We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Secluded Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a very nice resort. I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for 6 days and it was very relaxing. Lounging by the pool was nice and the waiters were very attentive. The rest of the staff were so kind and friendly. The maid was awesome and always left our room spotless. A kitchenette also made it easy for making meals and storing drinks if we decided not to eat out. All-inclusive deals are available for $60/day.

Whales could also be seen right off the quiet beach right in front of the resort. If you are looking for lots of traffic and plenty of action this is NOT the resort for you. No peddlers where anywhere in sight. Located on the opposite side of Lover's Beach, Sol Mar offered plenty of privacy and a great view of the ocean. Morning walks on the beach were always nice and peaceful.

A little under a 10 min. walk can take you to the Marina and downtown for plenty of dining and mingling with the locals. My friend and I walked to eat and for clubbing with no problem. There is also about a 15-20 min. walk to get to Medano Beach and places like The Office and Mango Deck but a simple water taxi can return you closer to the resort.

Room Tip: Whale watching can be seen from upper leveled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Vacay G. from Ashland, KY;
Thank you very much for your kindly comments, it is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your vacations and the secluded location of the resort as well as the kindness of our staff have contributed to that. It will be our pleasure to see you here again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    292
    115
    65
    38
See reviews for
125
410
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were very pleased with the large ocean view suite room -had separate room and separate bathroom so perfect for traveling with adult children.also full kitchen, lots of closet space and 2 separate balconies! the location was handy to be walking distance to town and restaurants, tours etc, also great to use the facilities- Tennis , Fitness gym, Pools at Playa Grande nearby.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly- we loved all our waiters- very cozy small intimate atmosphere- not a huge party packed place so we liked that. However we picked all inclusive and most of the food was really not very good at all. we do not drink much so in hind site we should have not chosen all inclusive. but food and drinks are not cheap down there and can add up quickly for family of 4 adults.
also the beach is beautiful but cannot swim due to dangerous currents- we went to Chileno beach one day and that was very nice but water is much too cold for our tastes....prefer warm waters.
bottom line we had a very nice time together but prefer warm waters of the gulf or caribbean and better food!

Room Tip: we were in building D great views and near pool , restaurant, etc. no elevators so if cant manage s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear customer from Anaheim, California;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort. I am attending your comments regarding the restaurant, it is really important to us meet our standards to ensure our customers the best quality and service. Furthermore we are glad to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of your suite, the service of our staff and the excellent ocean view from your suite, certainly the pacific ocean provide us incredible sunsets and breathtaking landscapes. At this time of year the sea is something cold, warm currents could be enjoyed at summer time. Thank you again for visiting Solmar Resort. It will be our pleasure to have your visit once again and allow us to provide an even better service. Warm greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens,ny
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We will be leaving Solmar tomorrow after spending 2 weeks here. We did not do the all inclusive so I can not comment on that. We love the location and a huge thanks to Nicte-Xade La Torre the front desk manager and Luis Alverez General manager for securing our request for a high floor and a unit that we could stay for 2 weeks and not have to move. We are planning on returning to this resort for 1 week in Jan 2014 and 2 weeks in March 2014. I used the gym at playa Grande for a minimal fee and my husband could stroll downtown very easily from this location. I had a wonderful massage today by Elandra (not sure of the spelling). Christina and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our weeks here next year. Housekeeping did an awesome job also. I think our maid was Theresa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear customer from Athens, NY;
All of us at Solmar are grateful for your visit! It is our pleasure to have complied with your requests. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the Resort and its amenities. Thank you for considering us on your next visit to Cabo, it will be our pleaure to host you again and provide you an even better service at Solmar. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. Warmest regards!! Luis A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This resort is in a great location. It's only a 5mins walk to the marina..staff was very nice, recommend all inclusive....great sushi bar. We bought a timeshare at the Grand Solmar, we just got home tonight and already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Tina from San Francisco, California;
Congratulations on your purchase of the condo at Grand Solmar! Certainly this secluded location by the pacific ocean in Cabo can’t be better to enjoy beautiful spots and tranquility without be far away from downtown. Furthermore, we are pleased to read you have enjoyed your all inclusive program and its amenities at Solmar Resort. Please stop by to say hello on your next visit to Cabo. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the solar December 2012, staff were very good, easy walk to the main restaurant, bar areas in the marina. Very safe in Cabo. If you don't have all inclusive it is a little pricey at the bars aan restaurants at the solmar. You cannot swim in the ocean at this resort, you need to cab, water taxi or hike over some pretty large rock formations

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear customer;
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to know our staff have provided you a very good services and you have found the resort with a great value. Please do not wait too much to come back it will be our pleasure to see you here again. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort is a nice mix of "get away from it all" and "in the heart of the city". We (a couple 30-ish in age) stayed for 5 nights and had an awesome time. We didn't take real advantage of the all inclusive-ness of the resort because we are more the adventurous types. We hiked, rock climbed, snorkeled, swam, para-sailed, beach combed, party cruised, and enjoyed the night life of Cabo all within walking distance (2 miles) of the resort. And at the end of the day, we were able to sleep in a serene, quiet, peaceful, comfortable room.
We did take advantage of breakfast and late lunch daily. The service and food were great. Octavio at the sushi bar made our late lunch every day. He is really a great guy and an excellent sushi chef. I would rate him 6 stars.
We tried the dinner the first night and they must have been having a bad night because service was poor and the food came out cold. It really didn't matter because we planned on hitting the "big city" for dinner at night anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chris R. from San Diego;
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort. I am taking action to ensure the standard of food and service at dinner. We are pleased to know that our sushi chef has walked the extra mile to serve you as you deserve. Certainly our secluded location without be far away from down town allow our customers to mix tranquility and action if they desire. Thank you again for your comments; it will be our pleasure to greet you here again. Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We picked Solmar by reading reviews, and the all-inclusive option.We had a amazing time at Solmar and can not wait to come back. The staff were very nice and could help enough with any needs that we had. we had an amazing view every morning and sunset of the whales. We couldn't recommend this hotel enough. We have been home a week and are already planning a trip back with our family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear customer from Burleson Texas, USA;
Thank you very much for your kind comments! We are pleased to know that the reviews on the net and the all-inclusive program have been very helpful to plan your vacation. Our staff is happy to know that we have contributed to make your holiday a memorable. Please come back soon with your family, it will be our pleasure to host you again. Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#30 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.