We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
22 Boulevard de la Marina | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 143 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great food, well prepared, great margaritas. Fun bar folks, nice lcoation near the crusie ship piers. Loved our lunch and drinks !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
clayhammer03 from Lafayette, California:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributor" because you've written 12 reviews about establishments in 10 cities. Your opinions are important and very much appreciated. Thank you for giving your review about Happy Ending Cantina Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating and for naming it "Don't Miss This Place" and for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations.

I'm very pleased that you chose Happy Ending as the place to have lunch and drinks during your "port call" to Cabo San Lucas during your cruise ship vacation. Happy Ending is just a short 10 minute, beautiful walk around half of the marina away from the cruise ship terminal. Just keep all the yachts on your right then cross the street the first time you see it. We're right on Marina Boulevard and very easy to find.

I'm very happy you enjoyed our "great, well prepared food" and "great margaritas." We have 5 full time chefs working 2 shifts that prepare the most delicious Cantina-style food in Cabo. Everything they prepare is always served in generous portions and always at very affordable prices.

You live in beautiful, affluent and historic Lafaette. In 1847, Elam Brown, one of the first Yankee settlers in Contra Costa County, bought a 3,329 acre Mexican land grant called Rancho Acalanus, which is now almost all of present day Lafayette. In 1848, Brown built the first of three homes, making it the first community in central Contra Costa County. Benjamin Shreve came to Lafayette after failing to make a fortune in the 1848 California Gold Rush. Shreve built and ran Lafayette's first school. In 1857, Shreve became postmaster of the town and he decided to give it a name. It was previously called "Acalanus," a different spelling of the land grant, but Shreve wanted the town to have an identity of its own. Other informal names the town had been called were "Dog Town," "Brown's Corner," "Brown's Mill," "Acalanus" and "Centerville." He requested the name "Centerville," but it was rejected because there was already another "Centerville" in California . So he used his second choice, "La Fayette," either after the French general who became a hero of the American Revolution, or because his wife was a native of "Lafayette," Indiana. The first La Fayette post office was established at 3535 Plaza Way and Shreve became the town's first permanent postmaster, holding the job for 30 years . In 1932, the spelling of "La Fayette" was changed to today's spelling, "Lafayette." One of the most historic events that occurred in Lafayette was in the early 1860's when the Pony Express rode through town and would stop to get a fresh horse at what is now the intersection of Moraga Road and Mt. Diablo Blvd. Lafayette remained a quiet farming village until the post-World War II building boom when many houses were built. Today, Lafayette is known for its wealthy inhabitants and pastoral rolling hills.

Best wishes for having lots of "Don't Miss" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,594
    232
    64
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great time in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went to Happy Ending not knowing anything about the place. We had a great time and learned it is police and firefighter friendly. I was very excited to get to sign the wall because I am a police officer!! The best part of our night was watching Samuel, the amazing magician!! Great times and we will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Carrie W from Fort Collins, Colorado:

Thank you for writing a "5-Star" rated review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Great Time in Cabo."

As you noted in your review, Happy Ending is a "friendly" place for Police Officers, Firefighters and all Public Safety Officers (PSOs). I'm a retired LAPD Sergeant and my two sons are currently both LAPD cops. We honor all PSOs by encouraging them to sign our walls and affix their department patches, T-shirts and hats to our ceilings. Thank you for signing our wall. We let all our non PSOs personalize a dollar bill which we'll affix to our ceilings.

I'm very happy that you had a "great time" at Happy Ending and enjoyed watching our Master Magician, Samuel. perform his close-up magic. Samuel has been a Magician 25+ years and is the very best Magician I've ever seen perform. He's usually performing at Happy Ending from the early afternoon until the early evening hours.

Thank you for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations. The entire crew and I are eager to spend more time with you the next time you visit Cabo San Lucas. Please try and make it soon!

You're very fortunate to live and work in beautiful and historic Fort Collins. Travelers crossing the country on the Overland Trail often stopped at Camp Collins, established in 1862. The camp was named for Colonel W. O. Collins, a commander of the eleventh Ohio Cavalry at Fort Laramie, Wyoming. The "camp" soon became a "fort" which was built to protect the camp's important trading post from attacks by Native Americans. In 1864 a community grew around the fort and it became a center of trading, shipping, and manufacturing. In 1869, the fort and the surrounding areas were incorporated as the town of "Fort Collins." As farmers settled in the outlying areas, other settlers began moving to the new town, where they opened stores, livery stables, and other businesses. By the 1870s, Fort Collins boasted a post office, a general store, a rooming house, a mill, and its first school house. The 1880s saw the construction of a number of elegant homes and commercial buildings. Beet tops proved to be excellent and abundant food for local sheep, and by the early 1900s the area was being referred to as "Lamb feeding capital of the world." In 1903 the Great Western sugar processing plant was built in the town. In the 1950s, Fort Collins inspired the design of Disneyland's "Main Street, U.S.A.," which is inside the main entrance of the many 'Disneyland'-style parks run by The Walt Disney Company around the world. Harper Goff, who worked with Disney designing the original "Main Street, U.S.A." at Disneyland, showed Disney some photos of Goff's childhood home in Fort Collins. Disney liked the look so much that he incorporated many Fort Collins' features into "Main Street, U.S.A." Fort Collins is also home to Colorado State University. It was named Money magazine's Best Place to Live in the U.S. in 2006, No. 2 in 2008, and No. 6 in 2010. In 2012, Fort Collins was listed among the 10 best places to retire in the U.S. by CBS Money Watch.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, homes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“greatest in cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My favorite place to end any day. Gene and crew always make you feel welcome. Prices are great and atmosphere is homelike.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Steve F from Excelsior, Minnesota:

Thank you for writing such a wonderful and concise review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Greatest In Cabo." I really appreciate you gave your review Trip Advisor's highest "5-Star" rating.

I'm very pleased that Happy Ending is your "favorite place to end any day." Thank you for describing our super-prices as "great" and our atmosphere as "homelike." Many customers have compared Happy Ending's ambiance to that portrayed in the old TV show "Cheers" and others have told me that they feel like they're in a neighborhood bar back home when they visit Happy Ending.

Again, thank you for proclaiming Happy Ending to be the "greatest in Cabo." There can be only one "greatest" and I'm very proud that you feel that Happy Ending is the "one."

Thank you for writing that the crew and I always make you feel welcome. We only hire crew members who enjoy their jobs, are extremely competent, honest and ethical, and have outstanding customer service skills.

It was my honor to spend time with you at Happy Ending. I hope you can soon find the time and means to return to Cabo San Lucas and Happy Ending.

You live in the historic and beautiful City of Excelsior. In 1852, tailor George Bertram traveled from upstate New York in search of prime western land to purchase and develop. He fell in love with the area he would later name "Excelsior." In 1853 Bertram formed the “Excelsior Pioneer Association” and began to construct homes and businesses with builder Robert McGrath. In 1858, the township of Excelsior was organized and named "Excelsior" by Bertram. He chose the name after New York State’s motto, “Excelsior,” which means “Ever Upward.” The name Excelsior suggested the optimistic, striving nature the first settlers from the eastern USA would have as they began their lives in Excelsior. Today, Excelsior works hard to maintain its historical identity while renewing various elements of the downtown area.

Best wishes for having only the "Greatest" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great prices, food & beverages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Fun, great food, friendly staff, great tunes! Over the month, we were there at least 5-6 times! Gene, we really enjoyed visiting with you & learning about the ol' Cabo. You have a great staff! Hopefully, we will return next year!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Shirlee_12 from Detroit Lakes, Minnesota:

Trip Advisor has designated you a "Contributor" because you've written 13 reviews. Your opinions are important and I thank you for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina and for giving your review a "5-Star" rating. I appreciate you enjoyed our low prices and our delicious food and drinks so much that you named your review “Great Prices, Food & Beverages!”

Happy Ending's prices are the best in all of Los Cabos. For example, 2 ice cold bottle of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth pure agave tequila has always had the REGULAR PRICE of only $5....that's ONLY $5 for all 4 "real drinks." And we only sell the world's most popular brands of Mexican beers....never the cheap, crappy brands.

Thanks for describing our food as "great," our staff as "friendly," our music as "great" and Happy Ending as "fun." I'm really happy that you consistently had such a great time at Happy Ending that you visited 5 or 6 times! Repeat customers are the life-blood of any successful business. The entire crew and I are looking forward to seeing you as soon as you can find the free time and the means to return to Cabo San Lucas.

Thank you for your nice comments about me personally. I too really enjoyed visiting with you.

You live in the beautiful and historic city of Detroit Lakes. In 1871, the city of Detroit Lakes was originally named "Detroit" when it was founded by Colonel George Johnston. The city's name originates from the French phrase "le détroit du lac Érié" which means the "Strait of Lake Erie" that linked Lake Huron and Lake Erie, now commonly called the Detroit River. The city grew quickly with the construction of the Northern Pacific Railroad. In 1877, an election finally decided that the name would be changed to "Detroit Lakes" and it would become the county seat. By 1884, Detroit Lakes had many businesses, including the Hotel Minnesota, the Lakes Hotel, a bank, a newspaper, and an opera house. The first county courthouse was built in Detroit Lakes later that year. Detroit Lakes is now a regional summer and winter recreation destination, attracting large amounts of tourists and seasonal residents each year. Its economy is fueled by seasonal population increases, with tourism being the area's chief industry along with agriculture.

Best wishes for lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drinks and staff!! (even for the retro folks!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We found Happy Ending Cantina through TripAdvisor and were not disappointed! We suggested this place to some friends and hoped that the food was as good as the reviews reported.
We were not disappointed!
The food was excellent and even better was the server who recommended some of the best burritos! There were 8 of us and everyone was very pleased with their meal!
Sounds simple enough but there was more to come...the 8 of us are in the age range of 45-52 years...went early, left late and had the best time! We all really enjoyed our visit with Gene, the owner. Thank you Gene for sharing your stories, I wish we had heard more.
After chatting with Gene our group decided that these young kids had nothing on us and our table split into two teams (wives against husbands, of course) and had a couple games of beer pong! What a riot! If you go there it is a must! So much fun! The losers had to drink a shot of Happy Ending's tequila...it was good! So good that we went back the next day and bought a bottle to take home with us. I would highly recommend Happy Ending Cantina not only for the quality prices, food and drink, but just for the hospitality of all the staff! Thank you for a wonderful time Happy Ending Cantina staff!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
anonymous1234647 from Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada:

Thank you very much for writing one of your first two Trip Advisor reviews about Happy Ending Cantina. I really enjoyed reading the name you gave your review, “Excellent Food, Drinks And Staff!! - Even For The Retro Folks!"

You're overall review is one of the nicest we've ever received. I'm so pleased that you described Happy Ending's food as "excellent," that all 8 of your group arrived "early, left late and had the best time," that you enjoyed the high quality of our "food and drinks" and that you had an overall "wonderful time" at Happy Ending Cantina.

I especially enjoyed reading that the age of your group was between 45 and 52 and you all ended up playing "Beer Pong" on one of our 10, professionally built, regulation size, Beer Pong tables. I'm very pleased that you all enjoyed playing "wives against husbands" and "had a riot" doing so.

I'm happy that you loved the REGULAR PRICE of our $1 dollar double shots of tequila so much that you ended up buying a one liter bottle to take home!

It was my honor to meet you and be able to spend so much of your valuable vacation time getting to know you better. Thank you again for ALL your wonderful comments and great recommendations including all the really nice things you wrote about our staff.

You're very fortunate to live on beautiful and historic Vancouver Island. Captain George Vancouver, an English officer of the British Royal Navy, discovered and named the island during the 1791-1795 expedition that he led which began when he was only 34 years of age. The expedition explored and charted North America's northwestern Pacific Coast regions, including the coasts of contemporary Alaska, British Columbia, Washington and Oregon. He also explored the Hawaiian Islands and the southwest coast of Australia. The following locations are just a few he named after himself: the locations of the future cities of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, the City of Vancouver in the State of Washington, and Mount Vancouver on the Yukon/Alaska border and Mount Vancouver, the fourth highest mountain in New Zealand. In 1798. at the young age of only 41, George Vancouver died.

Best wishes for lots of "Excellent" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Ending Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.