We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing and fun place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club to your Saves list
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Driscoll, ND 58532
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and fun place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Solmar in CSL, Mexico over Thanksgiving. It was very clean and everyone was so helpful. The food was excellent and the staff at the resaurant were so much fun and so attentive. We attended the Mexican Fiesta on Sunday evening. It was Fantastic - all the beautiful attire and singing and dancing and great food!! The grounds were beautifully kept and out suite was so comfortable. The view from our balcony was so nice with the view of the ocean. We met visitors from all over the United States and many were repeat customers. It was such a fun, relaxing place to stay. We will definately be back. Thanks to everyone that made this vacation so much fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear customer from Driscoll, ND;
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your vacations and the service and attention from our personnel. Thank you for your comments regarding the food and Mexican fiesta, our goal is to help you to create wonderful memories on your vacations. Please do not wait too much to return and allow us to provide you an even better service at Solmar Rersort.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    304
    115
    71
    37
See reviews for
131
427
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited the Solmar Beach Club for the second time and we loved how clean and well cared for the place is. When we checked in it was not as comfortable as last year. There was one girl that was checkng us in and being in Mexico many times we always want to see our room first. Just in case. Well that was a problem for her. So the bell man (great guy) took us up to see the room and it over looked the roofs with a sliver of an ocean view. We like to go this time of year (Dec.) because it is very quiet and not many people at the hotel. We came back to the Front Desk and told her that wasn't going to work. So as we expected we get the " There are no other rooms available and to up grade would be another $280.00. We asked to see the manager, "The manger is off until tomorrow. OK, what is thier name and how do you spell it?" That was what it took and on the phone she was and upgraded us at no charge to a nice room. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth and then you must talk with the Timeshare lady. I wasn't having that so my husband took care of it and said we aren't buying and NO THANK YOU !! The charges started adding up $60.00 for internet for the week it was part of the all-inclusive. They serve your meals to order and the food is great but now they are starting to do more buffett style. We understand the economy is hitting everyone but we didn't expect to pay for the cost of helping with the construction of the Grande Solmar. It is very Grande but we like the authentic small hotels. We understand it will be torn down to make room for more buildings at the Grande Solmar. But not for a while. The service at the restaurant was usually about 45 minutes for your meal. The staff was mostly curtious and Thomas was always on top of things at the restaurant. Loved Vince, smiles for ever and Patty the Activities Director was great, what an asset. We will be moving on, so sad. Thank you again for sharing your beach and staff with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Candy R. from Oregon City, Oregon;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar during your last trip to Cabo.

I met with our front desk manager and took actions regarding her staff. Winter is the busiest season in Cabo nevertheless we would like to have happy customers in Solmar by hosting in the best locations available.

Our goal to implement a Mexican buffet on Sundays with a ballet and live music and a seafood one on Thursdays is to offer more variety of meals to our customers. Besides to those buffets our customers can still order a la carte.

By the other side I am happy to know that the restaurant staff with Tomas have provided you a good customer service.

Once thank you for your feedback. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have been to Cabo before but this was the first time at Solmar. Just what we were looking for! Had a fab suite, service was over the top, and very private. Everyone there was amazing, but have to point out Teresa at the front desk and Gilbert at the poolside bar. They were outstanding in every way!!! Love y'all!!! Thanks for making our trip Great! XO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear customer from Dallas, Texas;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort!
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and the customer services from our personnel, especially from the registration desk and pool service. Thank you again for your visit, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hola! We stayed at the Solmar Nov 30th -Dec 9th. We had a fabulous trip! Before arriving I was in e-mail contact with Luis the resort manager. He was helpful and welcoming in every way. It was finally nice to meet you Luis! We were not asked more than once to attend a time share presentation. I liked that!!!
We had room #2483 and it was perfect! A breath taking view and we could hear the waves crashing at night. I could see the construction next door at The Grand Solmar but it did not take away from our view one bit. We also found that the noise was not as bad as I thought it might be from reading the past reviews. I loved the pool and found our perfect spot to spend our days. Right in front of the jacuzzi facing the ocean. Once again the noise from next door did not disturb us. We were to busy enjoying ourselves and the people around us.I kept asking myself "What is everyone complaining about so much? Really..some people you just can not make happy ..no mater what!" We had the all inclusive, which was my first time doing that. I loved it! Everything was made to order. Everything we had was great! The sushi is up there with with some of the best I have had. I can't say anything bad about the food. It was all wonderful. Pizza, Mexican, American. We had 2 dinners at the resort. One was fish that my husband caught and the other was our last night. We had breakfast and pool food mostly. My husband caught Dorado's and the restaurant cooked them 3 different ways for us. It was de-lish! Thank You Tomas for arranging that and setting up a beautiful table for us overlooking the ocean! We really enjoyed the staff and they welcomed us smiling everyday. It seemed as if they were enjoying our company as much as we were theirs. I miss their smiling faces! Tomas you were wonderful. Can't say enough about you! Thanks to the pool guys Vincente and Gilbert! You were so much fun!! What a smile Gilbert has! Gonzo behind the bar did a great job. Salvador took care of us at every breakfast! All I can say is that we had wonderful service, a great room and a fabulous vacation. Thank You everyone at the Solmar. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: High floor facing the pools and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your suite, the ocean view and the customer service from our personnel, you deserve this and more!

You are right, the pacific ocean offer us a beautiful spots and good fishing opportunities, we are glad to know your husband has had a good fishing.

Once again thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your holidays. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
576 reviews 576 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
927 helpful votes 927 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room itself was decent. We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground level which was great for my elderly mother.

The bad news is that when you have a darn construction zone going 5 feet from your window it makes for reading a book on the balcony or taking a nap impossible.

They should have taken this room out of service during construction but during high season they will sell any darn room to get money.

I have been to SolMar before and will come back but this was not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Been going to Solmar for a long time but with the Grand Solmar pushing out the old you can see the neglect. Our air conditioning never got cold enough to shutoff and was very loud. We used to go to Solmar for the peace and quiet, nothing but the 40 & 50 set laying around the pools. But this time the pools had screaming & yelling kids in them all day.
Maybe Solmar can make one of the pools adult only. If you wanted quiet you'd have to drag a chair down by the ocean. I also agree with Liu- Johnston the bar drinks were not that good and had very little alcohol in them for what you were paying for them that's a crime. So for us it looks like Solmar has ran it's course and we will be looking for somewhere else to go on our next vacation.
The only thing we will miss is our buddy Ruben Figueroa the security guard at the gate. Ruben
is a delightful gentlemen always with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer from Cleveland, Ohio;

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Solmar Resort.

Thank you for your maintenance report we took immediate action to fix it. I am working with our food and beverage manager to accomplish with the beverage standards. Regarding swimming pools you probably remember the upper level pool is the one selected for adults and the lower one for families since this one has a wading pool for kids.

We appreciate your comments. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not sure what all the compaining is about? We booked through Sky Auction, we are not owners. We had stayed in the orginal Solmar about 13 years ago. The "Beach Club" was relativly new then. The rooms are dated, but could not be cleaner, housekeeping does an awesome job and are very friendlyl We avoided the time share trap and didnt feel too hassled. We chose to do some grocery shopping and had breakfast and lunch in the room and ate dinner in town so i cannot comment on the food available at the hotel. The pool wait staff was friendly and attentive (maybe a bit slow). We had no trouble with noise, there was some sawing and banging going on, but not at all bothersome. I had no expectations, so i was pleasantly suprised with our stay. No sewer odor issues either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Ms. Beags;

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Solmar.

Certainly our housekeeper and her team works hard to keep the units in good shape. I am glad to read that your housekeeper made a good job and your suite was well clean during your stay. Glad to know you have not fallen in the time share sales traps and you have enjoyed your vacation.

Thank you again for your visit we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and provide you an even better service at Solmar Resort.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a warm, welcoming hotel in Cabo San Lucas with a spectacular view, central location and attentive service? Look no further than The Solmar All Inclusive Resort and Beach Club. This cozy Mexican property is nestled on the exclusive Playa Solmar at the southernmost tip of the Baja peninsula where the Pacific Ocean meets the Sea of Cortez. Featuring one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California, The Solmar is just steps from the shopping, dining, and nightlife of downtown Cabo San Lucas and the bustling Cabo Marina.On top of all the sun and fun, The Solmar Resort is All Inclusive. You can enjoy a la carte meals, drinks and snacks at all the resort restaurants, plus theme nights, social activities and much more. There are no buffet lines. Just fresh food, delicious dining and plenty of recreation when ever you’re ready. The All Inclusive Plan includes a welcome cocktail in the Trebol Restaurant Bar, a la carte breakfast, lunch and dinner, theme night dinners, a sushi bar, and a wide range of beverages and snacks. But that’s not all. There are social activities, buy one get one free massages, laundry service, the use of fitness facilities, tennis courts and mini-golf at sister resort Playa Grande and even a 10% discount at the nearby Galeon, Romeo & Juliet and Hacienda Coyote restaurants. The Solmar Resort décor mirrors the unique desert-by-the-sea terrain characteristic of Los Cabos. Stone walls with arched doorways, tile floors and wood accents create a warm, authentic ambiance. Guests can choose from junior suites, studios and deluxe one-bedrooms. Every room features a patio or balcony overlooking Playa Solmar and the Pacific Ocean. The Sea of Cortez serves as a stunning backdrop at El Trebol sports bar and restaurant. Tejaban, the poolside bar, invites visitors to dine in shorts and swimsuits. And theme dinners are available at Tejaban restaurant. The Solmar is a dream come true for every member of the family. The three-section pool features a large children's area and swim-up cantina, while the adults-only pool provides wave-resistance lap swimming. The list of things to see and do in Los Cabos is almost endless. The concierge can arrange sport fishing, golf, sunset cruises, snorkeling, whale-watching and much, much more. And remember, when the sun goes down in Cabo, the nightlife heats up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.