We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Party Spot!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
22 Boulevard de la Marina | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 143 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Party Spot!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stopped in for a couple cocktails one afternoon and we're greeted by smiling faces everywhere!!
Our bartender Pedro was "Johnny on the Spot" for the hour or so we spent there!!
Met and spoke with the owner Gene who promptly bought us "Happy Endings" shots when he found out it was our anniversary.
Great place, people, and atmosphere if you want to feel at home while away...NOT TO BE MISSED!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
isakson480 from Mesa, Arizona:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Senior Reviewer." Your opinions are very important to everyone who uses Trip Advisor. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about Happy Ending and for naming it “Awesome Party Spot!!”

Pedro, one of our most popular day shift bartenders asked me to personally thank you for the nice comments you wrote about him. Pedro's customers frequently tell me he's one of the best bartenders in Cabo....and I agree! It was my honor to meet you and your spouse and to treat each of you to a "Happy Ending Shot" for your anniversary. I hope you can spend many more future anniversaries with us at Happy Ending.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as a "great place," with "great people" a "great atmosphere" and a place "not to be missed!!"

You live in beautiful and historic Mesa, the 38th most populous city in the entire United States. The history of Mesa dates back at least 2,000 years to the arrival of the Hohokam people. The Hohokam, whose name means "The Departed Ones," built the original canal system in the area. The canals were the largest and most sophisticated in the prehistoric New World. Some were up to 90 feet wide and 10 feet deep at their head gates, extending as far as 16 miles across the desert. By A.D 1100, water could be delivered to an area over 110,000 acres which transformed the Sonoran Desert into an agricultural oasis. By A.D. 1450, the Hohokam had constructed hundreds of miles of canals many of which are still in use today. In 1877, Mormon pioneer Daniel Webster Jones led an expedition from St. George, Utah to found a Mormon settlement in Arizona. Jones and others arrived at an area within the northern edge of present day Mesa. Their settlement was initially known as "Jonesville," then "Fort Utah." In 1883, at the suggestion of Brigham Young, Jr., the name was changed to "Lehi." At the same time, another group dubbed the "First Mesa Company" arrived from Utah and Idaho. They moved to the top of a "mesa" next to Lehi and named their settlement "Mesa." "Mesa" is a Spanish word that means "table." "Mesa" has become an American English term for "tableland," an elevated area of land with a flat top and sides that are usually steep cliffs. It takes its name from its characteristic table-top shape. The "First Mesa Company" dug irrigation canals, some of which were over the original Hohokam canals, and by 1878, water was flowing through them. In 1878, "Mesa City" was registered as a 1-square-mile townsite. The first school was built in 1879. In 1883, Mesa City was incorporated with a population of 300 people. In 1889, the Post Office Department officially recognized the name "Mesa City." With the opening of Falcon Field and Williams Field in the early 1940s, more military personnel began to move into the Mesa area. With the advent of air conditioning and the rise of tourism, population growth exploded in Mesa as well as the rest of the Phoenix area.

Best wishes for lots of "Awesome" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    193
    55
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is the best value in Cabo!! We came under advice from Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did. We were greeted with the nicest server named Moses. He offered us the two beers(very cold) and the 2 tequila shot special for $5.00. As great as that deal is, they also make the best Margaritas that are also priced quite low. We traveled with my dad who is in his 70's to our 6 year old and they were so nice to both. They offered our little guy several coloring books and crayons. We had such a fun time eating, drinking and visiting with Moses, we returned a second time to try more menu items and more drinks. This place is must go for the value and quality........

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
spokane2010 from Spokane, Washington:

Thank you for naming your review "Friendly and Fun!" and for giving it Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating. It was a pleasure to read ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

I'm so pleased that you described Happy Ending as having "the best value in Cabo!!" Our everyday, all-the-time REGULAR prices are the lowest in Cabo San Lucas. For example, the REGULAR price for your choice of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth, pure agave, tequila is ALWAYS only $5....for all four drinks....today , tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month, 365 & 24/7....ALWAYS! All our drink prices are ALWAYS the lowest in town.

Moses was truly honored by all the wonderful comments you wrote about him. He asked me to personally thank you for mentioning him by name. He's one of our most popular day shift waiters. Moses was born in Cabo San Lucas and is fluent in both Spanish and English.

Thank you for returning a second time to try different kinds of food and drinks. I sincerely appreciate that you recommended Happy Ending by writing "this place is a must go for the value and quality."

You've fortunate to live in the beautiful and historic city of Spokane. The city is named after the Spokane Native American Tribe. Spokane means "children of the sun" or "sun people." The Spokane Tribe is believed to be either direct descendants of the original hunter-gatherers that settled in the region, or descendants of tribes from the Great Plains. In the early 1800s, the Northwest Fur Company sent two white fur trappers west of the Rocky Mountains to search for fur. The trappers became the first two white men met by the Spokane Tribe, who believed them to be "Sama," or "sacred," The Spokane Tribe set the trappers up in the Colville River valley for the winter. Spokane was originally known as "Spokan Falls." The "e" in Spokane was added in 1883 and "Falls" was dropped in 1891 when the city of "Spokane" was officially incorporated. At that time it only had about 1,000 residents. The city's population ballooned to 19,922 in 1890, and 36,848 in 1900 - after the arrival of the railroads. By 1910, the population hit 104,000. At the onset of the initial 1883 gold rush near Coeur d'Alene, Spokane became the outfitter of choice among prospectors due to Spokane's proximity, lower prices, and convenience of being able to obtain everything "from a horse to a frying pan." Spokane would keep this status for subsequent rushes in the region due to its "trade center" status and its accessibility to railroad infrastructure

Best wishes for lots of "Friendly & Fun" type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went to Happy Ending because of a review we read on tripadvisor. It was awesome, we were eating dinner and having drinks and Gene the owner came over to chat. It's easy to see why this is such a great place, Gene was so nice and didn't have to say a word to us but made us feel like we were in a hometown bar. My best friend and his wife were with us and they feel the same way. What a great time we had. Went back two days later for more great food and drinks, the prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere is unbelievable. Picked up a couple of cool T-shirts and put our dollar up on the pole with the many others. AWESOME PLACE !!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Ronald C from Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania:

I sincerely appreciate that you wrote your very first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina and you gave it a "5-Star" rating. Thank you for naming your review “Great Bar and Restaurant” and for all the really wonderful comments and great recommendations you made.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as "awesome," a "great place," and a place that made you feel like you were in a "hometown bar." Many customers have compared Happy Ending's ambiance to that portrayed in the iconic TV series "Cheers." I also enjoyed reading your other descriptions of Happy Ending such as "great time," "great food and drinks," "very reasonable" prices, an atmosphere that is "unbelievable" and an overall "AWESOME PLACE!!!!"

You live in beautiful, historic and family oriented Cambridge Springs. In 1822, the village of "Cambridge" was first settled and was named after "Cambridge," Massachusetts. In 1866, the village was incorporated as a borough and the name was changed to "Cambridgeboro." In the late 1800s, Cambridgeboro was known for its mineral springs. In 1897, the borough was renamed to "Cambridge Springs." It was then a resort town featuring a variety of hotels. One of these hotels, the Riverside Inn, remains in active use today and has been listed in the National Register of Historic Places since 1978. In 1974, Cambridge Springs adopted a "home rule charter" that took effect in 1976. While the community's official name remains the borough of "Cambridge Springs," it is no longer subject to the Pennsylvania Borough Code.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“IITYWIM WYBMAD?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Happy Ending Cantina has the best margaritas in Cabo !!!
I will be returning the next time I visit Cabo for SURE!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dallas K from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada:

Thank you for writing such a nice, "5-Star" rated review, about Happy Ending Cantina. I trust you bought one of our Happy Ending logo T-shirts with “IITYWIMWYBMAD?” printed on the front and a beautiful pinup silk screened on the back. It will quickly pay for itself!

I sincerely thank you for describing our Margaritas as "the best in Cabo!!!" There can be only one best and I'm very pleased that you found it at Happy Ending.

The entire crew and I are eager to spend more time with you the next time you visit Cabo San Lucas. Please try and find the time and the means to happen soon!

You traveled all the way to Cabo from your beautiful and historic hometown city of Saskatoon, located on the South Saskatchewan River in central Saskatchewan. The name "Saskatoon" comes from the Cree Native Canadian word "sâskwatôn" which referred to the sweet, violet-colored berries that grow in the area and are now called "saskatoon berries." In 1883, settlers arrived on the site of present day Saskatoon and established the first permanent settlement. In 1885, the Northwest Rebellion affected the tiny settlement. Many wounded Canadian soldiers convalesced at the Marr Residence which is today a historic site. A few died and were buried in the Pioneer Cemetery near the present day Exhibition Grounds. In 1906, Saskatoon became a city with a population of 4,500. Its metropolitan area now contains over 260,000 residents.

Best wishes for having lots of “IITYWIMWYBMAD?” type of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun Bar in Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We decided to visit Happy Ending Cantina after another friend had gone during a previous Cabo trip. It didn't disappoint -- we ended up coming back a second time! We especially loved chatting with our two servers, Moises and Johnny. They really made our experience extra fun! The drinks were cold and the service was great! We'll definitely be back when we make our annual trip to Cabo next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Lauren R from Chicago, Illinois:

Thank you for naming your review "Fun Bar in Cabo!" and for rating it with Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating. I sincerely appreciate ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

Many customers have told me that Happy Ending is the most "Fun Bar" they visited in Cabo. ALL our prices are the lowest you'll find in town and are in effect all the time....we never use gimmick pricing schemes where you have to first check your calendar, your watch, or whether you're a man or a woman to decide where to get the best drink deals....because we never use arbitrary pricing schemes such as Happy Hour, 2-for-1 or Ladies' Night....because our REGULAR PRICES are always lower than all the gimmick prices....all the time, today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, 365 & 24/7. For example, the REGULAR PRICE for 2 full-size ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our delicious, super-smooth, pure agave tequila is ALWAYS only $5....for ALL 4 drinks....ALWAYS!

Thank you for returning to Happy Ending a second time during your Cabo vacation. Repeat customers are the life-blood of any successful business!

Servers Moises and Jonathan both asked me to personally thank you for all the nice comments you wrote about them. They are the two most popular Servers on our day shift and both have outstanding customer service skills as well as both being fluent in English and Spanish.

Thank you for describing our drinks as "cold" and the service as "great!" We carefully cool our beer down to minus 3.5 degrees centigrade before it's served. Our beer is SO cold that it will probably be the coldest you'll ever drink!

You're fortunate to live in Chicago, one of the most beautiful, historic and dynamic cities on the planet. In 1688, Frenchman Henri Joutel wrote in his journal that the local Miami-Illinois Native Americans referred to the area as "chicagoua," The correct spelling of the word was actually "shikaakwa," however, Joutel spelled it in French as "chicagoua." "Shikaakwa/chicagoua" was the name the Native Americans used to describe "wild garlic" that grew abundantly in the region's forests. As more English speaking people moved to the area, the spelling and pronunciation of "Chicago" evolved into its present form. In 1833, with a population of only around 200, the "Town" of Chicago was organized. In 1837, the "City" of Chicago was formally incorporated and, for several decades, was the fastest growing city in the world. Among metropolitan areas, Chicago currently has the fourth-largest Gross Domestic Product in the World, just behind Tokyo, New York City, and Los Angeles. It's no wonder that so many Chicago residents absolutely love garlic on many of the things they eat....evolution has worked its magic on their genes!

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Ending Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.