We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good, Cabo not so much.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capella Pedregal

Save Saved
You added Capella Pedregal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capella Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
London, United Kingdom
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hotel good, Cabo not so much.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just got back from 9 nights at the Capella and would like to offer up some of the negative and positives to this resort.

Negatives
1. Arrived on the first night to a room on the first floor, this was quite dark however it did have a view of the ocean as most rooms do. As we were staying there for quite a few days we called that same evening to ask to change rooms to a higher floor, we were told this was not possible and they would look into it in the morning to see what they could do. Unfortunately we still hadn't heard anything by lunchtime so we made a call to reception and to our surprise no-one seemed to be aware that we had requested a room on a higher floor. After explaining this again we then left it with the staff and explained that we would be spending the day around the pool and therefore they could find us there to update us on our request to move rooms. Thankfully this was sorted, the room was much brighter and was on the 3rd floor.
2. Restaurants - There are only 2 choices for an evening meal, Don Manuel’s was OK we had 2 meals here didn’t particularly enjoy either. El Farollon- (seafood) Great setting I had the shrimp one night it was quite bland just grilled no marinade or spices added something I would cook at home. I also had the sea bass on another night this again was quite bland.
3.Hotel is good but when compared to a luxury chain like the Four Seasons it doesn’t stack up.
4. Complementary cold drinks are provided in the room and can be changed for drinks you actually like (so we were told) i.e. instead of mango juice you could have orange juice, we called 3 times to get this changed but it did not happen so gave up and walked to the shop which is close by to get some.
5. We asked for the light bulb in our pool to be changed, as it was out on one side again this did not happen so in the end we just put up with it.
6. Complimentary Corona in the evening- some nights it had been delivered other nights it hadn't.
7. Gym- Had no showers so had to go up to the room each time before heading to the pool to enjoy the rest of the day
8. No steam/sauna room to enjoy unless you book a spa treatment, not what I would expect from a 5 star hotel
9. Everything in the resort seems to close down at 11.00 pm– no real atmosphere,
10. We headed into Cabo having experienced the restaurant options at the Capella and we were really shocked by the overall vibe of the place. Restaurants were downmarket "shacks" absolutely no good quality restaurants in Cabo. The hotel recommended an Italian restaurant – It was an awful shabby setting and extremely casual, if you like eating your evening meal unwashed in shorts this is the place for you. The marina itself is full of adults/kids trying to sell various "tat" and is surrounded by shacks definitely not like any marina I have been too.
Positives
1. Staff are friendly and the service is very good around the pool area
2. Hotel is in a great position right on the coast and has a great view of the ocean when relaxing in the pool
3. It is worth going for a couple of days to experience the resort but would not recommend for longer periods than this it gets to repetitive
4. Spa was outstanding we had a fantastic massage very good quality
5. Breakfast was very good, however we often had to wait 10/15 minutes as there wasn’t enough tables
6. Manicure and Pedicure very good standard
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a short break and don't mind being confined to the hotel as Cabo is not up to the same standard as the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    71
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
124
670
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent the Thanksgiving holiday at Capella Pedregal .This resort is rather small and delightfully quieter than a huge facility.The staff was terrific and the 4 bedroom casita was charming.We have two small grandchildren and the plunge pool at our casita was perfect for them to use all day long.There is a nice big children's pool also.The restaurants at the facility were all very good and again the staff was great,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My family and I visited Capella during the thanksgiving holiday. We had a 4 bedroom villa with private butler. Our butler Marco was sensational. We we to Walmart stocked up on food, meat seafood, vegetables. Marco prepared lunch for us daily to our desire. We went fishing one day, caught a 40 pound dorado, Mahi Maui Marco prepared it wonderfully as well as prepared it some could cook it for dinner if we desired. if you get a villa ask for Marco, a wonderful man with a great personality.

The resort is beautiful just on the edge of town. So if you can and enjoy walking there are many places to walk to to eat shop and drink. If our want to get around to medrano beach, the busy beach, where the office is located as well as the activities like jet skiing parasailing, you will need to take a cab. About 12 US dollars. The resort has two dinner restaurants, both expensive. We ate at don Manuel's, food was average. We went into town a few nights for dinner, if your looking for gourmet food, cabo is not the place. If your re traveling with children keep in mind the surf is very rough and not swimable, the wave crash right on shore and the hotel has full time help watching to make sure no one gets into trouble. Our 8 and 10 year olds could could not play the ocean.

If I was to chose Capella again I would do it as an adult trip and I feel this resort is not the best for kids , they do have a kids club but with the lack of beach access the resort is limiting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the resort and we can't wait to return in Febuary to watch the whales! We have nothing negative to say, however, we ventured off the resort to dine often for more variety. The food on the resort is certainly five star, but there is a price to pay for that quality and service. Use the sommelier named Hernesto for the wine tasting as his knowledge of Mexican wine was informative and fun. We ended up buying several impressive bottles. The other staff was inviting and informative as well. We wouldn't do it any other way now that we have had the Capella experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Capella in Cabo San Lucas is incredible. The staff are excellent and all so friendly. Loved the tequila in the room and sundowner each evening delivered to your room. The details are very well thought out. We spend 4 nights here for our honeymoon and wished we had booked at least 6 nights. It was great to be able to stroll into the town in the evening and eat out. I would highly recommend the Capella Pedregal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Capella Pegregal is an outstanding property with an amazing staff.
We went on a trip with our dear friends and had an awesome adventure from the moment we arrived. I can't stress enough how welcoming all the staff members are and how wonderful the service is! You must see and experience for yourselves! Beautiful people, beautiful resort
We will be back!
Mary, TIm, Jim, Linda, Larry, Michelle

Room Tip: Stayed in the Presidential Suite! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Missippippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Capella was amazing. The staff was excellent and attended to our every need. They will provide transportation to and from the airport which we took advantage of($140 each way). Also, we purchased the VIP tickets on the return trip which sped us through customs and to the VIP Lounge. That is a must. The property and views are beautiful. We were able to walk to town and to the marina. We will return and stay there again. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capella Pedregal 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. Capella Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Capella Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Capella Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.