We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pedregal to your Saves list
The Resort at Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape to Pedregal Luxury
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Orange, California
1 review
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Second trip to Capella! As usual great service and so relaxing! Reese Witherspoon was our neighbor for our stay. Stayed in the Villa with the Butler, that was a special time. The Spa was great and the massage exceptional. The only thing I'd like to see is for the resort to make thier food more affordable, it is so ridicoulsly expensive that you feel you have to go into town and eat. Don Manuels, we thought the food was just ok, service was fantastic. Think next time we will try the restaurant on the cliff, it looked really good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    76
    22
    7
    13
See reviews for
141
729
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Overall satisfactory but be aware that a strong wind blows in the afternoon which somehow limits the water activities enjoyment and prevented us from having our dinner on the beach. We also found it cold in the room at night because of a draft blowing in. We were glad for the fireplace when it was working. Not much privacy on the balconies and we could hear the neighbours pee in their room!

- Great food, except the one night at the Farallon where our seafood went from being served raw to overcooked...we also found the waiting time there long considering that we showed up at nine and the place was not full. Service here could be improved.
- Great location, set aside but still walking distance from Cabo town.
- Great service, special thanks to Laura who attended our every wish.
- Good SPA, however we found the pool temperature cold compared to the adult one and also be prepared for a therapeutic massage rather than a relaxing one. These ladies are strong!

We appreciated all the romantic touches for our honeymoon and would return to Capella Pedregal. However in this price range more attention to details is expected.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stay 03/24-29 pedregal suite #3. 2 bedroom on the beach with medium size infinity pool.
Staff is what makes this resort better then palmilla. This is smaller with great location near town.
Private dinner for 4 on our private beach front with Bon fire $500. Lobster, carne asada and ahi sashimi, plus appetizers. Hotel knows how to manage your personal wines, so feel free to hand over La Tache and Mouton! If I was into fishing or golf I would stay another 3 days. One bad note, make sure they quiet down a/c, it's very loud and not super cold at night.
MMSL arrival is 10 minutes from door open to car. Hotel is 15 min ride.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a memorable few days at Capella last summer. I’ve stayed at Las Ventanas previously and the properties are comparable (LV is more lush and pampering whereas CP offers laidback luxury close to town). Here’s the lowdown on CP.

The great:
*Breathtaking entrance via a romantic, chandelier-lit tunnel followed by a warm welcome with tasty cocktail.
*Incredible ocean views from all vantage points. We booked through perfectescapes.com and were upgraded to a top floor king room at the back of the property (so it was a hike up numerous stairs and a distance away from the action but we did have a great view).
*Taittinger champagne waiting upon arrival in our room (for our anniversary) – nice touch.
*Daily afternoon delivery of two coronas and chips/guacamole – again nice touch. You also have a tequila-tasting bar in room.
*Our own plunge pool on the patio. We used this more than we expected. It was a great way to cool off in the afternoons.
*Spa is an absolute treat! Relished everything from the fresh herb foot scrub to the massages under the waterfall. Could have stayed all day in the ultra-comfy lounge that offers hot and cold-water therapies, as well as healthy snacks and drinks.
*Breakfast at Don Manuel’s, especially the fresh juice bar and made-to-order Mexican or American eggs. Great cheeses and salsas too. We didn’t think about food again until dinner!
*Easy access to downtown Cabo (walk or take a quick cab ride) though you'd never know it ... feels like you are secluded because of the tunnel.
*Complimentary hand, foot or scalp massages at the pool (though this was inconsistent from day to day). Also, the staff was quick to adjust your umbrella to ensure constant shade.
*Relaxed atmosphere (if you are looking for a party, this isn’t it).
*El Farallon. Yes, it’s expensive, but the crashing waves and view are unforgettable. We enjoyed everything about the meal, from the unique sides (which change daily) to the fresh fish.

The so-so
*Service is unobtrusive to indifferent (whereas they wait on you hand and foot at Las Ventanas). At times we had to flag down a server for drinks at the pool. We were assigned to a “butler” but we never heard from him (and likewise didn’t call on him) the entire trip.
*You can’t swim in the ocean (though you have a pretty decent stretch of beach for strolling. Sunbathing is by the pool versus the beach).
*Excessively expensive airport transfer (they also sold us the VIP airport package on the return which was nothing but very unimpressive food in a private waiting area … would be better off/less expensive to eat at one of the airport restaurants).
*There isn’t much privacy on the balconies … we could see several other patios/plunge pools around us. Also, we could hear the neighbors carrying on with loud voices.
*Gym is nice but there were no classes at the time of our visit (just videos you can play to follow along).

All in all, we would stay at Capella again for its blissful beauty and primo location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view closer to the ocean (higher floors better!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maple ridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As we arrived at the front gate & were greeted by name then asked if we'd like a margarita or a hibiscus water,driving through the tunnel as it opened up into the perfectly manicured courtyard
the doors of our suv were opened up by our personal assistant Ricardo (very helpful & knowledgeable).We then were handed our drinks & were taken on a tour of the resort.
As we were checking in we were told the room we booked for wasn't available (a hotel room) & were upgraded to a villa This place was huge with a full kitchen & big dip pool as this place would sleep 10.THIS WAS the most amazing place I have ever stayed...The staff was truly caring & very helpful. To the little frozen treats brought around the pool for the guests, the chips & salsa brought to the room at 4:00 pm,the welcome bottle of tequila and the most amazing views at the pool of the whales & ocean.We did not want to leave the resort for anything because it was all there...it was an experience I will never forget
The comfortable beds,the peace & quiet.....I could go on forever
No wonder this place is rated #1 on trip advisor...it truly is

Thanks Capella I will be back,way to go Ricardo,you were so helpful

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The Spa was AMAZING!!!! If you're planning on staying at Capella definitely go to the spa. The food was impeccable, the service was fantastic, the room was superb... The views are out of this world... The phrase "Ocean View" takes an entirely different meaning at this resort. The only negative is that it was extremely quiet.... too quiet. This place would be Perfect if it was a tad bit more lively. My boyfriend and I spent most of the time in our room and plunge pool which we didn't mind at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We would most definitely stay here again. There top service made us feel like royalty. Beautiful views, delicious good, and spectacular guest services all around. The staff were easy to deal with and very friendly. Loved every little thing about our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.