We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was beautiful, concierge service severely lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito to your Saves list
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK HOTEL + AIR & SAVE!
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Place was beautiful, concierge service severely lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Montecristo could be fantastic - space is beautiful, close to town, great amenities, reasonable price. That said, the concierge service was seriously lacking. Started with them being non-responsive when I emailed to arrange things ahead of time. After the property manager contacting them, they finally responded and seemed helpful in terms of booking restuarant on property, arranging pre-stocked groceries, etc. When we arrived, however, there were no prestocked groceries. After calling, they went and got some, but it took nearly 2 hours, during which we didn't even have bottled water, nor the beer/snacks we ordered so we didn't have to go to the store for groceries our first day. They apologized, but there was no make good offer. Upon checkin, they were more interested in selling the timeshare breakfast than telling us things about the property we needed to know (like fact the sky pool was closed one day during out stay - the day we intended to go - didn't find out until we called for the shuttle). We moved ahead and then had more problems - taxis/shuttles ordered that didn't show up, including causing us to miss the main shuttle to Pueblo Bonito for our beach day, and nearly miss our dinner reservation in town. If we hadn't had a car, we would've missed two reservations and our beach day (and had to have one of us refrain from drinking due to the fact we'd been forced to drive - a bummer when in Cabo). It was extremely frustrating because they would say they couldn't take the reservation before a certain time, or, they had the reservation and would schedule it, and then when we'd call back they'd have no record of it. It happened at least 3x. We talked to management about this our second to last day and were told they would adjust our spa treatments as compensation, but when we went to the spa the last morning, there was no compensation. We talked with them again upon departure and were credited $150 but considering a $2500 stay plus meals, etc, and the supposed caliber of this resort, were disappointed. It could've really been amazing, and was instead, frustrating. We had hoped to make it an annual girls trip, but don't know now if we'd return. (That said, spa, restaurants, pools were spectacular).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us, however we apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, will make sure to take your comments into consideration for any future matters. We truly hope you come back to Montecristo Estates.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    38
    15
    7
    11
See reviews for
171
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

just spent a week there with family and friends, the villas are beautiful and magnificent. with the exception of our first nights check in, our stay was truly wonderful. food, bar, shuttle, and concierge service outstanding. hats off to Raul for making our stay wonderful. there is not a better place to stay in Cabo for three couples. villas have three master bedrooms, full kitchen, two living areas, large deck and infinity pool!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Joe M,

We would like to thank you for your comments on our concierge staff Raul, we hope you come back soon, please don't hesitate to contact us for your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The view, accommodations, service and food was excellent. Sunset Beach and Pueblo Bonita sister hotels on the Sea of Cortez were top notch. Our waiters became like family, accommodating and attentive. The house keeping staff always had a nice surprise with tropical flower arrangements when we returned to our villa. We participated in the beach dinner parties and took advantage of the pools, (loved the sky pool) and fitness center. Food service wasn't the fastest, but it forced us to wind down and relax! All meals were excellent.

Can't wait to plan another trip.

Room Tip: We had a villa, 3 BR, plenty of space for 6-8 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for appreciating our maids hard work, they truly love their jobs and thank our guest's comments, we feel very happy to hear that your experience with us was amazing. We hope you return back soon!

Sincerely,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Want a vacation resort that is super in every respect, try the MonteCristo in Cabo. Your own pool, can sleep 10, own hot tub, over-looking the Pacific Ocean. Full maid service everyday and transportation provided to other sister resorts. Concierge is outstanding. Full kitchen and even Chef service if you want. Location is super-away from all the loud hotels/resorts. Suggestion-don't buy your food at deli on the resort. Totally over-priced at 5 to 6 times the normal price downtown. It pays to take a taxi and go downtown to Mega/Costco, etc.

Room Tip: All villas are outstanding and super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our resort, every day me make our best so our guests like you can have an outstanding stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The VIEW and the luxury amenities create an unforgettable destination experience on our first visit to Cabo San Lucas. There is no lack of beauty or sensory experiences here...you will want to return, and likely not want to leave. The luxury villa overlooking the pacific side of the tip of the Baja peninsula, infinite and bar pools, delicious food, beach playground and top notch quality of all services make this an ultimate vacation destination. There are limitless opportunities for excursions, dining, kids and family fun and more. Perfect weather with no humidity. Only one constructive comment on service here is with respect to the speed of food service...they are not on the american timeline, but maybe that is a hidden benefit to help us slow down!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great cleaning service (Victoria) and an excellent experience, especially the concierge (Edgardo Sanchez).I loved the place; we had a three bedroom house with free Wi-Fi. The house was very clean when we arrived and stayed cleaned with the daily maid service. The concierge was at our beck and call, 24/7.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When we arrived at Monte Cristo Estates, we were welcome with fresh organic drinks and a smiling staff of professional people. Our accomodations were immaculate and we were treated with the utmost courtesy. Each day our consesier, Raul Galenas was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.