We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in Cabo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
22 Boulevard de la Marina | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 143 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A must do in Cabo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

very nice laid back setting with good burgers and burritos as well as excellent value on beer and tequila shots. Very open and fun to go there for any time of day/night. Any comments... ask for Gene the owner who is usually there talking to his guests. Ladies .. this not exactly the type of place the name implies but dont let it stop you fro having fun!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
oldsaltman from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico:

It's always a pleasure to read a review from a someone who lives in Cabo San Lucas. Thank you for naming your review "A Must Do In Cabo!" Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Contributor" because you've written 18 reviews about establishments in 7 cites. Your opinions are very valuable and informative. Thank you for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina.

You and I are both very fortunate to call Cabo San Lucas "home." Cabo is one of the most naturally beautifully and historic places on planet Earth. In 1534, Fortun Jimenez, a Spanish Pilot and Navigator was the first European to first sight parts of the southern Baja Peninsula, which he assumed was an island. In 1535, Spaniard Hernan Cortes, and in 1542, Spaniard Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo, also spotted Cabo San Lucas when they sailed off the coast. In 1602, A Spanish Viceroy ordered Sebastian Vizcaino to lead an exploration of the west coast of what would later become the country of Mexico. Between 1602 and 1603, Vizcaino commanded a fleet of three ships that sailed from Acapulco, in present day Mexico, to Cape Mendocino, in present day, California. Vizcaino and his crew named the places they visited and their mapping skills were remarkable for their precision and accuracy of details. Their maps were used until the late eighteenth century to navigate the west coast of the Baja Peninsula and the west coast of parts of present day California. It was during the 1602-1603 exploratory trip that they mapped and named "Cabo San Lucas," translated into English as the "Cape of Saint Luke."

Thank you for describing Happy Ending Cantina as having a "very nice laid back setting," with "good burgers and burritos," with a "very open" type of construction and a place that is "fun to go anytime of the day or night."

You also described our drink prices as having an "excellent value." Our signature "Promo," consisting of 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our super-smooth tequila is always priced at only $5....$5 is our REGULAR PRICE....and "always" means just that....today, tonight, tomorrow, next week and next month, all the time, 365 and 24/7....ALWAYS!

Lots of people have asked me why I named Happy Ending "Happy Ending." Cabo San Lucas is located at the very tip of the Baja Peninsula, which is longer than the country of Italy. Thus, Cabo is located at the "Happy Ending" of the peninsula. "Happy Ending" is also the type of feeling lots of people get when they finally finish their long flights to Cabo. Others come to Happy Ending to experience a "Happy Ending" to their day. I could go on and on (Disney movies have "Happy Endings," many books have "Happy Endings", many films and songs have "Happy Endings," etc., etc., etc.). I guess there must be another kind of "Happy Ending" I missed because in your review you advised ladies "this is not exactly the type of place the name implies but don't let it stop you from having fun!!"

Best wishes for "Must Do" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    1,387
    180
    51
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were in town three times and always stopped in here. I finally found a drink I liked - they make a homemade lemonade and vodka that was delicious. I wish the hotel could make them like that...but maybe it's a good thing they didn't. There's table service or a little street side taco stand you can bring tacos inside. Good food, perfect for a late night bite. We met the owner and he was very nice. He gave us some of the leftover New Year's party favors when he learned we were a wedding group. They have beer pong tables in the back - we only saw them being used once. Bartenders were nice. Security keeps an eye out for the under-agers. Change in US dollars.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
whitefish from the State of Wisconsin:

You've written a whopping number of reviews, 69 to be exact, about establishments in 30 cities. You're an experienced traveler and you comments are very important, especially since Trip Advisor has designated you to be a Top Contributor. Thank you very much for all your excellent comments and great recommendations and for giving Happy Ending Cantina a "5-Star" rating.

You live in the beautiful State of Wisconsin, known as "America's Dairyland" because it's one of the nation's leading dairy producers and particularly famous for cheese. Manufacturing and tourism are also major contributors to the state's economy. The word "Wisconsin" originates from the name given to the Wisconsin River by one of the Algonquian-speaking American Indian groups living in the region at the time of European contact. In 1673, French explorer Jacques Marquette was the first European to reach the Wisconsin River and called the river "Meskousing" in his journal. This spelling was later corrupted to "Ouisconsin" by other French explorers, and over time this became the French name for both the Wisconsin River and the surrounding lands. English speakers anglicized the spelling to its modern form when they began to arrive in greater numbers during the early 19th century. The current spelling was made official by the legislature of Wisconsin Territory in 1845.

Thank you for naming your review "Good Atmosphere, Great Drinks" and for visiting Happy Ending all three times you visited downtown Cabo San Lucas. You are a loyal repeat customer. Customers like you are the life-blood of any successful business.

I'm pleased you enjoyed our "delicious" homemade lemonade and vodka drink.

We have three full-time chefs who make some of the most delicious Mexican and American food in Cabo. We try to keep everything simple at Happy Ending: We built our new kitchen to open directly onto the sidewalk in front of Happy Ending. This allows customers to order directly from the kitchen and either eat the food on the outside counter, take it to go, or bring it inside Happy Ending. Or, you can simply place your food order from your waiter or bartender and eat it wherever you want inside Happy Ending. I'm happy you described your food as "good" and "perfect for a lite night bite."

Always remember that today is the oldest you've ever been and the youngest you'll ever be....so enjoy every moment of you life.

Best wishes for lots of "Good & Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner and drinks with kids. Doesn't look like a kid friendly place from the street but the staff were great and allowed the kids to join us for dinner around 7pm on Sunday. The place was not too busy but still lively with good music. The food was good, the drinks were cold and the service was excellent. The best part of the night was when they allowed our kids to play soda pong on the beer pong table. They had a great time! The prices can't be beat. Dinner and a few drinks for four adults and four kids was just over $130 with tip. Our least expensive meal during our 12 days in Cabo. Will defiantly go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Stoneykd:

Because you've written 24 reviews about establishments in 12 cities, Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Senior Contributor." Thank you for all your wonderful comments and great recommendations you made about Happy Ending Cantina.

Thank you for naming your review "Fun Place." I'm very happy that you brought all four kids with you to Happy Ending. Kids, 17 and under, are always permitted inside Happy Ending anytime before 11:00 pm. After 11:00 pm only adults 18 and over, with government issued photo ID, are allowed inside.

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as having a "great staff," with "good music," "good food," "cold drinks" and "excellent service."

I'm very pleased that you let the kids play "soda pong" on one of our Beer Pong tables and I'm very happy the kids has a "great time!"

Thanks for writing that our "prices can't be beat." All our drink prices are the absolute lowest in Cabo San Lucas. For example, 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light AND 2 huge double shots of our super-smooth tequila is always only $5.....that's only $5 for all 4 drinks. You wrote that you paid only $130, including TIP, for dinner and drinks for your group of 8 persons and it was the least expensive dinner you ate during your 12 day Cabo vacation.

Best wishes for lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GOOD SPOT FOR A COLD BEER BUT THATS ABOUT IT.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

In town this spot is convenient for a cold beer but with so many good restaurants in Cabo I WOULD NOT eat here .Margs are ok nothing special and people doing shots of cheap tequila at the bar gets tiring..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
gunnerinrye from Rye, New York:

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as being convenient as a "good spot for a cold beer." Thousands of satisfied customers have made Happy Ending a bar that sells more Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico, Pacifico Light, Modelo and Victoria beers than any other establishment in Los Cabos.

Best wishes,

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick stop for late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was walking by and remembered the reviews. New Years day and place was pretty empty around 3:00 pm. Beers were cold and super burritto was very good and I am not much for Mexican food. One super burritto was enough for two of us. They split it in two and put it on two separate plates. Friendly atmosphere, good service and ditto the previous good reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Robert L from Las Vegas, Nevada:

Trip Advisor has designated you to be a "Senior Reviewer" because you've written 9 reviews about businesses in 4 cities. Thank you for giving Happy Ending Cantina a "5-Star" rating and for all the wonderful comments and great recommendations you wrote. Thank you for naming your review "Quick Stop for a Late Lunch."

Your very fortunate to be able to live in Las Vegas, one of the most famous, spectacular and dynamic cities on the planet. "Las Vegas" was named by Antonio Armijo, a Spaniard, who arrived there while the entire southwest part of the USA was still part of Spain. At that time, there were springs that created large green "meadows" in some low-lying areas of the Las Vegas Valley. In Spanish, this is referred to as "Las Vegas" In 1844, U.S. Army Scout John C. Fremont traveled into the Valley of Las Vegas leading a group of scouts from the US Army Corps of Engineers. In 1900, the springs were channeled toward the emerging town to insure it had a source of running water. In 1931, gambling was legalized in Nevada. In 1941, the first large hotels with casinos were built and Las Vegas began its worldwide fame. Las Vegas is sometimes referred to as "Sin City" because of the popularity of legalized gambling, the availability of alcoholic beverages at any time of day or night, and the legality of prostitution in neighboring counties that have less than 400,000 inhabitants.

I'm very happy that you remembered the great Trip Advisor reviews you had read about Happy Ending and stopped in to visit on January 1, 2014. I'm also pleased that you described our "beers were cold" and the Super Burrito was "very good." Acturally, our Super Burritos could very well be the most delicious you'll ever eat..

Thank you for describing Happy Ending as having a "friendly atmosphere" with "good service."

Best wishes for lots of "Quick" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Ending Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.