We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel but souless atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Pedregal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Resort at Pedregal to your Saves list
The Resort at Pedregal
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Escape to Pedregal Luxury
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
newcastle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel but souless atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

If youre looking for a very quiet and romantic retreat then this is a fabulous place , the rooms are great and the Spa is excellent. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast with a great choice of high quality food and perfect service from very friendly staff.
The downside to the resort is its on the Pacific side of the peninsular so expect big waves , you cant swim in the sea and it gets windy 3 or 4 days a week the locals tell me. It was windy every afternoon we were there.
The pool area is VERY quiet with NO music something not everybody will like and as the hotel is built into a cliff area the place does feel a bit soulless. I had an issue with mosquitoes in the room too which meant I was bitten every night despite spraying the room daily.
Proximity to Cabo town is great of course but just doesn't have the ambiance of some of the other top 5 star Cabo resorts.

Room Tip: get a sea view - the corner rooms are the best and higher rooms are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    76
    22
    7
    13
See reviews for
141
729
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Website photos are accurate. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Dining options are good. Especially enjoyed the El Farallon which is set within the cliff, a beautiful and unique setting. Seafood was fresh and cocktails were tasty. Location of the resort is good as you can walk into town. Capella packages allow opportunity to experience luxury resort at a "fair" price. The only negative would be that the beach is not swimmable due to the rough surf.

Room Tip: High floor offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

First impressions are always important and driving through a long private tunnel carved through a mountain to reach Capella Pedregal is a first impression unlike any other. From there the resort continues to surprise, amaze and delight. It is certainly one of the most beautiful I have ever stayed at. The whole layout, on the side of a mountain facing the blue Pacific, is stunning. Various low rise buildings and villas are scattered about offering privacy. The 3 bedroom villa in which we stayed was beautifully and luxuriously appointed right down to the private plunge pool on the second floor master. The several pools and spas are nicely spaced and there are more than enough loungers and umbrellas. There are several restaurants and bars and the dining and service are excellent. All in all a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a 3rd trip to Cabo, having stayed at One & Only Palmilla and another more family friendly resort. I would have a tough time deciding between Capella and One & Only because both offer top notch service and food but there is something about the beauty of Capella Pedregal that makes it one of my favorite stays. Three couples went on a 5 day trip to celebrate a birthday and we all loved it. The serene zen-like setting on the beach combined with the unparelled service and attention made us feel like we were royalty. The rooms with private plunge pools are comfortable and beautiful. The spa is serene although we thought our facialists were a little rough (though our skin did glow after). The gym is quiet and clean and offers private classes - we tried TRX which made us feel less guilty for the breakfast that came after! The food is fantastic as our the fresh margaritas that great you. Loved the touch of the Coronas and guacamole left in your room each afternoon. Breakfast buffet which was included in our package was delicious and varied. We dined at El Farallon for dinner and I recommend it for the fresh fish and location. We also had a ceviche tasting for lunch which was wonderful. It is hard to drag yourself away from the resort but we had dinner at Las Ventanas one night - overpriced but a wonderful setting. There is no big lobby area or public gathering area at night but that is what also contributes to the private feeling you get from the resort. The beach is beautiful for long walks to the nearby rock formations but not good for swimming, but the pools setting right at the beach is perfect. Although we were there during Presidents week we were able to always get seats at the pool and it was very peaceful.

Room Tip: We had deluxe ocean view rooms -- not too far from the adult pool and spa and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

While the capella property is attractive and comfortable, i found the hotel common areas to be more concrete/las vegas in feeling than authentic beach resort. Perhaps this is true of cabo overall...

The rooms are well laid out, nicely furnished and the capella room very closely approximates the pictures on the website (which does not always happen)! Don miguel restaurant serves a lovely breakfast buffet, the pool service is polite and conscientious. Overall, the service and amenities are what one would expect from a luxury hotel -- With the exception of the gym's cleanliness: dust and dried sweat on the machines. That needs to be improved.

The key issue for me was the value equation. The room rates + 30% tax/service charge make everything wincingly expensive. We went on a holiday weekend, so paid top rates knowingly and willingly. However, you really have to stop and think when two margaritas are $35usd. We were taken aback at the policy regarding a steep cancellation fee for restaurant reservations. Dinner for 2 at don miguel, the lesser restaurant was over 200$ for 2 apps, 2 dinners and a cheaper wine.

Luckily, pedregal is close to town so you can walk/cab to many other restos.

Overall, it was a nice experience. Good hotel, no glaring errors, no major issues. You just have to understand and accept the price levels before you go. And have a few margaritas before you sign the check

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Could not have wished for more. Capella delivers on every level. The dining experience at El Farrallon matches that of The Studio at Montage and other top restaurants in California. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our Girls Capella Week was Fabulous!

My girlfriends and I had been planning this trip for the longest time and did our homework based upon advice from friends, 3 travel agents and Trip Advisor. To be honest Cabo only has Palmilla, Las Ventanas, and Esperanza that can be truly called 4-5 star resorts. In our honest opinions Capella Pedregal can now be added to this list and it must be at the top.

Our Girls Capella Week was Fabulous!

We wanted that special care and treatment, pampering and attention. We were not disappointed in the least. After reading the other reviews on Pedregal I will not babble on and on, but rather keep it in a nutshell all nice and tidy.

The location and layout of the hotel is fabulous and overwhelmingly beautiful. Starting with the tunnel entrance and leading to our first view from the suites, we were captured. The décor and attention to detail is not to be taken lightly. And the privacy and security of Capella is top notch. All our concerns about safety and privacy during these times were completely erased.

Daily Service – Housekeeping for 6 women can’t be easy. But how refreshing it was that our Housekeeping remembered our times and requests. Nothing is ever perfect, but we appreciated their efforts. Extra bottled water was the one thing that had to be asked for, but a minor detail. When we did ask for extra toiletries that was never a problem.

Dining – Food and drink. Drink and food.  Great to a fault.  Nobody in the group wanted to look at the fresh fish we were going to be served (they are presented so beautifully and the Parrot Fish really is quite a beautiful tropical fish)) but guilt quickly was lost after the first ceviche appetizer. Thank you to the chef for his personal attention.  A simple introduction and hello goes a long way. Best of the best was the breakfast bar and buffet. We all threw caution to the wind just to enjoy what Capella had to offer. I loved their coffee. Dark, strong and a great wake up.

Fitness Gym – Very clean, nothing gross or sweaty, nice variety of equipment.  Thank goodness there are no children allowed. and even two separate rooms (like small mini studios) that had everything needed to work out in private. The level of attention and expert advice was top notch. I thought the personal trainer who used videotaping of his clients was totally cutting edge. He was kind enough to spend time (free time, no charge!) and video tape our routines and edited for us to take home. A couple of girls took the TRX class and they discovered some new muscles they hadn’t used before.

Spa – Total heaven. So fabulously hedonistic it was the experience of a lifetime. A literal head to toe out of body experience. And yes it can be expensive with all the unexpected extra charges.  We all would have loved a beach cabana massage right on the sand under a tent (a la Palmilla). Something they should consider with the ocean and beach right there. The weather was perfect for it. Here again the individual retail products can get pricey.

One evening over some wine we all agreed that all the hotels in Cabo do add those service charges and taxes which can add up. It is true. In a place where you have world class service we also paid world class prices, but after two glasses of (pricey) wine we were in total agreement that it was worth it.

Thank you Capella and thank you to the wonderful staff that made this a trip to remember. We look forward to our return for another girl’s week.
 

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pedregal

Address: Camino Del Mar 1, Cabo San Lucas 23455, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#1 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pedregal 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your journey begins as you emerge from Dos mares Tunnel, carved through a solid mountain, to discover paradise. The Resort at Pedregal welcomes you with familial Mexican charm. The check-in desk, located below the azure blue sky, illustrates the endless possibilities. 96 rooms and suites, each with a private plunge pool with stunning ocean views, personal assistant service, fireplace, LCD television, iPod docking station and complimentary wireless internet, and complimentary refreshments allow you to rehydrate and renew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Resort at Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capella Pedregal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
The Resort At Pedregal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.