We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
22 Boulevard de la Marina | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 143 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Brilliant bar with very good deals on drinks and food. The barman was very friendly and we went back several times to enjoy the hospitality and free wifi

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
KiwisAbr0ad from New Zealand:

Thank you for writing a wonderful review, with great recommendations, about Happy Ending Cantina. I really appreciate you rated your review with "5-Stars" and named it "Great Place for a Drink."

Thanks for describing Happy Ending as a "brilliant bar," with "very good deals on drinks and food" and with a "very friendly" bartender. I'm very pleased you enjoyed Happy Ending's hospitality and our free high-speed WiFi. We allow anyone, customer or non-customer alike, to use our free WiFi, make long distance phone calls and use our spotlessly clean restrooms.

You live in beautiful and historic New Zealand. Because of its remoteness, New Zealand was one of the last lands to be settled by humans. Between 1250 and 1300, Polynesians settled New Zealand and developed a distinctive Māori culture. In 1642, Dutch explorer Abel Tasman sighted New Zealand and called it "Staten Landt," supposing it was connected to a landmass of the same name at the southern tip of South America. In 1645, Dutch cartographers renamed the land "Nova Zeelandia" after the Dutch province of "Zeeland." British explorer James Cook subsequently anglicized the name to "New Zealand."

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    193
    55
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great bar and burrito!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This bar is an oasis from the busy streets. It is clean and attractive. The staff are friendly and provide excellent service. El Fehe is the best $8 USD burrito in Cabo. Made fresh daily with either streak or pollo it is a true value. That coupled with a very cold beer makes for a great mid day recharge. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Fred G from Gilroy, California:

Thank you for naming your review "Great Bar and Burrito" and for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you made.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your 'El Jefe Super Burrito" and described it as "a true value." The "El Jefe" is made with specially prepared machaca beef and is filled with the best ingredients found on Mother Earth They're 8 inches long by 8 inches around and easily feed 2 people. Hundreds of customers have told me that the "El Jefe" is the most delicious burrito they've ever eaten.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as being an "oasis", "clean and attractive," with a "friendly staff" that provides "excellent service."

You described our beer as "very cold." We don't serve our beer until it's been cooled down to minus 3.5 degrees centigrade. Our beer is so cold that is will probably be the coldest beer you'll ever drink!

You live in historic and beautiful Gilroy, the southernmost city in Santa Clara County. In 1776, Spanish explorers led by Juan Bautista de Anza first passed through the Santa Clara Valley area. In 1797, Mission San Juan Bautista was established near the Pajaro River. In 1809, Ygnacio Ortega was granted the 13,066-acre Spanish land concession named "Rancho San Ysidro" at the foot of Pacheco Pass. In 1814, an "ordinary seaman" named John Gilroy either jumped ship or was left ashore to recover from scurvy in Monterey. Gilroy was a Scotsman who had changed his name from John Cameron when he went to sea to avoid recognition. Gilroy spent the next few years moving around among the missions, pueblos and ranchos, plying his trade as a cooper (barrel maker). Gilroy was one of only two English-speakers residents in Alta California. Eventually, he found his way to Rancho San Ysidro, converted to Roman Catholicism and became the first naturalized English-speaking settler in Alta California. In 1821, the same year Mexico won its independence from Spain, Gilroy married a daughter of his employer, ranchero Ygnacio Ortega. Upon Ygnacio's death in 1833, the rancho was divided among his three children - including Gilroy's wife Maria Clara. In 1867, under U.S. property law, the Rancho San Ysidro was patented to John Gilroy. Gilroy is well known for its garlic crop and for the annual "Gilroy Garlic Festival."

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stopped by the Happy Ending Cantina for a few beer and a margarita on a hot weekday afternoon. We knew the service was going to be singular before we even got to the bar! As we tried to cross the busy road, one of the servers ran out and halted traffic for us! Now that's service!

Great atmosphere, welcoming staff, and lots to look at while you enjoy a cold beer. We had the place mostly to ourselves, since it was the afternoon, but the vibe was still warm and fun. Beer was cold, bathrooms were spotless, and the staff was a hoot!

We would go back for sure!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Tara_Pancake from Victoria, British Columbia, Canada:

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review about Happy Ending Cantina and for giving it a "5-Star' rating. I enjoyed reading the name you gave your review, "Great Fun!"

I'm very pleased that you chose to spend a hot afternoon at Happy Ending enjoying a few beers and a margarita. All our margaritas are made with El Jimador, an expensive "top-shelf" tequila and are always priced at only $5 each.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending has having a "great atmosphere," a "welcoming staff," with "cold beer" and
"spotless bathrooms."

The entire Happy Ending crew and I are eager to spend more time with you the next time you visit. We all hope you can make it soon.

You're very fortunate to live in Victoria, one of the most beautiful and historic areas of North America. In 1843, the British began a settlement in Victoria which they named after Queen Victoria of the United Kingdom and, at the time, British North America. Victoria is one of the oldest cities in the Pacific Northwest. The city has retained a large number of its historic buildings, in particular its two most famous landmarks, the British Columbia Parliament Buildings, finished in 1897 and the current home of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, and the Empress Hotel which opened in 1908. Victoria's Chinatown is the second oldest in North America after San Francisco's. Victoria is now known as the "City of Gardens." Victoria is a popular tourist destination and has a thriving technology sector that has risen to be its largest revenue-generating private industry.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all you hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Times, Great service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Played some beer pong, I believe this is home of the IBPL ( International Beer Pong League ). I enjoyed a great chicken quesadilla, and bought quite a few T-Shirts and gifts from a wonderful young lady Griselda, she took her time and helped me find exactly what I needed. Many thanks to her and the rest of the staff. Don't forget the drink special 2x beers 2 tequila shots 5$ OMG.

Glenn Adams

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Type2Surf:

Thank you for writing another wonderful '5-Star" rated review about Happy Ending Cantina. You are one of our best repeat customers who has become an Official Member of our Happy Ending Family. Thank you for naming your review "Awesome Times, Great Service with a Smile."

Griselda asked me to thank you for posting a photo of you and her taken at Happy Ending and for all the nice things you wrote about her. Griselda is one of our best and most popular merchandise sales girls. She's only 21 years of age but already owns her own clothing boutique near Guadalajara.

Happy Ending Cantina is the Official Headquarters of the Baja Division of the Mexican Beer Pong League. We host official tournaments each Spring Break. We have a minimum of 12 Beer Pong tables set up and available for play at all times. Each table is custom make and is regulation size.

Thanks for describing Happy Ending's chicken quesadillas as "great" and our 2x beers - 2 tequila shorts for $5 as "OMG." Our "Promo" consists of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico and Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth tequila for the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....for ALL 4 drinks! It's the best deal in the history of Cabo San Lucas!

Best wishes for lots of "Awesome" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“HAPPY ENDINGS CANTINA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you are in Cabo looking for the best bar and you are seated in Happy Endings Cantina, you can stop looking. You are in the best bar in Cabo!!! 6 of us travel to Cabo every winter and after checking in at the resort we head for Happy Endings. We have gone there at least 6 or seven years and the price for beer has never changed!!! ""EL JEFE" and the whole staff are great people to spend time with. JUST A GREAT GREAT PLACE TO BE WHEN IT'S COLD IN THE U.S.A. Our group will be back next winter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
DougHeathman from Ames, Iowa:

Thank you very much for writing your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina, for rating it will "5-Stars," and for naming it simply "HAPPY ENDING CANTINA."

You wrote such wonderful comments and made such great recommendations that your review is one of the nicest we've received. Muchas gracias amigo!

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "the best bar in Cabo!!!!" with a staff that "are great people to spend time with." There can be only ONE BEST and I'm very happy that you always have so much fun at Happy Ending that you feel it's "the best."

You're correct when you wrote that the price of our beers have not changed since we opened almost 6 years ago. The REGULAR PRICE of 2 ice cold bottles (always served at minus 3.5 degrees centigrade) of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our delicious, super-smooth pure agave tequila is still only $5....for ALL 4 drinks....the same as 5 years ago, yesterday, today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next year, 365 and 24/7. We ONLY sell the world's most popular brands of Mexican beers and we NEVER sell the cheap crappy tasting brands. Caveat Emptor!

The entire crew and I are eager to spend more time with you next winter when you escape the cold and return to warm Cabo San Lucas and the "hot" nights partying at Happy Ending Cantina.

You live in Ames, a beautiful city rich in historical significance. In 1864, Ames was founded as a station stop on the Cedar Rapids and Missouri Railroad. Ames was named after 19th century U.S. Congressman Oakes Ames of Massachusetts, who was influential in the building of the transcontinental railroad. Ames was originally founded by local residents Cynthia Olive Duff and railroad man John Insley Blair near a location that they deemed favorable for a railroad crossing over the Skunk River. Ames is now the home of Iowa State University of Science and Technology, a public research institution with leading Agriculture, Design, Engineering, and Veterinary Medicine colleges. ISU is the birthplace of the Atanasoff–Berry Computer, the world's first electronic digital computer. Ames hosts one of two national sites for the United States Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service which comprises the National Veterinary Services Laboratories and the Center for Veterinary Biologics. Ames is also the home of the USDA's Agricultural Research Service's National Animal Disease Center, the largest federal animal disease center in the U.S., conducting research aimed at solving animal health and food safety problems faced by livestock producers and the public. In 2010, Ames was ranked ninth on CNNMoney.com's "Best Places to Live" list.

Best wishes for lots of only "The Best" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Ending Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.