We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Solmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I'll make this short and easy, if you are looking for a quiet place with good service and decent food then this is the place for you. Staff are very knowledgeable of the area and how to get around and where to go. Plus the resort opens on to the beach for easy access. Would I recommend to a friend? Yes :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Jordan from Los Angeles, Ca;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar.
Your invaluable comments are treasured by us. It invites us to continually deliver the ultimate experience and so exceed your expectations in future visits.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    327
    118
    75
    39
See reviews for
145
463
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The staff makes this resort function. David, Gerardo, Juan, Andre's are excellent concierge. Jose in the restaurant is the best. Teresa and Linda are excellent at the front desk. The facilities are not the most up to date, but the staff make this resort worth going too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings from Cabo!

We are glad to read that our staff was the highlight of your stay. It invites us to continually deliver the best expereince to you to exceed in full your expectations.
We would be honored to have your visit once again

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Solmar exceeded all of my expectations! I read several reviews before taking my trip and didn't know quite what to expect given the comments about the high pressure time share people. My experience could not be further from the negative comments about Solmar. After a long and exhausting experience at the car rental place (you DO NOT need a car to stay at Solmar btw), I was just ready to get checked in and start my vacation already.
My experience at check-in was very smooth. We were offered an upgrade to and ended up in a room with three decks; all with breathtaking ocean views. In fact, we saw several whales right from our deck! Our room was very clean! My compliments to Zusanna!!!
I am a bit of a food snob and didn't have high expectations of "all inclusive food", but it was fantastic!!! I highly recommend the tortilla soup! The service was a bit slow, but I did not really go on vacation to be in a big hurry. All of the servers in the restaurant were very personable. I was also impressed with the pool-side staff! I mean, come on...where else can you have someone bring you sushi and beer to the beach while you are watching whales and soaking up the sun in paradise! The private beach is AMAZING! I saw several of the public beaches from a boat while scuba diving and they looked over crowded and not as pretty.
The bottom line...anyone who gives a cranky review of this place is just that...cranky. I was amazed everyday with the hard work and care of all employees at this resort. All members of the staff worked tirelessly to make our experience memorable. I would love to return to Solmar!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Kristin M. from Colorado Springs, Colorado;

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar. I´ve shared your comments with our personnel, they are very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated, over all we are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations, the resort and all the beauty that the nature can offer us from this little piece of paradise. Please do not wait too much for your next visit and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The staff was very helpful. I misplaced my cell phone and they helped me retrieve it on the way to the airport. Gorgeous view of the Pacific. heated pool near my room. rooms are large and well appointed. three balconies! I didn't do the inclusive, but there are lots of restaurants at the bottom of the hill. I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Charlie L. from Spokane, Washington, United States;

We are glad to read you have enjoyed our Resort and its location. Certainly it is amazing all the beauty that the nature can offer us by this side of the Pacific ocean. Please do not wait too much for your next visit and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar.

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got home from the most amazing trip I have ever taken. He spent a lot of time researching where we would stay. We are so happy he chose Solmar Beach Club. We were taken care of in every way by the staff there and feel that we made friends that we hope to keep and make new memories with in the future. Thank you to many including Jose Luis, Patty, Tomas, Margarita and Olivia, Anabel, Miraslava, Oscar and Octavio. We miss you already!
Gina and Sean from Atlanta

Room Tip: Loved our room in building A by the pool and massage cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Gina & Sean;

Greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and our staff had contributed to create good memories. We would be happy to host you again and pamper you as you deserve.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First time in Cabo and my single buddy and I picked the regular Solmar All Inclusive Resort for 10 days. Expedia had a little small text blurb about upgrading to a suite. When we arrived at the Solmar, our suite was waiting. This building is not brand new, but the age shows character and is immaculately maintained. Separate bedroom, 2 patios, kitchen, 2 bathrooms = amazing. I've never been to a hotel that had such great water pressure, unlimited hot water in giant tubs! Comfortable beds, masonry work on the walls like you will never see in new buildings.
There are some time share people staying here, which means they are not all inclusive. Means all your food is plated, not buffet style slop. Food at all times of the day is presented very well, with excellent ingredients and taste. Sushi bar by the pool serves up delicious rolls from noon - 6pm.
2 restaurants, one more pub style only open lunch dinner. Both serve drinks, and the pool bar does the rest, serving to those in the pool and at the restaurant or on the beach. Great drinks, the mango mix was fantastic. Beer on tap, or you can order cans of beer or pop as well which is rare. All the bottled water you need.
Amenities - not alot of planned activity by the pool. It wasn't overly busy when we were there which may have been the reason. We did get into one game of Canada vs. US pool volleyball which was entertaining! Great pool - hot tub, there is also a quieter pool in another location if you want to read a book. Nice beach, only a short walk/hike to a beautiful beach where you can swim. Out front of the hotel there is a decent break - so not many ppl. would risk going in. You can also use the pool at the right next door Grand Solmar its an infinity pool and hot tub and is totally fine. Have to pay for drinks - but they were like 65 pesos for two beers or 5 bucks.
The location is PERFECT. You can walk to town in 10 minutes and be in all the action. Far enough away to avoid it if you want, the beach is amazing and the cliffs nearby you can climb up. Cabs we were giving them 80 pesos and I think they liked that, probably could have got it for less.
The mix of people is also impressive. Some families, some retirees, many young couples or groups and even a few of us singles. Canadians and Americans.
Staff: what I was most impressed with by far... cheers to the front office staff for all their help Teresa and the little cute one with the rolling 'rrrrr' sounding name my buddy Steve liked. Thanks to Christina at the concierge desk for all her help sorting out our banking issues. To the room staff for every day giving us an immaculate room. The bell staff for sorting us cabs and putting up with my attempt to steal their golf cart. To Placido Heriberto and Damian thanks for the great night in town and every day taking care of us. Vincente and Gilberto for serving us a [--] of alcohol and food every day from morning til night and never once complaining. All the staff behind the pool bar for putting up with the loud drunk Canadian boys - THANKS TO ALL.
Final comments - if your a defined 5 star traveler this may not be up to your snooty taste, but for all of you who appreciate a great holiday away, like a good social time, respect a staff team that work their butts off - this is the place for you. Can't wait to go back!!! Rob and Steve

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Rob and Steve from Vancouver, Canada;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar.
We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your holidays. It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed our resort, the quality and taste of the food and beverages as well as the service from our personnel. We appreciate very much your visit and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future.

Warm greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First trip to Cabo. Totally loved the place! And this hotel is located at the very end of secluded beach on the Pacific side. Kinda bad you can't swim there but the pool is nice plus the swimming beaches are just minutes away. I enjoyed having a luxury of this nice private location without crowds of tourists and vendors but at the same time it's not like you're in the middle of nowhere...all the fun is a short walk/ride away! Just walk down to the marina and from there you can get anywhere. A little tip: opt for water taxis instead of cabs, a lot cheaper plus you get to admire the views!=)
Hotel is old! But it's very well kept! Rooms have dated furniture but everything is clean and all the necessary amenities! I was not expecting a fully equipped kitchen! That's a nice addition if you don't get all inclusive. Speaking of all inclusive, food was surprisingly good! They did not have that "all you can eat buffet" type thing going on, it was a-la carte menu and they even have a sushi place=) FYI room service is not included in the all inclusive=(
There a lot of negative comments about the construction next door but that is actually something to take advantage of right now=) while the last tower of the Grand Solmar is being built the prices are super low!=) I'm not sure where all those complaints are coming from, there wasn't a single time that we actually heard any noise from the construction.
There's no exercise facility on site=( but they give you full access to their sister hotel next door to use theirs and everything was fine until last day when all of the sudden the desk clerk at the gym charged us for it...wth?? We had been coming there the whole week and it was free. not sure what happened there. There's also no SPA in Solmar itself, they only have those little "cabanas" with massage tables on the beach. Full service spa in their sister hotel (which you have full access to as well) is awesome!
Overall really gorgeous location! Affordable yet nice place, accessible yet private, great service and food!
p.s.just a little advise to those traveling with kids, i was shocked to find out they have some sort of "adult channel" that is not blocked out so watch out for your kids clicking that remote! ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Elena S. from Copperas Cove, Texas;

Thank you for having shared your experience at Solmar. I offer you an apology due to the incident at the gym, measures has been taken to avoid any inconveniences in the future. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your vacations, our secluded location and all the benefits from the “all inclusive program”. By serving food a la carte we can provide you the best quality, fresh meals and good taste.

We appreciate very much your visit and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.