We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Pedregal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Capella Pedregal to your Saves list
Capella Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to stay at the hotel in late January where I attended a business meeting. The facility is exquisite and beautifully maintained. The meeting room was ideal, though we had to draw the drapes so everyone could concentrate on business and not on the gorgeous view and perfect weather! Our hotel room, complete with soaking pool looking out at the ocean, exuded romance. The food was exceptional in each of the restaurants we tried. And the dinner on the beach planned for our company was marvelous. Many of us had massages at the spa and mine was, without question, the best I've ever experienced. But truly the staff are the reason to stay at Hotel Pedregal. They attend to your every whim but without being intrusive. They are always pleasant and courteous. We would happily return to Hotel Pedregal again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Dendlein,
It was a pleasure to see your wonderful posting and comments about Capella Pedregal. It is true; all of our rooms have ocean views including our meeting room! I am so glad that you were able to mix business with pleasure while visiting our resort.

Thank you for your comments about our staff. They are incredibly proud of the resort and are always so pleased to learn when their efforts have been recognized by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

John Volponi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    75
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
130
688
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

OK, first and foremost, we have been to Cabo over 20 times. We have stayed at One and Only Palmilla most of those trips, and Capella the last two (4/1/13 last week). Rather than write a novel, I will keep it straight and simple.
Positives
1. Great location if you basically want to stay around town alot and rarely don't leave nice resorts much. The tunnel and privacy is unmatched.
2. If you golf its 45 minutes to most of the golf courses compared to 5-10 minutes from One and Only.
3. Great stretch of Beach but you cannot get in, which we don't anyway so it does not matter.
4. Adult Pool, childrens pool are excellent
5. Spa is really nice, but not truly a number one in the world or Mexico for that matter.
Rooms are great, housekeeping was great. Concierge was great
6. Great options for multiple bedroom houselike rooms with kitchens
Negatives
1. Service for some reason is for the most part slow and seemingly lost. Meaning they may walk by you three times and never notice your there. They are really nice though once you find them. This goes for the restaurants and pool service,
2. If you golf alot, don't stay down here, the back and forths can make for a long day.
3. Ask questions on the rooms, the higher up you go the more steps you will climb. The elevator is about 4 foot square which is kind of weird.
4. Not so small kid friendly, the balconies and pools on the decks are dangerous (falls) and the kids program is average at best.

The One and Only Palmilla overall is nicer, but again, if most of our activities are around town, I would stay here again. If not, I would stay at the Palmilla.

If the staff and restaurant speed was a little better, I think the Capella Pedegral would no doubt be equal to the Palmilla.

Final rating Palmilla 5 star, Capella 4 star

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Hookdaddy,
Thank you for your visit to Capella Pedregal and for your comments about your recent visit to our hotel.

I appreciate your comments regarding our wonderful location right near the town of Cabo, but beautifully separated from the town by our special tunnel. Thank you as well for your kind recognition of our housekeeping, Personal Assistants, and accommodations.

Our “Tortuguitas Kids Club” offers a variety of activities and events throughout the day for our younger visitors and was recently expanded to a seven day program. Plans are currently in the works to create a small outdoor play area adjacent to the Kids Club to further enhance and expand our activities for children.

I regret that you found the service to be a bit slow. We do try to personalize and time our service to the needs of each guest, attempting to provide timely service without being obtrusive. I do apologize if this overshadowed what otherwise seemed to be a positive experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back once again.

John Volponi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from 4 nights at Capella Pedregal to celebrate my 40th birthday and it was exceptional! Because we are small business owners, it is very hard for us to get away, so we always try to stay at the best resorts as to have perfect experiences with very few irritations--CP fit the bill. I am usually very picky as we run our business with impeccable standards, so we expect the same of other businesses; of everyone I encountered at CP I would hire every single one of them on the spot (with the exception of the person that took our breakfast room service order on the morning of Wednesday, March 27th--it is expected that you should know your own menu, not have the guest have to explain it to you and have the guest try and tell you the choices that come with the order as you are trying to hang up). I will try to break down the review

Location: About a 30-40 minute ride from the airport, but the views are so breathtaking it goes by very fast. Unless you have a package that includes transportation, it is more economical to use an outside service, we used Cabo Ground Transport with a private SUV, and they were very reliable and friendly. CP is Conveniently located in CSL, so it is only a 10 minute walk into town, but you will still feel worlds away. We personally did not have a reason to leave, as the resort has everything. Located on the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific, as with ALL OF THE Cabo area, the waters are too rough to swim in, but this area is exceptionally violent, which is incredible to see and hear, but just know it is unsafe to even enter the water up to your knees. There are absolutely no vendors on the beach, and you will not even see any other resorts--heavenly!

Rooms: The rooms are gorgeous! They are the perfect blend of modern and Mexican, the layout is exceptional. EVERY room has a private infinity edge plunge pool-this in itself it worth the stay and very unique, so relaxing to kick back and read a book in a somewhat shaded area in the perfect temperature of water. The bathrooms are enormous with a deep tub that easily fits two people. The rainshower with the additional hand shower was the perfect combo. The bathroom was amazing as you could keep the sliding doors open and look out onto the ocean, or close them for privacy, which would also allow for a perfectly dark sleeping environment which we loved. The only gripes I have about the bathroom was there was a little bit of mold in the shower and although the double sinks are enormous, there is really not a comfortable place for putting on make-up--very minor though :) The king bed was a little bit on the small size, but very comfortable-the best bed I have every slept in during any of our Mexican adventures-the linens very beautifully soft. In our opinion, you do not have to purchase your own water or snacks as the fridge in your room is stocked with water, sparkling water, and juices, and chips with salsa and guacamole along with two Coronas are delivered around 4 pm daily. I would suggest maybe purchasing a couple bottles of good wine to drink while on your deck.

Food: This is the biggie that will keep us coming back to CP. I have always been disappointed with the food in Mexico (with the exception of Puerto Vallarta which has an exceptional restaurant scene), Don Manuels restuarant was 5 star perfection. We had dinner there our first night and were blown away, the service, setting, and food were everybit as good as some of the top US restaurants. The breakfast buffet at DM is also exceptional. The waiters at both restaurants spoke amazing Engish! Dinner at El Farallon was a step below DM, but very, very good. It is worth dining just for the setting, and the fish was fresh as could be and cooked perfectly. Room service was very prompt and tasty, with the exception of the burger which was undoubtedly a frozen patty. I found the prices to be quite reasonable with all venues at CP.

Spa: The Auriga was truly beautiful and somehow very comfortable at the same time. The Waning Moon experience was heavenly. 3 out of the 4 massage therapist's we had were exceptional and we know massages as we have 2-4 per month back home. The steam room was the best I have ever encountered. The slices of aloe and chlorophyl water were great touches. Take advantage of the salt water pool in the spa, as there is something special about this area. The only complaint I have about the spa, is the people that you reach when phoning the spa did not speak very good English, which made it somewhat confusing when trying to book services.

Accolades: Patrick, the concierge, was phenomenal! Thank-you Patrick for making my 40th B-day fantastic, you made this a flawless vacation! Geno, the pool bar waiter, you have an incredible memory, and make people feel special! Gisella, Jaell, and Vanessa, you are unbelievable massage therapists. I missed the name of the young gentleman who gives the spa tour, and guides you to the locker rooms, but you are exceptional. Waiters at Don Manuel's, your expertise and service were spot on. Service at CP in all aspects is flawless as you can even pick exact times that you want your room serviced and turn down. Any request is speedily attended to and even the restaurants attend to you at a wonderful pace which has never been my experience at any other Mexican resort--how refreshing!

Comparisons: We have also stayed at the One and Only Palmilla, Zoetry Casa Del Mar, and unfortunely the Royal Solara (many years ago, we were very young). The only place that comes close to Capella Pedregal is the Palmilla. The Palmilla has a magical setting, but the rooms do not come close to comparing to the CP rooms, they do not have a private plunge pool, and the food at the Palmilla was outrageously expensive which I do not have a problem with, but it was average at best-that I have a problem with-that is the main reason I will always pick CP from now on--hoping to return in November :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, General Manager at Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Foodsnob 1973,
Thank you for your kind and wonderful review. You have obviously spent a great deal of time traveling to a variety of hotels, so I very much appreciate that you have singled out our hotel for such high praise!
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed the location and all the special complimentary amenities that we provide to all of our guests, and perhaps more importantly that you found our staff to be knowledgeable and accommodating.

Thank you for your special recognition of our Personal Assistant, Patrick, he was pleased to learn that his efforts contributed to making your birthday a truly special memory. I have also passed along your recognition to Gino at the pool and our amazing spa therapists, Gisella, Jaell, and Vanessa. It was so nice of you to make the extra effort to recognize each one of these people individually.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Capella Pedregal for your 40th Birthday. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on many more occasions.

John Volponi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Second trip to Capella! As usual great service and so relaxing! Reese Witherspoon was our neighbor for our stay. Stayed in the Villa with the Butler, that was a special time. The Spa was great and the massage exceptional. The only thing I'd like to see is for the resort to make thier food more affordable, it is so ridicoulsly expensive that you feel you have to go into town and eat. Don Manuels, we thought the food was just ok, service was fantastic. Think next time we will try the restaurant on the cliff, it looked really good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Overall satisfactory but be aware that a strong wind blows in the afternoon which somehow limits the water activities enjoyment and prevented us from having our dinner on the beach. We also found it cold in the room at night because of a draft blowing in. We were glad for the fireplace when it was working. Not much privacy on the balconies and we could hear the neighbours pee in their room!

- Great food, except the one night at the Farallon where our seafood went from being served raw to overcooked...we also found the waiting time there long considering that we showed up at nine and the place was not full. Service here could be improved.
- Great location, set aside but still walking distance from Cabo town.
- Great service, special thanks to Laura who attended our every wish.
- Good SPA, however we found the pool temperature cold compared to the adult one and also be prepared for a therapeutic massage rather than a relaxing one. These ladies are strong!

We appreciated all the romantic touches for our honeymoon and would return to Capella Pedregal. However in this price range more attention to details is expected.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stay 03/24-29 pedregal suite #3. 2 bedroom on the beach with medium size infinity pool.
Staff is what makes this resort better then palmilla. This is smaller with great location near town.
Private dinner for 4 on our private beach front with Bon fire $500. Lobster, carne asada and ahi sashimi, plus appetizers. Hotel knows how to manage your personal wines, so feel free to hand over La Tache and Mouton! If I was into fishing or golf I would stay another 3 days. One bad note, make sure they quiet down a/c, it's very loud and not super cold at night.
MMSL arrival is 10 minutes from door open to car. Hotel is 15 min ride.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a memorable few days at Capella last summer. I’ve stayed at Las Ventanas previously and the properties are comparable (LV is more lush and pampering whereas CP offers laidback luxury close to town). Here’s the lowdown on CP.

The great:
*Breathtaking entrance via a romantic, chandelier-lit tunnel followed by a warm welcome with tasty cocktail.
*Incredible ocean views from all vantage points. We booked through perfectescapes.com and were upgraded to a top floor king room at the back of the property (so it was a hike up numerous stairs and a distance away from the action but we did have a great view).
*Taittinger champagne waiting upon arrival in our room (for our anniversary) – nice touch.
*Daily afternoon delivery of two coronas and chips/guacamole – again nice touch. You also have a tequila-tasting bar in room.
*Our own plunge pool on the patio. We used this more than we expected. It was a great way to cool off in the afternoons.
*Spa is an absolute treat! Relished everything from the fresh herb foot scrub to the massages under the waterfall. Could have stayed all day in the ultra-comfy lounge that offers hot and cold-water therapies, as well as healthy snacks and drinks.
*Breakfast at Don Manuel’s, especially the fresh juice bar and made-to-order Mexican or American eggs. Great cheeses and salsas too. We didn’t think about food again until dinner!
*Easy access to downtown Cabo (walk or take a quick cab ride) though you'd never know it ... feels like you are secluded because of the tunnel.
*Complimentary hand, foot or scalp massages at the pool (though this was inconsistent from day to day). Also, the staff was quick to adjust your umbrella to ensure constant shade.
*Relaxed atmosphere (if you are looking for a party, this isn’t it).
*El Farallon. Yes, it’s expensive, but the crashing waves and view are unforgettable. We enjoyed everything about the meal, from the unique sides (which change daily) to the fresh fish.

The so-so
*Service is unobtrusive to indifferent (whereas they wait on you hand and foot at Las Ventanas). At times we had to flag down a server for drinks at the pool. We were assigned to a “butler” but we never heard from him (and likewise didn’t call on him) the entire trip.
*You can’t swim in the ocean (though you have a pretty decent stretch of beach for strolling. Sunbathing is by the pool versus the beach).
*Excessively expensive airport transfer (they also sold us the VIP airport package on the return which was nothing but very unimpressive food in a private waiting area … would be better off/less expensive to eat at one of the airport restaurants).
*There isn’t much privacy on the balconies … we could see several other patios/plunge pools around us. Also, we could hear the neighbors carrying on with loud voices.
*Gym is nice but there were no classes at the time of our visit (just videos you can play to follow along).

All in all, we would stay at Capella again for its blissful beauty and primo location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view closer to the ocean (higher floors better!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. Capella Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capella Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Capella Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.