We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another day in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Save Saved
You added Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK HOTEL AIR AND SAVE!
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
East Hampton, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another day in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed with three other couples at Novaispania, Governors 5, overlooking the dunes and the ocean. Beautiful setting and wonderful staff. Joel, our go-to guy, was always helpful and knowledgeable about the site and the amenities that this huge complex of time shares and hotels offer. Lupita, our hardworking maid, cleaned and scrubbed our condo daily, making our stay a truly relaxing and stress-free vacation. By the way, the weather couldn't have been more perfect....sunny everyday with whales frolicking in the waters right off the beach! Two of our friends went fishing twice so the catch of dorado, marlin and snapper was not wasted....they went right on the grill as the rest of us sat on the under water pool stools and sipped margaritas! Not too shabby! Also, treat yourself to the spas...four of us used the facilities at the Pacifica and just loved the treatments! Worth every cent! Hasta!

Room Tip: Transportation around the complex needs a bit improvement. It's a massive place and getting taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    29
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
114
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cool, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here the first week of January, in a 3-bedroom, 3.5 bath villa. There were just the 2 of us, so this place seemed enormous! Check-in was a little rough, because we were unable to obtain maps to the resort properties unless, we were told ,"You go on the timeshare tour." We declined, then went up to our villa, where we expected there to be some written information about the unit, the resort, restaurants, etc. We went back to the check-in office, whereupon we agreed to the timeshare tour so we could get more information.
The tour was the next morning. Great breakfast, great tour off the entire resort, and no-pressure. We were out in 90 minutes, with $300 credit toward meals and drinks. Most painless presentation we have ever been to.
There is not a swimable beach at this resort because of a strong undertow and high waves, so we frequented Pueblo Bonita Blanco downtown, and it was great! Good poolside food, nice beach. Only snafu was trying to secure a lounge chair. The workers there were able to collect some for us, and set us up. I should mention this was still Spring Break for many in the U.S., so it was crowded.
Our villa had very comfortable beds, best we've slept in in Mexico, a fully equipped kitchen, plus our own pool and hot tub. We also had our own butler: Gerardo (Jerry). He was great. We couldn't get the computer to work, and he arrived immediately to get it working. All we ever had to do was call him, and he was available!
The maids were also excellent, and the unit always "sparkled."
We mostly ate out, choosing to cook very little this time, and found the restaurant at Montecrsto to be excellent. We had prime rib the last night we were there, and we both felt it was the best we had ever tasted!
In spite of the early snafu we encountered, I am giving this restaurant 5 stars because I feel that it excelled in all other ways.
One suggestion I have would be to have a binder full of helpful information, including maps, restaurants, directions for the computer, etc. in each villa. This would save guests a lot of headaches, and fewer phone calls to the front desk!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a wonderful place for our adult family and partners. Everyone had their own space and their were 2 living areas to hang out in , although we spent most of our time outside by our private pool and hot tub enjoying the view of the ocean. The kitchen was pretty well stocked so we ate in a few times and bought fresh seafood to grill on the barbecue . It is a little remote , but there are shuttles and taxi drivers are waiting at the lower resort to take you wherever. We rented a car and were glad we did , but it is not necessary. The personal concierge was very helpful and overall and the cleaning staff were friendly and through. We would come back to this resort in a heartbeat. We can't really give a fair comment on the food as we ate only 1 lunch there but the lunch iwas just ok with slow service. Eat in town and the many restaurants in town. We at two times at Pochos and at Alexandra's ask for Hore.

Room Tip: The 4 bedroom has a separate room , not in the villa for grown up children/gurest who want a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just came back from our Villa at Monte Cristo which we purchased last year. It was just as spectacular as we remember it. Beautiful furnishings, great location, unbelievable service. We can't wait to go back. The food at Cipola by the pool was very good - much better than anything from Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. The only downside was waiting for a van when it got busy. They need to add an extra van or two. But a great vacation! There's never any reason to leave the villa with your own infinity pool. Just sitting out there was wonderful and no hassles with other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Cabo Lover,

We would like to thank for being such a loyal guest to Pueblo Bonito Montecristo, we are very happy to hear that you had a really nice time during your stay with us, we appreciate your positive attitude and we're already waiting to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,

Engelberto Tirado, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband's family has a villa for 2 weeks in February, and it is AMAZING. Great views, as it sits high on the mountain side....private pool with hot tub. Beautiful accomodation, and perfect staff. We love to get up in the morning and walk the beach, then hit the sky pool for drinks.

The Bistro has THE BEST tortilla soup I've ever had.

Can't wait to go back in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Crystalluvs,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Montecristo anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Engelberto Tirado, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a very nice time at Pueblo Bonito. We were located up high on the mountain side in a 3 bedroom villa with pool. The villa had spectacular views and we could see the whales jumping from our balcony. Great to have your own pool as it was difficult at times to find any space at the shared pools.Cecilia our maid was excellent and kept the villa in top notch cleanliness. Ignacio was of great help at the main shared pool when it was full. He found chairs, umbrella and space for 6 of us without taking any tips! If you like privacy, being up on the hill is the way to go, however, it is a ways away from the main amenities. We had to take a shuttle up and down the hill in order to do pretty much anything.
Even though the villa was beautiful there were some maintenance issues such as a door that didn't lock, pool tiles falling off the pool and cracked tiles. Would recommend that some general maintenance be done to keep the villas in good condition as they age.
Overall, the workers at Pueblo Bonito were friendly, helpful and provided excellent service. Was a very relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: If you like privacy - go higher up the hill with lower numbered villas 1-20. If you like to be near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I write this while I'm still at the locale. The villas themselves are beautifully designed, very roomy, with well kept furnishings. I found no maintenance problems thus far. The grounds are well kept and there is the lovely view of the ocean. If you are one to highly value privacy, you will love the locale. It is quiet and well isolated from Cabo.

Problems:

-the wifi is weak. It frequently turns off. I find that common among lower priced resorts of which this is not.

-I was not initially provided a map of the local amenities. There are 7 accessible pools in nearby resorts. There are countless bars, spas, etc. I had to call to request a map which was of the local resort, not Montecristo. I'm sure I won't get to most of the amenities because I don't know about them.

-To get anywhere, you need a car or you need to call to get a cart. The carts have come quickly. No problem there. In fact, I label this a problem, but it's not a fault. It is simply due to the fact the villas are spread out. I prefer having amenities within walking distance.

-The pools were often full and no lawn chairs were available. I'm a people person so I don't mind crowds, but I did hear others complain and it took a while to find one.

-Many of the service staff were extraordinarily nice. However, a one hour wait for quesadillas at the pool? Twice? When I asked about it, one employee stared and pointed at the other. In general, service is very slow and sometimes just plain sucks. Worse, the employees all seemed a bit miserable, like they are paid very poorly, and aren't motivated. They did not seem to want to be there. It doesn't help that the owner has a seaside mansion and gigantic gorgeous pool on the same grounds (I asked the driver if we could go to the pool in view and he confirmed it was the owner's). The language barrier adds to it (see next paragraph)

-If you don't speak Spanish, and I speak a little, you will run into language barriers. I found much better reception from employees when I tried to speak my broken Spanish rather than expected them to speak English. I observed others who spoke only English get frustrated. This may be an issue of national pride, and I sensed some passive-aggressiveness, and I don't blame them necessarily. However, the owner with the mansion may want to get off his/her perch and teach his employees English because the timeshare owners who pay for it speak it.

Conclusion:

You'll find much much better values in the U.S., which has numerous hot desert cities, without the cultural and language complications, high priced airfare, need for passport, etc. They may not have a beach, but you can't swim in this one anyway.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.