We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Service and Price. Lots of Locals.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mesa Poblana

La Mesa Poblana
Calle Ninos Heroes S/N, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
6241444303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 377 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Price. Lots of Locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

You know if the locals go there, it must be good. After living in Cabo for over a year, my wife and I finally stopped at La Mesa Poblana to have breakfast.

Our server was very attentive and bilingual and the food portions were enormous and extremely well priced. We will go back and highly recommend it for a yummy authentic meal.

The location is on a rather busy street corner 1 block up from the strip, but the restaurant is large enough that you can have a street side seat or sit somewhere quieter.

We're glad we finally tried it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came across this restaurant while wandering around the back streets and stopped in for lunch. It was delicious and very reasonably priced. The food was authentic Mexican and there were many things I'd never had before, all were very yummy. Our young server brought us a sample of one of the appetizers we were asking about. The portions were very large and came with tortillas and salsa to start. We even had enough left over for another lunch. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we went for breakfast..and it was great tasty good amount. service was good so good we came back for dinner.. the only bad thing was they did not have margaritas...:(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want amazing and authentic food go to this place, you won't be dissapointed. The food was amazing and the dishes are huge!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stumbled onto La Mesa Poblana while walking around Cabo. So we decided to give it a try. The restaurant. Is very nice and has great Mexicn decore. The waiters are very prompt and more than happy to give good service. The food was very good. We each ordered a taco plate and it was delicious. After eating the took down some sombreros, put them on our heads and insisted on taking our pictures. A few days later we went back for breakfast and of course they remembered us and were happy to see us return. The breakfast of bacon, eggs, toast and so on was very good as well. Prices are reasonable and this is one of the places that we will go back to when we go back to Cabo in June.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mesa Poblana also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Mesa Poblana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mesa Poblana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.