get very windy, but mild to hot temperatures. So everyday was comfortable end enjoyable. We will definitely come back for a 3rd time!
I would recommend this place to any couple that needs to reconnect on some levels.... :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear customer from Montreal, Canada;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others! It is a pleasure for us to know you have found the perfect place to relax, definitely the ocean waves, sunsets and all these natural beauties that the Pacific Ocean offer us from this piece of paradise, allow to leave the stress aside. Thank you for your constant visits, it will be a pleasure for us to greet you here once again and provide you an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.