We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solmar Resort decent for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Bellflower
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solmar Resort decent for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 5 day trip. We purchased a living social deal to this resort (5 nights for 1,000). We also used mileage for our airfare - we were purposely trying to make this a very inexpensive trip. So, for the money, it was fine overall.
Front desk staff was very nice, almost zero pressure from the time share staff, wait staff in the restaurant were great, pool service - average. Maid service was fine. They upgraded us to a deluxe suite and it was very large with a big kitchen, big living room, two bathrooms, two balconies. The bed was quite comfortable... I slept very well! The bathtub was a trip... it was HUGE... like 8 people could fit in there... it was vast and a bit bizarre, but the water pressure was great, so whatever :)
The food was totally mediocre. One of my "beefs" with the place was the beef. :) The flank steak tasted kind of processed and chewy. AND they tried to pass off flank steak as filet. They also tried to pass off rib eye as filet at the Puerto San Lucas restaurant. Very disappointing. You get to utilize the Puerto San Lucas restaurant one time during the trip (it's a restaurant over by the sister property Playa Grande) but really it was horrible. Ambience was not like a fine dining establishment - did not feel comfortable and I did NOT care for the food at all. Back to Tejeban. Breakfast was the best meal - pretty consistent and yummy. It's too bad the food took so long though... personally I don't want to sit around for a 45 minute breakfast and you're forced to if you want to eat. The service really was great at the restaurant though.
The pool was ok. It was dead the whole time, even while spring break was going on, the pool was never full. Very quiet music - random styles, just not a fun pool. There was a swim up bar... sometimes the service was great, sometimes horrible. Sometimes the drinks were great, sometimes very watered down, pretty random. Seats were plentiful, which is a plus. The adult pool was even quieter,, like silent.
The only other all-inclusive we have gone to was the ME cancun (with the level experience) which is like way hipper, more interesting, just a much higher level of amenities, etc. BUT, that cost more than twice as much.
You get what you pay for to a degree. Also included in our package was a two for one to a cabo adventures excursion. We booked a luxury sailing adventure which was AWESOME! Great guides, saw whales, snorkeled, paddleboarded, great food and drinks. Exceptional excursion.
It was Easter so we went to church (there's an English speaking church downtown) - wasn't our cup of tea particularly, but they were friendly.
We also went to Cabo Wabo, Mango Deck, my husband went jet skiing, we walked around a bit, but we spent at least half our time at the hotel.
Oh, one more thing that I thought was very lame was that they were so intent upon selling time shares at the new property next door, Grand Solmar, you couldn't even walk on the property unless you agreed to a time share presentation. The restaurant on that property, La Roca, looked like it might be better than the food we'd had so far, so I asked if we could go there and pay full price and they said NO! We couldn't even have the pleasure of dining there!? Really? I think that's ridiculous. They just lost business... don't get that.
The guacamole was very good - and they put about a ton of cheese on everything.
We lucked out on the construction - being Easter weekend, they weren't working Thursday - Sunday, so the construction began Monday and Tuesday we left. It really wasn't super noisy. Worse up top, and barely could be heard down by the pool.
What else? it's just gorgeous there.. beautiful views - comfortable, long walk from the top hotel portion down to the pool/restaurant,,, but you need to walk a lot on vacation if you don't want to put on 5 lbs right? :)) The property is on the end of the little penninsula - by the arches - so it's more secluded in location. I liked that.. 10-15 walk to the marina... easy to get around. Oh, the RIDGE property is GORGEOUS! We sort of snuck in and looked around and it was beautiful... I would consider staying there.
I guess that's about it. For the money, it was a nice, relaxing, middle of the road getaway. Compared to our previous all-inclusive, it was lacking in several ways, but the service was excellent, basic needs were met, and we had fun overall :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from Bellflower, CA.;
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with others. We appreciate very much your sincere opinion it help us very much to work in our areas of opportunity in order to meet our customers´ expectations. We are pleased to read that your purchased package has provided you additional unexpected benefits and it worth for you. Over all it is rewarding to know you have received an excellent customer service from our staff. Thank you again for your visit. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    251
    99
    60
    34
See reviews for
105
334
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

To put things into perspective a little, I am a 24 year old woman who traveled to Cabo for the first time with my 29 year old boyfriend. Sure we like to party, but I was looking forward to this trip more for the relaxation it might offer due to the stress I have accumulated from my job. I purchased a Living Social voucher for a four night stay at Solmar in an all-inclusive junior suite that we redeemed March 28-April 1. Our trip could not have been more perfect! I truly have no complaints. Everyone was so friendly and I felt very comfortable and safe in our new surroundings.

Upon arriving, we were informed that we were being upgraded from a junior suite to a one bedroom suite! Although it was more than we needed (kitchen, living space, separate bedroom, two bathrooms, and two balconies), it was a pleasant surprise. The rooms are what I would expect to be somewhat antiquated in comparison to newer resorts, but nothing to be concerned with--all amenities were taken care of. As promised our fridge was stocked with two cokes, two sprites, two waters, and two tecates. So far, so good!

As we had had a long day, we quickly found our way down to Solmar's only, but very sufficient restaurant, Tejeban. To our surprise, Thursday night is seafood buffet night, so we helped ourselves to that instead of ordering off the menu. At the end of our meal, we were asked to sign our check, which we were forewarned about by the front desk. Throughout or stay, in the back of my mind, I kept thinking there would be a fat check waiting for us at checkout but no! All was well! Also, I believe I read that tips were included, so I never tipped while there--I started to second guess myself on the tipping, but we saw the same wait staff daily and everyone was still very friendly so I figured I was in the clear on that. Although there is only the one main restaurant on site, I never felt like my options were limited. There is also a sushi factory by the pool and an upper pool snack shack that offers more appetizer/ comfort food options like hot wings, nachos, and quesadillas. Also, we were informed that we could also eat at Puerto San Lucas as part of our all-incusive package but by reservation (we never made it there). I was very satisfied with the food and the options available. It was also great being able to take leftovers back to the room as if you want food after 10, you will be ordering room service at an additional charge.

Having never been to Cabo, both of our parents were very much concerned about safety. Where Solmar is located could not be more perfect when it comes to safety because it is located down its own private road, somewhat away from all the downtown partying. The upside though is that it is also a stone's throw away from the downtown Cabo area should you want to dapple in the bar scene or even shop for souvenirs. It is only about a 10-15 minute walk to the Marina where the tours take off from as well. Although you should not go in the ocean off Solmar, I found it to be a positive because it made the area much quieter and safer. You don't have random people walking around the beach area. Also, Solmar is a much smaller resort than others in the Cabo area when you look at how many rooms there are--this also provides for the much more peaceful and personable experience.

Although I keep mentioning that Solmar is not RIGHT in the middle of the action if you are going there to party, do not get me wrong--the parties are VERY close if that is what you are looking for. In fact, when it comes to who was staying at the resort, I would say a mix of people of all ages. You had families, true single spring breakers in groups, young couples, older couples--you name they had it, and everyone looked to be enjoying the resort in their own way.

One of the most amazing things to me is that even though there is only one restaurant and two pools, nothing was ever packed! I think their hours help to get people in at different times easing the traffic. I loved that we never had to wait to be seated or felt crowded in the pool area.

Only one thing to add about the nearby construction--because we arrived late on Thursday, woke up early on Friday for a ziplining adventure through Cabo Adventures, and left early Monday, the construction next door did not really affect our visit or sleep. I heard it slightly Monday morning around 7am as we were getting ready to head to the airport, but I don't think it would have awoken us.

I would definitely recommend Solmar to anyone because I can see how it could fit anyone's needs regardless of the varying reasons to visit Cabo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from Victorville, California, United States;
Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your holiday and the resort amenities. Effectively our private location allows our guests to enjoy the tranquility and the beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean without being too far from downtown Cabo to enjoy the nightlife. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your upgraded suite and friendly service from our staff. We would be happy to greet you here again and provide you an even better experience. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorne Bay, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 6 weeks at Solmar Beach Club in Feb, and March. The service provided to us was excellent. Patty, the Activities Director at SBC was a great woman, looking to everyone's needs even outside her duties. She is wonderful. Several service providers bear mentioning also. Adrian, waiter at the pool bar, German, the groundskeeper, and Adreas a bellman, all deserve special recognition for taking such good care of us. Thanks so much. Harvey and Brenda McDonald

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Ms. and Mr. McDonald from Thorne Bay, Alaska;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your vacation with us and that during your stay of six weeks the service of our staff has excelled in order to make your vacation enjoyable. I shared your thoughts with the staff; they became happy to know that their efforts are well recognized. We hope to have the honor of your visit again; you can be assured that my staff and I will take the utmost care to make sure you're accommodated in everything you desire. Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had an excellent time/great value...smaller resort/out of the way of most spring breakers...service at snack bar (jose luis, iriberto), at pool (vicente, gonzalo, anahi), and el tejaban restaurant (francisco, jose, raul) was fab, puerto san lucas-the restaurant down the hill is very good-be patient/slower than usual service...if you want loud, fast, lots of restaurants, excitement--this is the wrong place. Nice short walk down the hill to the marina...easy access to water taxis for a trip to medano beach. no problems getting lounge chairs at the pools...the fish and shrimp and (daily) sushi were delightful. Kitchenette is loaded if you're not on the AI plan/to save $. No vendors on nice long beach/surf is strong.

Room Tip: higher the better, closer to the big pool/beach-loud surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear customer from Las Vegas;
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and staff have contributed to make your vacation memorable. Thank you for your comments about the food and sushi I'm sure there were some dishes for tasting. I look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Cabo; it will be a pleasure to host you. Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was a last minute trip so the options were limited due to Spring break time. We chose Solmar because of the location, away from party marina. This is where the positives stop. 
We reserved one bedroom suite with king, which was not available upon our arrival. After two days in a double Q room and multiple complaints, conversations and empty promises, we were in a proper room. It took us 3 days to get the Internet connection, after much frustration and more empty promises. All inclusive is an illusion as you get UPCHARGED for EVERYTHING! You sign a ticket for everything in hopes you will tip them every time.  Water - sign a ticket, coffee - another ticket ... Average meal 5-7 tickets.  Annoying but not nearly as bad as the meal itself.  It is rather unbelievable how TERRIBLE the FOOD is.  The service is RUDE and clueless.  Not one order was correct in 10 days. Speechless! The whole experience at Solmar made me SAD for the people, the food, and the culture of Mexico that we love.  The only saving grace is that "all inclusive" boing gave us the access to the Playa Grande, Solmar's sister resort.  We used their pools, gym, and we're happy to pay for decent food.  Shame! Shame! Shame Solmar!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Barbara H.;
I thank you for sharing your experience with us. I really am sorry not to have had the opportunity to fulfill your request of bedding since your registration to the Resort. We usually do our best to accommodate our customers according to their desires. I am glad to know our front desk manager could move you as soon as we had a suite according to your desire.

I am very ashamed to read we did not met your expectations on food and service at the restaurant; we will certainly work harder and smarter in order to meet our quality standard in benefit of our customers especially since our staff has been characterized by its friendliness and customer service.

Once again I appreciate your comments. I will be honored with your visit once again and have the opportunity to provide you an even better experience.

Respectfully;

Luis A.
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you want to stay in a lovely location that still has the feeling of being in Mexico to it, try the Solmar Resort - the 'old' Solmar as some of us who have been staying there in past years call it! The staff is so friendly and helpful, everything is spotless, food is excellent and the setting can't be beat. You are able to sit on your balcony and watch whales, fish boats, the sunset and the incredible waves. It's a very short walk to the Marina but that slight distance results in a peaceful, quiet setting.Front desk manager Nicte-xa along with her staff are great, willing to do everything they can to make your stay what you want it to be. I have 9 more years left on my Solmar timeshare and I hope to be able to visit this 'old' location, as it is, for each of those years.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Marilyn B. from Vancouver, Canada;
We are grateful for your visit and patronage along all this years. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed the Mexican atmosphere of the Resort, its secluded location and the friendliness of our personnel. Thank you for your comments regarding food, our chef cooks everything a la carte to guarantee freshness and good flavor. Our chef and our front desk manager will be happy to know you recognize the efforts they do to meet the needs of our customers.
It will be an honor to have your visit next season again, you can be sure we will keep the Resort as it is and in the best shape to host and serve you as you deserve.

Sincerely yours.
Luis A.
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a very nice resort. I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for 6 days and it was very relaxing. Lounging by the pool was nice and the waiters were very attentive. The rest of the staff were so kind and friendly. The maid was awesome and always left our room spotless. A kitchenette also made it easy for making meals and storing drinks if we decided not to eat out. All-inclusive deals are available for $60/day.

Whales could also be seen right off the quiet beach right in front of the resort. If you are looking for lots of traffic and plenty of action this is NOT the resort for you. No peddlers where anywhere in sight. Located on the opposite side of Lover's Beach, Sol Mar offered plenty of privacy and a great view of the ocean. Morning walks on the beach were always nice and peaceful.

A little under a 10 min. walk can take you to the Marina and downtown for plenty of dining and mingling with the locals. My friend and I walked to eat and for clubbing with no problem. There is also about a 15-20 min. walk to get to Medano Beach and places like The Office and Mango Deck but a simple water taxi can return you closer to the resort.

Room Tip: Whale watching can be seen from upper leveled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Vacay G. from Ashland, KY;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments, it is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and the secluded location of the resort as well as the kindness of our staff have contributed to that. It will be our pleasure to see you here again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.