We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solmar Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solmar Resort to your Saves list
Solmar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Cabo Getaway
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some good some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We visited the Solmar Beach Club for the second time and we loved how clean and well cared for the place is. When we checked in it was not as comfortable as last year. There was one girl that was checkng us in and being in Mexico many times we always want to see our room first. Just in case. Well that was a problem for her. So the bell man (great guy) took us up to see the room and it over looked the roofs with a sliver of an ocean view. We like to go this time of year (Dec.) because it is very quiet and not many people at the hotel. We came back to the Front Desk and told her that wasn't going to work. So as we expected we get the " There are no other rooms available and to up grade would be another $280.00. We asked to see the manager, "The manger is off until tomorrow. OK, what is thier name and how do you spell it?" That was what it took and on the phone she was and upgraded us at no charge to a nice room. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth and then you must talk with the Timeshare lady. I wasn't having that so my husband took care of it and said we aren't buying and NO THANK YOU !! The charges started adding up $60.00 for internet for the week it was part of the all-inclusive. They serve your meals to order and the food is great but now they are starting to do more buffett style. We understand the economy is hitting everyone but we didn't expect to pay for the cost of helping with the construction of the Grande Solmar. It is very Grande but we like the authentic small hotels. We understand it will be torn down to make room for more buildings at the Grande Solmar. But not for a while. The service at the restaurant was usually about 45 minutes for your meal. The staff was mostly curtious and Thomas was always on top of things at the restaurant. Loved Vince, smiles for ever and Patty the Activities Director was great, what an asset. We will be moving on, so sad. Thank you again for sharing your beach and staff with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Candy R. from Oregon City, Oregon;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar during your last trip to Cabo.

I met with our front desk manager and took actions regarding her staff. Winter is the busiest season in Cabo nevertheless we would like to have happy customers in Solmar by hosting in the best locations available.

Our goal to implement a Mexican buffet on Sundays with a ballet and live music and a seafood one on Thursdays is to offer more variety of meals to our customers. Besides to those buffets our customers can still order a la carte.

By the other side I am happy to know that the restaurant staff with Tomas have provided you a good customer service.

Once thank you for your feedback. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Have been to Cabo before but this was the first time at Solmar. Just what we were looking for! Had a fab suite, service was over the top, and very private. Everyone there was amazing, but have to point out Teresa at the front desk and Gilbert at the poolside bar. They were outstanding in every way!!! Love y'all!!! Thanks for making our trip Great! XO

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear customer from Dallas, Texas;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Solmar Resort!
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your vacations and the customer services from our personnel, especially from the registration desk and pool service. Thank you again for your visit, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the short future!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hola! We stayed at the Solmar Nov 30th -Dec 9th. We had a fabulous trip! Before arriving I was in e-mail contact with Luis the resort manager. He was helpful and welcoming in every way. It was finally nice to meet you Luis! We were not asked more than once to attend a time share presentation. I liked that!!!
We had room #2483 and it was perfect! A breath taking view and we could hear the waves crashing at night. I could see the construction next door at The Grand Solmar but it did not take away from our view one bit. We also found that the noise was not as bad as I thought it might be from reading the past reviews. I loved the pool and found our perfect spot to spend our days. Right in front of the jacuzzi facing the ocean. Once again the noise from next door did not disturb us. We were to busy enjoying ourselves and the people around us.I kept asking myself "What is everyone complaining about so much? Really..some people you just can not make happy ..no mater what!" We had the all inclusive, which was my first time doing that. I loved it! Everything was made to order. Everything we had was great! The sushi is up there with with some of the best I have had. I can't say anything bad about the food. It was all wonderful. Pizza, Mexican, American. We had 2 dinners at the resort. One was fish that my husband caught and the other was our last night. We had breakfast and pool food mostly. My husband caught Dorado's and the restaurant cooked them 3 different ways for us. It was de-lish! Thank You Tomas for arranging that and setting up a beautiful table for us overlooking the ocean! We really enjoyed the staff and they welcomed us smiling everyday. It seemed as if they were enjoying our company as much as we were theirs. I miss their smiling faces! Tomas you were wonderful. Can't say enough about you! Thanks to the pool guys Vincente and Gilbert! You were so much fun!! What a smile Gilbert has! Gonzo behind the bar did a great job. Salvador took care of us at every breakfast! All I can say is that we had wonderful service, a great room and a fabulous vacation. Thank You everyone at the Solmar. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: High floor facing the pools and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoveCaboxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Greetings from Cabo!!

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience at Solmar Resort.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your suite, the ocean view and the customer service from our personnel, you deserve this and more!

You are right, the pacific ocean offer us a beautiful spots and good fishing opportunities, we are glad to know your husband has had a good fishing.

Once again thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your holidays. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
720 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 988 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The room itself was decent. We had a 1 bedroom unit on the ground level which was great for my elderly mother.

The bad news is that when you have a darn construction zone going 5 feet from your window it makes for reading a book on the balcony or taking a nap impossible.

They should have taken this room out of service during construction but during high season they will sell any darn room to get money.

I have been to SolMar before and will come back but this was not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Been going to Solmar for a long time but with the Grand Solmar pushing out the old you can see the neglect. Our air conditioning never got cold enough to shutoff and was very loud. We used to go to Solmar for the peace and quiet, nothing but the 40 & 50 set laying around the pools. But this time the pools had screaming & yelling kids in them all day.
Maybe Solmar can make one of the pools adult only. If you wanted quiet you'd have to drag a chair down by the ocean. I also agree with Liu- Johnston the bar drinks were not that good and had very little alcohol in them for what you were paying for them that's a crime. So for us it looks like Solmar has ran it's course and we will be looking for somewhere else to go on our next vacation.
The only thing we will miss is our buddy Ruben Figueroa the security guard at the gate. Ruben
is a delightful gentlemen always with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer from Cleveland, Ohio;

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Solmar Resort.

Thank you for your maintenance report we took immediate action to fix it. I am working with our food and beverage manager to accomplish with the beverage standards. Regarding swimming pools you probably remember the upper level pool is the one selected for adults and the lower one for families since this one has a wading pool for kids.

We appreciate your comments. We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at Solmar Resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Not sure what all the compaining is about? We booked through Sky Auction, we are not owners. We had stayed in the orginal Solmar about 13 years ago. The "Beach Club" was relativly new then. The rooms are dated, but could not be cleaner, housekeeping does an awesome job and are very friendlyl We avoided the time share trap and didnt feel too hassled. We chose to do some grocery shopping and had breakfast and lunch in the room and ate dinner in town so i cannot comment on the food available at the hotel. The pool wait staff was friendly and attentive (maybe a bit slow). We had no trouble with noise, there was some sawing and banging going on, but not at all bothersome. I had no expectations, so i was pleasantly suprised with our stay. No sewer odor issues either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBeags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luis a, General Manager at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Ms. Beags;

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Solmar.

Certainly our housekeeper and her team works hard to keep the units in good shape. I am glad to read that your housekeeper made a good job and your suite was well clean during your stay. Glad to know you have not fallen in the time share sales traps and you have enjoyed your vacation.

Thank you again for your visit we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and provide you an even better service at Solmar Resort.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is not a nice thing to slag a business, people make their livings at places like this. Because of this I would say that the front desk and house keeping staff are all very nice and courteous but I cannot say the same for the time sales reps. The facilities are very lacking as the toilet stink woke me up in the middle of the night and they charge $2 U.S. for every minute of local calls within Cabos. ! Also very inconvenient is the fact that you have to pay someone to take you to Medano beach or to one of the beaches around Lover's Beach if you want to swim or snorkle.. If swimming or snorkeliing is what you want then this resort is NOT the place you want to be. They would also not accommodate an extra nights stay fr us after we are booked for a week with 3 rooms. We had to book else where to spend the last night as the airlines did not comply with Solmar's rule of weekly bookings. Or Maybe they just treat people with time share worse as they would not be likely be able to coerce them into buying into this less than mediocre facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderfulholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MembersSOL, The Management at Solmar Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear “wonderfulholidays”:

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Talking about your time share experience, first of all we’d like to apologize if you felt uncomfortable with their invitation.
We are working with our marketing staff in order to improve their approach to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#31 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 5,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solmar Resort

Address: Av. Solmar #1 | Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Solmar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate Oceanfront Resort is blessed by one of the most enchanting and romantic locations in Baja California. Granite cliffs hide the property from the outside world, yet the sights and sounds of Cabo San Lucas are but a 10 minute stroll away. You can spread your towel on the white sands of Solmar beach and soak up the sun in private comfort, grab a snorkel, a fishing pole or chose from a long list of other activities the Pacific Ocean has to offer, or shop, dine, then dance the night away at one of the many hotspots in Cabo San Lucas. Solmar Resort truly offers the best of both of worlds - unmatched privacy in an extraordinary natural setting. In every sense, it is the most Cabo Resort in Cabo San Lucas. Like all properties in the Solmar Hotel & Resort collection, the Solmar Resort is exclusively suites with kitchen facilities, private balconies, marble floors, granite countertops and fine linens. Solmar Resort offers the option of Bed & Breakfast plan and all inclusive package as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Solmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Solmar All Inclusive Resort And Beach Club
Solmar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Solmar Hotel
Solmar Cabo San Lucas
Solmar Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing