We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with no running water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pedregal to your Saves list
The Resort at Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape to Pedregal Luxury
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
santa monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with no running water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

One would expect that a resort charging $700 a night would have running water. I stayed both in the hotel and the residences. Once in May 2010 and once in September 2010. Both times they just "happened" not to have running water during my stays. Comp'd dinners did not make up for not being able to take a shower. AC during one of my stays also didn't work had to change rooms twice during a 3 nights stay.

Will never stay again. Pool service was poor. Let's just say - its no Pamilla.

Will however recommend El Farllon resturant. View, food and experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    76
    22
    7
    13
See reviews for
141
729
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Rooms: Best feature is the ocean view. It is impressive. The sound of the crashing waves - very dramatic. The balconies have comfortable furniture that offer a full indoor-outdoor living option, and the balcony plunge pool is beautiful (but note that the water is cool; it is a plunge pool, not a hot tub). Bed is extremely comfortable. Not much in the way of living space furniture except for two cushy chairs (no desk or workspace, a definite drawback). The bathroom is nearly as large as the bedroom (always a plus). I am not a huge fan of open showers (personal preference – I like steam), but you can be in the shower, and still see out to the ocean, which is a pretty cool feature. The design elements are tasteful and beautiful – great wood elements, pretty ceramics, plenty of mood lighting options. There is an in-room safe that fits two computers, a stocked fridge (water, soda, fruit juice) and a fireplace. Wi-fi in the room was slow, and it was out a short time on the day we arrived.

Location: Excellent. This is the first time we have stayed in a Cabo resort where we could actually walk to town. The golf carts will transport you back through the tunnel that separates the resort fron town. From there, restaurants are within an easy walking distance.

Fitness: Fitness center is new, with good cardio equipment and a decent amount of weights. There are two separate quiet rooms – one for stretching, etc. And one where you can power up a video class on their “Fitness on Request” system. The intermediate yoga is good. The cardio machines are equipped with TVs. Bottled water is available throughout the day.

Dining: Breakfast at Don Manuel’s – definitely among the best breakfasts we have had anywhere. Three reasons: fresh fruit options (mango, papaya, berries, etc. – the good stuff), pastries and the eggs. Have eggs scrambled up with cheddar cheese. I asked the egg man what his secret ingredient was, and he said “Love!’ And you know, I think he was serious! Do the Mexican kitchen (aka buffet) option – it is the best. It is not really a buffet (I’m not a big fan of buffets) – it feels like some nice Mexican person’s home, and they have put out a feast for you! The fruit pastries here are addictive. Coffee is good and strong. The breakfast staff – fabulous. We had appetizers one night at Don Manuel’s. Also very good. And one night we had planned to eat at El Farallon (VERY dramatic outdoor setting), but it was incredibly hot that night and we weren’t terribly hungry, so we decided not to sweat (or spend) through four courses. There is no option for a “light” meal there.

Staff: There are two things I truly loved about Capella Pedregal. The first is that they don’t nickel and dime you. Once you are in, there are so many nice perks. Have a soda from your fridge, complimentary. Bottled water was provided at turndown service, as well as sweet treats. Guac and chips were delivered to the room, gratis. Tips were included. In the concierge area, coffee and pastries were provided in the morning, and other snacks are available throughout the day. The pool guys brought treats. We truly appreciated all of this. The second thing the resort really does well – the staff. They have assembled a great team, and have a really good culture of service going. The people are extremely kind and authentic, and able to adjust to each guest – whether you like minimal interaction, or are open to some friendly chatting. They get it. I would like to give a few shout-outs to the standout individuals - Carlos, Alex (and I think, Eduardo?) were extremely helpful to my husband, who had to work remotely. Very responsive, and able to go above and beyond to get him what he needed. Marlem at the front desk was a doll. The pool guys were always there before you even realized you needed something – good times with Pony, Omar, smilin’ Joaquin, and Jesus. And our favorites – wish I could name all these guys individually, but they were such team players, they were all good – the breakfast waiters. Sweet, helpful, attentive – they got to know us and our favorites. Thanks for the mangos!!

Some other things to note: Property is on a no-swim beach. Pools are beautiful. Neither the grounds nor the pools are terribly big, which can be a plus. We were there during the low season, so the property felt quiet and private. In-town picks: Karaoke at the Mango – try it. Best in-town restaurant experience – Maria Corona’s. But let’s keep that place a secret.

Overall: Sadly, that may have been our first and last trip to Capella as I notice their prices have quadrupled from the package we visited on. Otherwise, I would turn around and go back right now! The price point will be an interesting challenge for the property going forward – we loved the place, but felt like we got a good value for the money, too. Paying a lot more would erode the experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had the most fabulous 8 days at the Capella... We can not wait to go back for our first anniversary. The staff was so freindly and the rooms were wonderful, the food was Great.. and just waking up in a place like this, was a magical feeling. From beginning to end. We hated to leave...
Thank you Capella Family, you made 2 people very happy...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We've been to the Palmilla twice in the last 5 years and that is by far the most incredible luxury property I've been to in Mexino. This time, we decided to check out the Capella Pedregal due primarily to its proximity to town. We ordered a private car from the property before leaving California and they whisked us away from the crowds and chaos at the airport in an Escalade. They provided us with cool washclothes and drinks for the ride. When we got to the gate at the Capella, I was instanly impressed. We proceeded through the tunnel and I was taken back by the amazing view of the Pacific Ocean once on property. We were taken to our rooms and we headed to the pool for cocktails and snacks. The grounds were immaculate and there are amazing views from the entire property.

We ventured into town two days and nights and spent a few more mellow days poolside. The poolside service was not comparable to that at the Palmilla, but it was far from disappointing.

If visiting this property, you must induldge in dinner at El Farralon. The location is stellar and the fresh seafood was some of the best I have ever eaten. This property is perfect for those who want to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet, but still be close to town,

I think that The Palmilla has some competition here. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have to say that I was truly astonished by how truly beautiful Capella is. From the moment you go through the tunnel, the glourious open lobby, to the grounds of Capella, and on and on. I truly think that every detail has been thought out and it is greatly appreciated by all that visit. As for the food and restaurants at Capella, they were all top notch. BUT El Farron is so new, but seems as if it already needs an upgrade. For a restaurant that serves such amazing food and beautiful views, you think they could have changed the twenty year old lanterns or patio furnture. At the end of the day, this place is a hidden gem.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I am in the travel industry and just got back from a 3 days stay with my husband and a couple of freinds. The hotel is beyond description and pictures do not do it justice.
small and personal but spaciouse and open. best spa experience and best state of the art Gym. Great meals, do not bother to walk to town the food at the hotel is 10 ties better at almost same prices less the mosquitos and humidity, becqause of the hotel's location there is a breeze even on hot days.Who else has a plunge pool in every unit? they are not rooms they are units because they are so large in size and include so much .

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This place will not disappoint. The pictures do not do it justice. Staff was fantastic and friendly. Two downers, no swimming in the ocean as the waves and current are to strong and I subtracted one point from the service column as they wanted to charge us $50.00 a night for an additional cot for the kids. We rented the 4br villa and our party included 6 adults and 6 kids. The villa accommodated us all quite nicely. Don't forget to ask about the private yacht rental.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.