We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was beautiful, concierge service severely lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito to your Saves list
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Place was beautiful, concierge service severely lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Montecristo could be fantastic - space is beautiful, close to town, great amenities, reasonable price. That said, the concierge service was seriously lacking. Started with them being non-responsive when I emailed to arrange things ahead of time. After the property manager contacting them, they finally responded and seemed helpful in terms of booking restuarant on property, arranging pre-stocked groceries, etc. When we arrived, however, there were no prestocked groceries. After calling, they went and got some, but it took nearly 2 hours, during which we didn't even have bottled water, nor the beer/snacks we ordered so we didn't have to go to the store for groceries our first day. They apologized, but there was no make good offer. Upon checkin, they were more interested in selling the timeshare breakfast than telling us things about the property we needed to know (like fact the sky pool was closed one day during out stay - the day we intended to go - didn't find out until we called for the shuttle). We moved ahead and then had more problems - taxis/shuttles ordered that didn't show up, including causing us to miss the main shuttle to Pueblo Bonito for our beach day, and nearly miss our dinner reservation in town. If we hadn't had a car, we would've missed two reservations and our beach day (and had to have one of us refrain from drinking due to the fact we'd been forced to drive - a bummer when in Cabo). It was extremely frustrating because they would say they couldn't take the reservation before a certain time, or, they had the reservation and would schedule it, and then when we'd call back they'd have no record of it. It happened at least 3x. We talked to management about this our second to last day and were told they would adjust our spa treatments as compensation, but when we went to the spa the last morning, there was no compensation. We talked with them again upon departure and were credited $150 but considering a $2500 stay plus meals, etc, and the supposed caliber of this resort, were disappointed. It could've really been amazing, and was instead, frustrating. We had hoped to make it an annual girls trip, but don't know now if we'd return. (That said, spa, restaurants, pools were spectacular).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us, however we apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you, will make sure to take your comments into consideration for any future matters. We truly hope you come back to Montecristo Estates.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    46
    16
    8
    13
See reviews for
214
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

just spent a week there with family and friends, the villas are beautiful and magnificent. with the exception of our first nights check in, our stay was truly wonderful. food, bar, shuttle, and concierge service outstanding. hats off to Raul for making our stay wonderful. there is not a better place to stay in Cabo for three couples. villas have three master bedrooms, full kitchen, two living areas, large deck and infinity pool!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Joe M,

We would like to thank you for your comments on our concierge staff Raul, we hope you come back soon, please don't hesitate to contact us for your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The view, accommodations, service and food was excellent. Sunset Beach and Pueblo Bonita sister hotels on the Sea of Cortez were top notch. Our waiters became like family, accommodating and attentive. The house keeping staff always had a nice surprise with tropical flower arrangements when we returned to our villa. We participated in the beach dinner parties and took advantage of the pools, (loved the sky pool) and fitness center. Food service wasn't the fastest, but it forced us to wind down and relax! All meals were excellent.

Can't wait to plan another trip.

Room Tip: We had a villa, 3 BR, plenty of space for 6-8 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for appreciating our maids hard work, they truly love their jobs and thank our guest's comments, we feel very happy to hear that your experience with us was amazing. We hope you return back soon!

Sincerely,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Want a vacation resort that is super in every respect, try the MonteCristo in Cabo. Your own pool, can sleep 10, own hot tub, over-looking the Pacific Ocean. Full maid service everyday and transportation provided to other sister resorts. Concierge is outstanding. Full kitchen and even Chef service if you want. Location is super-away from all the loud hotels/resorts. Suggestion-don't buy your food at deli on the resort. Totally over-priced at 5 to 6 times the normal price downtown. It pays to take a taxi and go downtown to Mega/Costco, etc.

Room Tip: All villas are outstanding and super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind remarks about our resort, every day me make our best so our guests like you can have an outstanding stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The VIEW and the luxury amenities create an unforgettable destination experience on our first visit to Cabo San Lucas. There is no lack of beauty or sensory experiences here...you will want to return, and likely not want to leave. The luxury villa overlooking the pacific side of the tip of the Baja peninsula, infinite and bar pools, delicious food, beach playground and top notch quality of all services make this an ultimate vacation destination. There are limitless opportunities for excursions, dining, kids and family fun and more. Perfect weather with no humidity. Only one constructive comment on service here is with respect to the speed of food service...they are not on the american timeline, but maybe that is a hidden benefit to help us slow down!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When we arrived at Monte Cristo Estates, we were welcome with fresh organic drinks and a smiling staff of professional people. Our accomodations were immaculate and we were treated with the utmost courtesy. Each day our consesier, Raul Galenas was top notch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have been at Montecristo Estates at Pueblo Bonito, Sunset Beach. It has been one of the best trips we have taken. If you have not been back in the last few years, you owe it to yourself to come back. Mr. Daniel Medina Lopez, the new manager has made many improvements to help make your stay better than ever. Jose, our conceige has been fantastic in taking care of us. The entire staff has been great.You can bet we will be back next year. It is a great feeling to have everyone greet you with big smiles and sometimes hugs.If a problem should turn up, they are quick to have it fixed. So, just come eat, drink and be Merry while you take a swim in your beautiful relaxing pool! The views are beautiful. There are flowers palm trees that add to your feeling relaxed.
Billy and Debbie Arnold, Charlotte NC islandl95@aol.com

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.4 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#5 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.