We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly prepared food, clean, and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Hoboken, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food, clean, and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are looking for an all inclusive like one of the big chains, this probably isn't for you. The service staff was excellent! They prepare everything fresh and that takes time. We loved the pool, we sat there all day, laughed, ordered drinks, sushi, and food from the restaurant and had a good ole time.

The restaurants and bar close early around 10ish.... so if you are looking for nightlife the center of everything is a quick ride or 10 minute walk. I've stayed in Cabo before and the last time I stayed at Dreams which was about a 20-30 minute van ride away from the action. So basically the location cannot be beat. You are in the heart of Cabo yet it feels like you are so far away from everything. It's a great little cove they are situated on.

Now the annoying part.... the front desk and timeshare lady, noise and tips :-(

I booked a One Bedroom suite and regret it. Everyone else I was with booked a standard room and they all got upgraded anyways. I normally would be very upset but considering I was traveling with a group of friends, I let it go and was happy for them (just felt like a sucker.....with $800.00 less in their pockets). So don't waste your money on upgrades.

After a long plane ride from NYC, I expected to be greeted with perhaps a cocktail and a smile but it was a haggling disaster at the front desk. They charged 60 dollars for WiFi and offered us a "free" drink at their sister resort which ended up costing us $300.00. The "free" drink is a house margarita or tap beer. No thank-you......

They advertise that there are multiple restaurants but there really is only one (and it's very good). You can make reservations at the other "associated" restaurants and they give you a 60% discount. That is not "all-inclusive".

The noise.... oh boy...... I am from NYC so I'm used to it. Anyone else would probably be very upset. Our room shook daily starting around 7:30am (so much for our first childless vacation) and didn't stop throughout the day. I was able to ignore the large red crane and jackhammer but the room shaking... not acceptable.

Being that Solmar recently converted to "all inclusive"... they really need to take time in learning what all-inclusive really is. We spent over $400.00 on tips in 5 days. They make you sign for everything and you always feel obligated to tip.

All in all... if you get a good deal I it's ok to stay here. Lot's of red tape and if you can block all that out and just focus on relaxing and the delcious food and drink... you will be ok.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2221 which was nice and clean however it was noisy. Ask for a room to the right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear customer from Hoboken, NJ

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apology due of the construction conditions you manifest. Our neighbor resort almost finish its jobs. By the other side We are glad to read you have enjoyed the meals and service from the staff as well as the hotel location. Certainly We are privileged to be located in this secluded side of the pacific ocean without being far away from down town area. We would be honored to have your visit once again you can be sure we´ll do our best to provide you an even better experience.
Cordially!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    350
    123
    78
    39
See reviews for
159
507
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rate our stay as excellent. We booked our stay using the Orbitz app on our Ipad which had lower prices that the regular site. We loved the all inclusive package. The food and drink was excellent and the service was fast and friendly. We commend Tomas, the manager at Tejaban, and all of the staff including Julio Ceasar, Daniel, Samuel, Jose, Salvador, and others whose names I don't remember. All were very friendly and helpful. Even though a 10% gratuity is included in the package, we added some additional amounts when we were provided with excellent service, which was most of the time. We really enjoyed the Mexican Fiesta evening where the food and entertainment were outstanding. We stayed in room 2262 in building G and we we very satisfied with the comfort of the bed, the nice TV and the outstanding view from the balcony. We appreciate Zusanna's efforts in taking care of our room and creating the amazing towel art. We spent most of our time in and around the pools and down by the ocean. The 80 degree days made for a very pleasant vacation from our cold Oregon weather. Every morning and evening we would walk along the beach. We also climbed over the rocks to experience divorce and lovers beaches. We did walk down to the marina and over to Medano Beach several times and we were very happy to get back to the peace and quiet of Solmar. We enjoyed a sunset cruise and a fishing trip on the Mucho Loco II where I caught a nice Marlin. We did attend a timeshare presentation which allowed us to tour The Grand Solmar. The presentation took about 3 hours, however, we did not feel pressured to buy. The Grand Solmar is an outstanding luxury resort at over twice the price of the Solmar Beach Club. We prefer the value and experience of the Solmar Beach Club. The periodic construction noise did not bother us. We just moved down by the pools or the ocean and enjoyed the sound of crashing waves. The grounds and pools are very well maintained. In conclusion, our trip to Cabo and stay at the Solmar Resort and Beach Club was very memorable and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Second floor or higher rooms provide an excellent view of the ocean. We enjoyed watching whales and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear customer from Oregon;
We appreciate very much your comments regarding your experience at Solmar Resort. It is gratifying to know you has had a memorable vacation at Solmar. I am sharing your comments with our personnel, it invite us to continually provide the best service experience to you in order to exceed in full your expectations. Please do not wait too much for your next visit and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar.
Cordially; Luis Alvarez Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa, ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived yesterday check in was very sweet and we let the sweet timeshare girl know we would rather buy a home in cabo than timeshare.
The service around pool by Jose has been wonderful. Our room is very clean and the bed is comfortable. We hoped for a better view but for the price it can't be beat. We will continue the review as the trip progresses.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear customer from Napa, Ca. USA;
We thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to host you during your recent vacations. I hope all of us have covered your service expectations. it will be our pleasure to greet you again at Solmar Resort. Cordially; Luis Alvarez resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, Manuel (Manny) was great! We had to take a golf cart to get to our room and he was more than happy to personally take us each time we called.
We were upgraded to the "Ridge" at their neightboring property. I would imagine this is because the hotel is under noisey construction all day long. Cannot beat the price for all-inclusive. I was pleasently surprised. Food was delish.
The upgrade room was amazing. Most of the properties are used as time shares and cater to an older crowd. Majority of pool goers were 50+, 60+.
Very close to the marina, and walking distance to Cabo Wabo. But if you want to stay where the party is happening find a hotel further down the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Greetings from Cabo!

It is a great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your vacations and the service and attention from our personnel. We appreciate very much your comments and hope to have a new opportunity to be part of your memorable vacations.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the quiet private beach area is true solitude vs the very busy beaches on the Cortez side of the rock. Yet still just 10 minute walk to the restaurants and bars.
Staff & cleanlineess excellent. Food was as good as we have had at an all inclusive (although we usually just had breakfast and lunch with so many great choices in town for supper.
only complaint - no curtains on kitchen window letting lots of light in at night.
Usual noise of the partiers returning at 4am when bars close (thats right - we are old and in bed early!)
If you want slow pace and relaxation this resort is for you (probably not for the '20's crowd)

Room Tip: lots of construction noise if you are beside the grand solmar we stayed in block I which was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Greetings from Cabo!
Thank you very much for your comments! We will work with our housekeeper to meet your suggestions. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacation and the amenities from the resort as well as its location which certainly offers privacy on this little piece of paradise by the Pacific without be far away from down town area.

Please do not wait too much for your next visit and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great resort if you want to rest and regenerate from hectic lives we lead. We've been here many times before and love it everytime. The staff is ALWAYS wonderful. The food and drink are really good, most importantly the cervesa is COLD. We did not do the all inclusive as we love to walk into town (10 min) to experience a variety as well as eat in after we've been to the grocery store. This time of year we are able to watch whales off our decks which is so cool while having our morning coffee in the sun. These rooms are very clean and well appointed; they are more of the "old mexico" rather than the extravigant but absolutely comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Ms. Cindy L. from Puyallup, Washington;
Thank you very much for your comments and for considering us once again for your vacation. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed the amenities from the resort and the service provided from the staff has been according to your expectations, you deserve this and more. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the view from your balcony, indeed we are in the whale season and from this slice of paradise you can admire them swimming close to the shore as well as all the breathtaking views the nature offer us every day. Please do not wait too much to come back it will be an honor to host you again.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited from San Diego for 4 nights Mon Jan 14 2013 to fri 18.
Ok lets start with the first night that we were there when we were both spent and in bed sleeping at around 8pm a housekeeping lady knocked on the door, let herself in after we told that we were sleeping. I had to escort her out and went back to bed.(weird)
Next morn we got roped into a timeshare sales nightmare from hell...wasnt worth a minute of my time as we both felt like we were being pressured into something that we could not afford. We told the Reps that fact that we were not able to commit to 80 000 usd time share. at a place we have never even been to before. the guy got pissed and cursed us out in spanish. Thanks alot guy!
the food was horrible one bad meal after another! we eventually just stopped eating there even though it was free. I rate the food 0 out of ten. A child can cook better than this.
The noise from current construction started at 6:30 am daily and ended at dark. We were not informed about the construction before we made the booking.
The WI FI is useless very week signal. broken toilet kept running even after they fixed it..the stopper in the shower didnt work...
Our only savior was a very nice well spoken young man who works as a server at the tejaban restaurant by the name of Jose. thanks for your outstanding service, friendship and professionalism we will miss you Bafana Bafana
Everthing else sucked incld the food at their new hotel Playa Grande where we ate during the beach party.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Gareth C.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments about our Resort. I apologize for the incidents occurred during your stay. As a standard of quality the housekeeper refresh guest's rooms before they go to bed and must to honor privacy when customers desire through the do not disturb cards. I deeply apologize for the way the time share salesman have treated you during the presentation. I am working with his director and strong actions are taken due of this. By the other side you can be sure we'll take in mind the outstanding job José is doing, he is happy to know that his efforts are well appreciated. We hope to have the chance to make it better next time if you would kindly give us a chance.

Cordially

Luis Alvarez
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.