We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga on the beach with the pacific waves rolling in. Far out!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yoga on the beach with the pacific waves rolling in. Far out!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Well we were surprised to read that this is an all-inclusive resort. However, we endorse the fact that this is a special place, what with the rocks, the whales, the waves and this year the yoga!!! Never would I have believed that my Wigan born husband would practice yoga almost every day!! Well the fact is: he knows quality when he sees it. He did marry me!!!
Pati, the entertainments leader is a star!!! . I would say that the location, the activities, the quality of the staff and their friendliness together with the friendliness of the guests make this resort unique.

Room Tip: Away from the building of Grand Solmar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Farjen from United Kingdom;
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Solmar Resort. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and of all those things you recognize that make special this little paradise by land's end. I am sharing your comments with Patty so she is happy to know her efforts are well appreciated. It invites us to continually deliver the best experience to you to exceed in full your expectations. Please do not wait too long to come back and allow us to pamper you as you deserve.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    367
    127
    80
    46
See reviews for
177
536
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Solmar is a quiet resort on a large private beach on the Pacific side of Cabo, snugged up to the rocks that lead to the famous Arch. Many people who come here have returned year after year to enjoy the fishing, the quiet and the casual atmosphere that is Solmar.

I want to make special mention of Patty Winkler, the Activities Director at Solmar, who provided invaluable help in rehabilitating my painful hip, through daily water aerobics classes and other activities. Every morning, Patty leads a Yoga session on the beach, which was well-attended by both men and women. Following the Yoga, Patty took on a very enthusiastic group of aqua aerobic students each day at about 11 o'clock. Our particular class plans on returning at the same time next year. We can't wait to work with Patty again!

After the morning exercise, Patty provides creative activities for the whole family, including bracelet making, face painting, temporary tattooing, Spanish lessons, and much more, according to guest requests and preferences. Patty also hosts special evening events at the resort. Thank you, Patty!

The excellent restaurant serves meals and snacks all day and evening. There is also a sushi bar poolside. One night a week there is a Mexican Fiesta, with a buffet of Mexican dishes and some very good entertainment.

Although views from many of the units are blocked by the newer Grand Solmar Resort on the adjacent property, the Solmar Beach Club is located entirely on the sand, with easy open access to beach chairs facing the surf.

A ten minute walk down the hill and around the marina will take you to the town of Cabo San Lucas, where there are numerous restaurants, bars and shops, and where it is safe to walk both day and night. From the marina you can go on a whale watching tour, swim with the dolphins, or charter a boat for fishing. On the far side of the marina, one can rent a jet ski or join in the fun at The Office, a bar right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear customer from Smith Mountain Lake, Va.;
Thank you very much for your kind comments, We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed your holidays at Solmar and Patty has contributed greatly, I'm sharing your comments with her who is happy to know that you have enjoyed the activities with her. Please do not delay in returning to Solmar Resort, we will gladly to greet you here.
Cordially; Luis Alvarez Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My daughter and I took a very short get away trip (4 days) to Solmar and were so disappointed that we booked for such a short time! The resort is beautiful, quiet, clean and absolutely perfect! Its very nice that Solmar is small - only 100 units - but all the services are there - love, love, loved it!! The unit we had was terrific and the staff was incredible!! Jose, Raul, Samuel and all the other people that served us wonderful food (including great shushi) and great drinks were awesome. I have one complaint and that was that someone at the reception office gave us some wrong information when we first checked in - I attribute that to the person possibly being new. The short walk to downtown and the shops were a pleasant surprise!! I will definetly recommend Solmar to anyone looking in Cabos!! And I definetly will be coming back and next time it will be for a longer period of time!!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom deluxe - located on the corner on the third floor - the room had 3 balconys and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms. Linda R. from Phoenix Arizona;
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. I offer you an apology due of the misinformation incident you manifest. By the other side we are pleased to know that your brief stay has been pleasant and has enjoyed the Resort facilities as well as the customer services from our personnel. Nothing would make us happier than to attend to you on your next visit to Cabo. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The all inclusive meals and drinks were fabulous!!! The restaurant manager and the servers were so attentive and great. The food was the most surprising, what a great value for all inclusive!!! Also, having access to Playa Grande was a great thing. Their pool is amazing! Great drinks for all inclusive also, and the sushi, pretty fabulous!!! Couldn't believe it!! Solmar was way better than I thought!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear VerolunaLuis;
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at Solmar. It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your holiday and that the program “all inclusive” worth it. We are glad to know we have covered your service expectations. Please do not wait too much to come back it will be our pleasure to greet you here at Solmar.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent a fabulous week at the Solmar. At check in Carmen Angel, was very efficient and sweet. All of the staff were incredibly friendly, polite and helpful. The unit was a one bedroom suite, poolside with a partial ocean view. It was a lot of room for two people, with a kitchenette and two baths! It was well appointed and very clean.the grounds were beautiful and well kept. One of the better things about Solmar is that it was a small resort with all the amenities minus the crowds. I must give a shout out to Placido Mendoza and Herebierto at the cafe, as well as Patty Winkler - social director, Adrian Ciuccno, Consalvo and all the wonderful wait staff. They made our vacation truly wonderful, and we will certainly recommend the resort to anyone we know heading to Cabo,,,, Michael and Janice Shaughnessy - Boston, Mass

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mr. & Ms. Shaughnessy;
We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Solmar. Its a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your vacations and the amenities from the resort. I am sharing your comments with our personnel and they are very happy to know their efforts are well appreciated, it invites us to continually deliver the best experience to you to exceed in full your expectations. It will be our pleasure to greet you again at Solmar Resort.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had one of the best vacations ever in Cabo at the Solmar resort and Beach Club. I read many reviews of this property before deciding to choose it. We were not disappointed!!!! Our room was great ,Jr Suite, It was very clean and I guess the only negative we could find was there was no TV in the living room but who goes to Cobo to watch TV!!!!!! We had great food and great service thanks to Salvador, Raul and Jose at the restaurant. At the pool we were served by Vicente and Adrian most days and they were great. And what can I say about Jose who was at the Top bar and the pool bar!!!! Needless to say we had a great time!!!!! A special shout out to Annabell for a massage to die for...great hands.The location is great too because you can walk to the Marina and walk on the beach. Loved Cabo!!!

Room Tip: There is construction going on so be aware of that
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear customer from Nashville, Tennessee;

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review from your recent stay at Solmar Resort. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your vacation and our staff has contributed to this. It is gratifying to know that you found our secluded location very useful, certainly because of this you can enjoy the nature without be far away from downtown. Thank you again for your visit it will be an honor to greet you again at Solmar Resort.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
247 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location but with some details. Internet is expensive, should be free. Beds in good conditions, but way to tall, food not great. Service very good though, all very courteous and in all great service. The jacuzzi was not working properly and was not fixed in the five days of my stay.
I think it is better not to have all inclusive, as food is good but not great, and there is a great offer of good restaurants in the area. Two more hotels in the same property but restaurants in the other resorts are not included in all inclusive! There is a servibar with a couple of soft drinks, water and beer, but only for the firt day. I dont understand these in an all inclusive!

Room Tip: Some rooms with ocean view, try to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear customer from Mexico, City;
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We have attended your maintenance report. Regarding the “all inclusive” package certainly it is valid only in our resort and as special promotion we made arrangements to include Puerto San Lucas Restaurant (out side restaurant) on this package by covering a reservation fee. By other side we are glad to know you have enjoyed the hotel location and the service from our personnel. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us as it helps us to convert our weakness into strength.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
Bahia Hotel & Beach Club
#27 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.