We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maro's Shrimp House

Maro's Shrimp House
Av. Hildago St./N. Across from La Dolce Restuarant, Cabo San Lucas 28262, Mexico
52 624 355 80 60
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maro's is a hidden little gem that you could walk right by and not give a chance to because it is so low key. I'm so glad we read the reviews and gave it a shot! I came with a group of 25, we had called a few hours ahead, so when we walked in, they put a bunch of tables together and totally accomodated us. I wasn't too crazy about their special bulldog drink, but I'm not a big fan of beer-in-liquor- cocktails, and my other friends that had the margaritas loved them. My girlfriend and I shared a seafood platter for 2 which had lobster, white fish, and a ton of shrimp. They were all delicious and there was so much food we couldn't even finish it. I think it was around $58 dollars for the platter and every bite was so tasty we hated not eating all of it. All in all, my whole group had a great time, they all thought the food was great and so well priced that I had to give it 5 stars. We will be back the next time we're in Cabo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,869
    370
    108
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I knew I had to try this place when we came to Cabo and honestly, thought it was just okay! I had such high expectations and maybe that was my problem! We ordered 1 kg of shrimp and some guac and the bulldog of course! Shrimp was good with the side sauces and bulldog was worth getting. The problem we had was they tried overcharging us for our tequila shots and charged us for 1 more margarita that we didn't have! They quoted $5 per shot but charged $9. So, double check your bill. We walked our with a bill for $80 - that's right dollars!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food ~ love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were with some friends that have eaten there before - they told us we would like the shrimp; huge selection to pick from for little price! I looked over the menu and choice the shrimp & lobster combo for under $20.00!! it was delicious and if we had had enough days left on our vacation I would go there every other night!!! it was wonderful. . . clean, food good and fresh & served hot and with a smile. Maro came around talking and hosting, gave us all a dessert afterwards on the house! the chicken fajita isn't too shabby either. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to know where to go for good food. AND newly remodeled clean restrooms.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We eat at Maro's two or three times on each visit to Cabo San Lucas. The food and service are excellent and the atmosphere is light and friendly. When at Maro's you'll find many repeat customers. Maro has also managed to keep the prices very reasonable--he provides an excellent value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Back again because it's a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Well this is our 4/5 time at Mario's and I am always surprised that however busy they are you are seated within a couple of minutes .
We were there on a Thursday Evening and it was great as usual, fantastic atmospher definetly a TA top 3
This place is very reasonable Steak & Lobster for $16 Coke $1.50 Beer $2.50 and there famous $5 Bull Dog which is a must

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maro's Shrimp House also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Maro's Shrimp House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maro's Shrimp House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.