We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Ending Cantina

Happy Ending Cantina
22 Boulevard de la Marina | Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
+52 624 143 0404
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Happy Ending's 5 full-time chefs prepare generous proportions of delicious food, always at affordable prices, in its completely new kitchen. Our Crispy Tacos, Huge Burritos, Super Nachos, Cheeseburgers, Super "Loaded" Fries, Quesadillas, etc., Have become the most popular in Cabo. The kitchen is located directly on the sidewalk to make it easy for those who simply want to eat at the outside counter or take their food to go. Our bartenders and waiters can also place orders and serve food to our customers inside Happy Ending. Food is served everyday from 10:00 am to at least 3:00 am.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great bar with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had a great time just sitting drinking beer one day. Great Cabo lcation. Service was excellent and the beer was resonable priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
David K from Denver, Colorado:

You live in a beautiful city located in one of the most spectacular areas in the USA. In 1858, the area where Denver was later to be built was founded by General William Larimer. He named the area "Denver City" to curry favor with James W. Denver, the Governor of Kansas Territory. Ironically, Larimer was not aware that Governor Denver had already resigned and no longer had political power when he named the small town Denver City. Denver City was a frontier town, with an economy based on servicing local miners with gambling, saloons, livestock and goods trading. In 1861, the Colorado Territory was created and Denver City was officially incorporated. In 1867, Denver City became the Capital of Colorado Territory. With its new found importance, the residents of Denver City voted to shorten its name to "Denver." In 1876, Colorado became a State of the United States of America. Denver is nicknamed the "Mile-High City" because its official elevation is exactly one mile, or 5,280 feet, above sea level. The 105th meridian west of Greenwich, England passes through Denver's Union Station and is the temporal reference for the "Mountain Time Zone." The Mountain Time Zone is also shared by Cabo San Lucas as is the entire Mexican State of Baja California Sur,

Thank you for writing a very nice and concise review about Happy Ending Cantina and for naming it "Great Bar with Great Location."

I moved to Cabo San Lucas in 1986 and purchased a vacant lot where Happy Ending is now located. Back then the Giggling Marlin was the only restaurant/bar in Cabo - It was built by two young American guys in 1985. Squid Roe was built in the late 1980s followed by Cabo Wabo in 1990. Soon other bars and nightclubs begin opening in Downtown Cabo. As Cabo continued to grow the once vacant lot I owned was right in the middle of all the hot bars and nightclubs. I thought the best use for the lot would be to build a bar because it would be right on the "50 yard line" between Cabo's then most popular bars.

Thus, five years ago I decided to build my first bar/restaurant....and I'm still learning the ropes. I designed and built Happy Ending Cantina from the ground up. We opened on Halloween 2008. The beautiful vintage pinups that adorn our 20+ Happy Ending logos were all originally painted in the 1940s and 1950s. I set the prices for everything we sell at Happy Ending and I personally make sure ALL our drink prices are always the lowest in Cabo. The price we've always charged, since the day we opened, for one ice cold full-size bottle of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico Light has always been only $2. A double shot of our super-smooth tequila has always been only $1. Or, if you prefer to order 2 ice cold bottles of beer AND 2 double shots the price has always been only $5....for ALL 4 drinks! And "always" means just that: Right now, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, all the time, 365 & 24/7.

I'm pleased you had a "great time" at Happy Ending and thought our "service was excellent." Please try to return to Cabo soon, especially if it gets a little too cold in Denver later this winter.

Best wishes for lot and lots of "Great" Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,508
    194
    55
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2 beers and 2 shots for $5 What more can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great staff and a great place to hang on a rainy afternoon. Or any time! We met people from all over while there. The staff keeps you entertained and if you feel like dancing on the bar it's equipped with a stripper pole.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Charles M from the "Lone Star State" of Texas:

You're very fortunate to live in the beautiful and very dynamic State of Texas. Texas is the second most populous and the second largest state in the USA. Texas was nicknamed the "Lone Star State" to signify Texas as a former independent Republic and as a reminder of the state's struggle for independence from Mexico. A "Lone Star" can be found on the Texas state flag and on the Texas state seal. The name "Texas," is based on the "Caddo Native American Nation" word pronounced "tejas" in Spanish which means "friends" or "allies." "Tejas" was used by the Spanish to describe the friendly Caddo people themselves and to describe the region in East Texas where Caddo people settled. In 1716, Antonio Margil de Jesús, was the first person to use the name "Tejas" (pronounced "Texas" in English) in a letter he wrote to the Viceroy of Mexico. The word "Tejas" was not popularly used in daily speech until the end of the 1800s. In present time, most Mexicans who live in Mexico still pronounce "Texas" as "Tejas."

Thank you for naming your review "2 Beers and 2 Shots for $5....What More Can I Say?" The super-low everyday price of our "Promo" needs no further explanation. There is no other bar in Cabo where $5 will buy you 2 ice cold full-size bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico or Pacifico AND 2 double shots of our famous super-smooth tequila. $5 is our REGULAR price that is in effect all day today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month, and next year, 365 and 24/7. It's the best deal in the history of Mankind!

Thank you for ALL the nice comments and great recommendation you wrote about Happy Ending Cantina. We have one 30 foot long bar and one 25 foot long bar. Each bar has its own "Stripper Pole." Our poles are available to anyone who wants to let their hair down and have fun using them. Most people, but not all, enjoy using them strictly as "dancing poles."

Best wishes for lots and lots of Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hector our server was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a really good time here and the food was really good. Drink prices and specials were really nice too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Ally611 from Portland, Oregon:

Portland is a beautiful place to call home. It almost named "Boston" way-back-when. In 1843, William Overton, a Tennessee pioneer, and Asa Lovejoy, a lawyer from Boston, Massachusetts, filed a 640 acres land claim with Oregon's provisional government for the area that would later become "Portland." Two years later, Overton sold his half of the claim to Francis Pettygrove of Portland, Maine. When it came time to name their new town, Pettygrove and Lovejoy both wanted to name it after their home towns. They flipped a coin, Pettygrove won and "Portland" got its name. Imagine if Lovejoy had won....there would now be a major city in Oregon named "Boston!" "Boston, Oregon" just doesn't sound right!

Thank you very much for writing your first Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina. Thank you for ALL your nice comments and recommendations.

Hector sends his "Thank You" for singling him out by using his name in the title of your review, "Hector Our Server Was Fantastic!" Hector is one of the most popular waiters on our night shift. He's very professional, competent and treats his customers like the VIPs they all are. I wish I could clone a few more "Hectors!"

I'm pleased to learn that you "had a really good time" at Happy Ending and thought our "food was really good." Our 3 full-time chefs are the best in Cabo. Virtually every dish they prepare is the most delicious I've ever eaten. They don't make lasagna, caviar or chocolate mousse but the Mexican food and American food they do are absolutely the best! Happy Ending's kitchen is open from 10:00 am until 2:00 am everyday.

We don't run specials....because if we did it would mean our prices would be yo-yo'ing" up and down like every other bar that uses gimmick prices: NO Happy Hours, NO Ladies' Nights and NO Two-for One" gimmicks at Happy Ending. Our REGULAR, everyday, all-the-time, 365 and 24/7 prices are the lowest in Cabo and always lower than the lowest temporary gimmick prices used elsewhere. For example, there are no other bars in Cabo where you will ALWAYS pay only $2 for a single ice cold bottle of Corona, Pacifico, Corona Light of Pacifico Light....365 and 24/7. Likewise for a double shot of our super-smooth tequila....it's ALWAYS priced at only $1. Or pay only $5 for 2 ice cold bottles of beer AND 2 double shots ALL THE TIME. All our cocktail prices are also the lowest in Cabo.

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Fantastic" type of Happy Endings to all your hopes and dreams wherever life's journeys might find you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Joint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We would go back here! A fun atmosphere with fun staff. They let us behind the bar to take pictures. We had a delicious burrito there as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Christie P from Boise, Idaho:

My youngest daughter attended Boise State University during her senior year. She absolutely loved everything about Boise. Boise possesses an independence and creative spirit not found in many other places. With its stunning scenery, abundant natural resources and year-round outdoor activities, Boise consistently lands on national "best places" lists for families, businesses and recreation year after year. Boise has a rich history: The area was called Boise long before the establishment of Fort Boise. The location of the original Fort Boise was near the Oregon border and was built by the Hudson's Bay Company in the 1830s It the 1850s, the fort was abandoned. In 1863, during the Civil War, the U.S. Army to reestablished the fort in present day "Boise" after massacres along the Oregon Trail. The new location was selected because it was near the intersection of the Oregon Trail with a major road connecting the Boise Basin (Idaho City) and the Owyhee (Silver City) mining areas, both of which were booming. During the mid-1860s, Idaho City was the largest city in the Northwest. Fort Boise grew rapidly and it's name was changed to "City of Boise" when it was incorporated in 1863. The original Idaho Territory was larger than Texas. Following the creation of Montana Territory, Boise was made the Territorial Capital of a much reduced Idaho Territory in a controversial decision which overturned a district court ruling by a one-vote majority in the Territorial Supreme Court along geographic lines in 1866.

Thank you for writing your 4th Trip Advisor review about Happy Ending Cantina and thank you for naming your review "Fun Joint!" We do our best to make sure all our customers have a "fun" time every time they visit. You described Happy Ending as having a "fun atmosphere" with a "fun staff." Happy Ending's staff is carefully hand selected and is, without a doubt, the-best-in-the-business! We encourage all our customers to get behind one of our bars to take pictures. I'm pleased that you did.

Thanks for describing the burrito you had as being "delicious." I hope you tried our "El Jefe Super Burrito," the most delicious burrito on the planet. It's 8 inches long by 8 inches around and tastes so good it's hard to stop eating once you start. Happy Ending has several different types of delicious burritos. Each is made with a fresh flour tortilla filled with only the freshest and most delicious ingredients available.

Please hurry back if it gets a little too cold in Beautiful Boise this winter.

Best wishes for lots of "Fun" Happy Endings to all your endeavors wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe," Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Burritos were awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We, as always, had an incredible time at the Happy Ending. The day crew, Pedro, Axel, and Myra, are the best! Then, as we stayed longer, the night crew also were very friendly. I remember Hugo was our server and was all over it. We had a nice surprise with a magician that was roaming around. The drinks are the cheapest in town, the service is the best, and they one-upped themselves again with a magician. Good luck figuring out his card tricks! We already miss the Happy Ending. The only bummer was we didn't get a chance to hang out with Gene, the owner, who was on his own vacation. If you're in Cabo, this is a must stop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyEndingCantina, Owner at Happy Ending Cantina, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
polkjason from San Diego, California:

You're very fortunate to live in such a beautiful and historic city like San Diego. In 1602, Explorer Sebastián Vizcaíno was sent by Spain to map the Baja California Peninsula and parts of Alta California. The incredibly beautiful desert and many dormant volcanoes that make up the land located between Guerrero Negro on the Pacifico Ocean, and Santa Rosalia on the Mar de Cortez, right in the center of the Baja Peninsule, is named after Vizcaino. Vizcaino arrived in the area you call home on his flagship, "San Diego," Vizcaíno surveyed a beautiful natural harbor and other natural wonders and named the area "San Diego" after "Saint Didacus," a Spaniard more commonly known as "San Diego de Alcalá."

Thank you again for writing such a nice review about your visit to Happy Ending last year, and for writing this new review about your most recent visit.

Last year our new kitchen wasn't yet up and running. We finally finished construction last December. We have 3 full-time chefs who prepare the most delicious and affordable Mexican food and American favorites in Cabo San Lucas.

Thanks for naming you review "Burritos Were Awesome." I agree 100%. I hope you tried our "El Jefe Super Burrito." The "El Jefe" is 8 inches long and 8 inches around and is loaded and topped with the most delicious and freshest ingredients imaginable. Most people have the chef cut it in two and serve each half on its own plates. When I have one myself, I wait until I'm really hungry then devour the entire burrito in one sitting. They are just so darn good that it's hard to stop eating one once I begin!.

Myra, Axel, Pedro each personally asked me to thank you for singling them out by name and for all the nice things you wrote about them. They've each been working for Happy Ending since around the time we opened five years ago and have remained three of our most popular crew members. Hugo began working as a waiter at Happy Ending earlier this year. He's one of the best of the best! He too asked me to thank you for naming him in your review.

Thanks for pointing out that our drink prices are still the cheapest in town. You will never be charged some arbitrary and outrageously excessive price for anything you ever purchase at Happy Ending....that includes ALL our drinks, ALL our food choices and ALL our souvenir merchandise. For example, 2 ice cold bottles of Corona, Corona Light, Pacifico & Pacifico Light AND 2 double shots of our delicious super-smooth tequila is ALWAYS priced at only $5....that's 4 full-size drinks for only $5 all the time! No other establishments can come even close to matching our low everyday prices that have been the lowest in Cabo since we opened 5 years ago. I purchased the vacant land where we built Happy Ending 26 years ago. It was "dirt cheap" way back then. Because of this, I don't have to pay rent to anyone and I'm not forced to charge high prices to our customers. We keep it simple: NO B.S. pricing games, NO bait-and-switch, NO Happy Hour, NO Ladies' Night, and NO 2-for-1 "yo-yo" gimmick prices. Our all-the-time super low prices are in effect today, tonight, tomorrow, next week, next month and next year, 365 and 24/7.

Samuel our Magician also asked me to thank you for complimenting him. He's very happy that you enjoying watching him perform his very special "close-up" magic. He's been a professional magician for over 25 years and he's the best I've even seen. He chooses his own schedule but normally performs for customers right at their tables inside Happy Ending daily from the early afternoons until the early evening hours.

I too am sorry I wasn't in Cabo to spend more quality time together like we did last year when you visited. Let's shoot next year!

Thanks for ALL your really wonderful comments and great recommendations such as writing "If you're in Cabo, this is a must stop!" That is really nice of you. Thanks again.

Best wishes for lots and lots of "Awesome" Happy Endings to all your endeavors, hopes an dreams wherever life's journeys might take you.

Gene, "El Jefe." Happy Ending Cantina, Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Ending Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Happy Ending Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Ending Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.