We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded paradise with exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal to your Saves list
The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A secluded paradise with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was at Capella for four nights in January 2013 hosting a group of clients (10 people). This required a great deal of planning, and on top of that, it was for a group of people who are used to the best of the best, so I had high expectations to meet. From my first interaction with Dawn Bendedict, the National Group Sales Manager, I knew I was in for an incredible experience. This is not just your typical resort in Mexico, by any means. I booked 5 different group trips through Dawn, and she went out of her way to make sure that I was happy and that everything fell perfectly into place. Love her! As far as day to day plans for my group, I had the pleasure of working with Ivonne and Diana. How lucky I was to work with such smart, helpful and overall wonderful ladies! I was very demanding as far as details for my group was concerned, and they were gracious to work with and they made everything fall into place.

When it was all said and done, my guests and I had an absolutely wonderful stay. First off, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and all around amazing. The staff’s attention to detail and willingness to please is unmatched. I’ve traveled all over the world and have never in my life received such personalized service like this. From the concierge, to the poolside waiters and the bellmen, the people were across the board amazing.

What really stood out to me were the little details, the bottle of high-end tequila in the rooms, the guacamole and Corona’s served in the late afternoon which were delivered to the room, the amazing snacks left during turn-down service, the complimentary mini margarita’s, popsicles and fruit served by the pool. I could go on and on.

The food and drink were also fabulous all around – whether dining at Don Manuels, by the pool, at El Farallon and room service. The food was rather pricey, but I thought drinks were reasonable considering the level of this resort ($13 for cocktails and $6 for beers). Capella obviously takes pride in every single detail.

The spa was the most amazing spa I've ever been to.It's worth the money, but make sure you get there at least 45 minutes early and plan to hang out in the mineral pool and hot tub for a while after your treatment.

It was also a huge bonus that you can walk into the town of Cabo San Lucas. A golf cart will give you a ride to the tunnel, and then the marina, shops, and many of the great restaurants and bars are within a 10 minute walk. It's crazy how a place which is so quiet and secluded is located almost in Downtown!

The beauty and tranquility of Capella Pedregal and its staff, truly make it the best of the best and I highly recommend it for anyone. I look very forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an ocean view and a plunge pool, so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    75
    22
    7
    12
See reviews for
132
694
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The property was outstanding. Beautiful room and amenities. The spa was the nicest spa I have ever been to with a staff that knows what they are doing at the spa. Also both restaurants were excellent with excellent service. However the service we experienced from the rest of the staff is why I expected more. The exception to that was Joel and Mario at Don Manuel's restaurant. They are examples for the rest of the resort to follow. A huge bonus at Capella was that it was so close to town we walked into the marina and town quite a bit. Very lively downtown and something to experience for sure. As far as the resort? It is extremely beautiful. The grounds are amazing, the tunnel into the resort is and cliffs are breath taking. And the service was good but not great. The food was excellent! I would certainly go back but with lessor expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The property is secluded from the chaos of Cabo by the pedregal that you enter to get to the resort.
Rooms are appointed with all amenities you would need, including your very own plunge pool off the balcony.
Daily chips, salsa and coronitas delivered to your room.
Large screen TV, fireplace, balcony, standing tub, HUGE shower. I did have issues getting the water to cool, it was super hot.
The spa is AWESOME! Truly worth an entire day. The initial foot wash is a bit odd, but a nice way to start a relaxing spa experience.
Pool area is amazing. They offer spray evian.
Food is delicious in all of their food outlets. Breakfast buffet is worth the price. Load up and keeps you going for quite a while. Fresh fruit is fantastic.
You are right next to all the Cabo excitement without being assaulted by it. The beach is remote and secluded, minimal traffic beside the couple of beach properties located in this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our trip to Capella Pedregal qualifies as one of the best travel experiences of our life! While the property and the pools are stunning, there are two features that make this resort stand out from the Cabo alternatives. 1) The service is amazing. We felt as if the ratio of staff to guests was 1:1. 2) The spa was incredible. I did the New Moon Ritual. Wow. The spa has a private pool and amazing treatment rooms and amenities. I could have spent the whole five days here. The restaurants are also great, particularly the fresh fish place that literally hangs off the side of the cliff. We went deep sea fishing and the hotel turned our catch into a wonderful feast. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much. All of the treatments in Auriga Spa are unique and fantastic but we are so glad that you were able to experience one of our special Moon phase treatments. There is no better way to start your vacation then by spending a pampered afternoon in our Spa.

We look forward to your return.

All our best,

The Capella Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've stayed most of the high-end hotels in Cabo (Las Ventanas, Palmilla, etc.), and this place is our favorite. Exceptional service and accommodations. Rooms are amazing and views are great. Corona's and chips waiting in the room for you each afternoon is a nice touch. Also close to town which gives you a lot of options if you want to get out of the resort. Not really applicable for us since we just stayed by the pool all day. Best for couples versus families.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow...thank you for these kind words. We are so glad that you loved your experience. We are so lucky to have such easy access to downtown while being so far away from the action when you cross through the tunnel. The best of both worlds.

We will be waiting for you on the Pacific side of the mountain upon your return.

All our best,

The Capella Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at Me Cabo for the first 2 days of our trip to Cabo then switched over to Capella where our friends were staying for the last 2 days... WOW what an upgrade. From the minute you step onto the resort you never want to leave. Simply amazing service. The quality of the resort is incredible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapellaManagement, Manager at The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest -

We are so thankful that you decided to give Capella a chance during your stay to Cabo. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

All our best,

The Capella Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Simply an incredible hotel. Service is off the chart and the food was awesome. Bring mucho dinero. Very private, not too many rooms and within walking distance of town. Booking our next trip as soon as I return home.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room closer to the beach - less steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal / Capella Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pedregal / Capella Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.