We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Amenities & Views of Pacific, Treated like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Save Saved
You added Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK HOTEL AIR AND SAVE!
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Groveland, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic Amenities & Views of Pacific, Treated like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

As owners of this resort, this was our first time staying here. Our concierge (Karen Ramirez) was kind enough to accommodate our request for a Phase 2 unit (Villa # 142) so that we could enjoy the same amenity type and unit we originally purchased 4 years ago.
Villa # 142 is located in Phase 2, which is lower down the hill, and less congested than the Phase 1 units. The Phase 2 units also provide Wi-Fi service which was a bonus and enabled us to make phone calls (wi-fi) without incurring the international rate.
These villas accommodate 6 – 8 people in the 3BR, 3.5BA units. My wife and I felt like we did not do these justice, and wish we had friends & family to share the experience. We are always amazed at the craftsmanship and extra detail put into the construction in Mexico and these units are no exception with marble countertops, stone floors in the bathrooms, kitchen, hallways, vaulted ceilings, etc. As for the amenities and comfort, these units have everything you would ever want:
• plunge pool on the lower level patio (about 20’ wide by 10’ long and 4’ deep)
• Jacuzzi (4 person) on the upper level patio
• Weber grill on the upper patio
• Lounge chairs and tables on both patios
• Outdoor towels for lounging
• Very comfortable beds
There are 2 types of transportation to get you around the resort (shuttle & golf cart). At first, the shuttle service was slow to arrive (55 minutes & several phone calls) during our original check-in date. However, the following days they improved with the golf carts being the quickest and most efficient way to get around (dial 0 on your phone).
The free shuttle from the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach to the sister resort in Pueblo Bonito Rose was very efficient but you must make a reservation with the concierge or at the deli outside of the pickup point at Sunset Beach.
We did not rent a car on this trip as the rental car prices were a determining factor ($10/day base rate, $40 - $50/day with mandatory insurance & taxes in Mexico “ouch”). The transportation around the resort (shuttles & golf carts) are free (tips welcomed).
Getting around to anyplace outside of the Pueblo Bonito resorts will require a taxi ($24 - $32 US roundtrip) so if you do decide to rent a car during your stay there is a carport for each villa where you can park. If you have a large group and can share this expense then the rental car may be a cost effective solution for you. However, if you are looking to save some $$ then it would be beneficial to stock up on groceries to your villa the 1st day and return the car to eliminate the daily rental expense and reduce expenses.
There is some construction of new Villas further up the hill but this was not disturbing to us as the units are self-contained with no adjoining walls and immaculate construction.

Some of the hi-lights of the stay:
• Karen Ramirez – very nice concierge @ Montecristo who ensured our stay was 1st class by checking in with us every day and arranging fun things to do (i.e. Tropicat Cruise, Sunset dinner @ Cibola Restaurant) and even surprised us with a special anniversary desert.
• The Bistro Restaurant @ Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach – excellent food & service, very reasonably priced with excellent views from the balcony
• Cibola Sports Bar @ MonteCristo Estates – beautiful Sunsets, sea bass was excellent
• MonteCristo Villas – the amenities and views from these units are FANTASTIC, we look forward to our return

Overall, our stay at the MonteCristo Estates was 1st class all the way and we look forward to sharing this experience again with friends and family in the future. Hopefully, we will be as fortunate to have Karen Ramirez as our concierge as she truly made us feel WELCOME and SPECIAL during our stay.

Room Tip: Units in Phase 2 have Wi-Fi service and are newer unit types. There is ongoing constuction but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
117
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Montecristo with three other couples and can't wait to go back. The villa was perfect with an amazing view! We could wake up every morning and enjoy our own personal infinity pool that overlooks the ocean. It was outstanding. The staff was great. The maids kept the villa very clean. The concierge took care of any issues we had. We had no worries the entire week we were there and simply enjoyed a nice relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are just back from a week at Montecristo. Wow! The views are amazing over looking the Pacific side of Cabo. The infinity pool is great place to relax and enjoy your days. We where in 3 bedroom unit with 3 couples. The units are laid out terrifically and very spacious. The units have all the essentials for cooking, laundry, bbq etc. if need anything room service is very quick and happy to help you out. The units come with full housekeeping daily and this service was spectular( Eloisa) ensured our unit was spotless daily. We also had a personal conceirge (karen Rameriez) this was a great touch as she answered and booked all of our outings, lunches , and diners. Thank you Karen. I would highly recommend getting a chef in for an evening. This was one of our best meals of the week. You also have accesses to all of the Pueblo resorts, and they make it very easy to charge all expenses back to your master bill. I would not hesitate to return to this property.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed Phase one . The best views on site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with 7 family members over the Thanksgiving holiday. This is our 7th vacation to Montecristo but first time in a 4 bedroom. Very beautiful with great views. Would suggest rental cars to get around since you are located away from the other resorts. They have shuttle services but I have found they are not that convenient. I have always enjoyed giving this place great reviews but....

First the concerns: We decided to do the All
inclusive(AI) since we have done this before for a partial wk and it worked well. We purchased our AI in March. I would not suggest the AI unless you plan on drinking alot. Yes we drink alot if you include all the mango smoothies for the kids. The AI changed approximately 2 months ago. It is more expensive($95/day for adults $105 for non-owners). Fellini's is an extra $10 fee and Lafridas is a $20 fee. Yes, Lafridas is now included. Room service is no longer included. The issue we had is that we purchased before the changes took place. We had to fight to have rm service included with our AI. They ultimately honored our rm service AI but we had to prove we had paid in full before the changes went into effect. Our concierge Celestino was excellent in helping us thru this process and we give him high praises for his service throughout our stay. We don't plan on doing the AI in the future. The lack of rm service being included was the deciding factor.

We have eaten at both Fellini's and LaFridas many times in the past and loved it. This time the experience was sub par. The service was slooowww and some times non-exsistent. The quality of food at Fellini's was below average and served cold to 2 people in our group. We tried to give Lafridas a second try, thought the 1st time was a fluke, the service was so slow we walked out. I believe the new AI changes are not going over well at these 2 restaurants and it's the AI customers that are paying the price. Not that it should matter on the AI (tips are included) I always tip big, it didn't matter at these restaurants. Will not be back.
Another issue we had was the crowded main pool made even worse on special restaurant event days. Most of the chairs were taken away in the morning. This was exacerbated by the hoards of nonexistent people saving pool chairs at 8am in the morning. This needs to be changed. I hope management is listening.

The congratulations: Our concierge Celestino is the best. Always friendly and going out of his way to make our stay feel special. We look forward to seeing him.
2 great restaurants for food and above and beyond service are The Bistro and Cilantro's. Ate at both multiple time and was never disappointed. The staff is great and work very hard to get it all right. Kudos are in order for Raul and Victor(our waiters) at Cilantro's. Best waiters and service. Always with a smile can't say enough about these 2. Awesome keep it up. Coconut shrimp here are the bomb and I usually don't have them.
Had a couple of maintenance issues throughout our stay and they were handled quickly.
We will be back again and over all had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Eustache Quebec Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just came back from one of my best vacation with my family. Loved this place, the staff did a great job from our maid to concierge. The view was wonderful. One good thing is that we rented a car and were able to go around a lot easier. Went to the beach at the two sister hotels in Cabo which was good because my granddaughter wanted to swim in the ocean, which was very warm at the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I don't understand how anybody could give this place less than a 5 star. Everything was perfect. The villa, the service, the staff, everything was A1.... We had an issue with the wireless connection and the hot water and both issues were fixed within 15 minutes. Would go back to Montecristo in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time to stay at Montecristo. We stayed in Villa 66 which was a great location. Next time we want to stay even higher up the hill for a broader view (we will request a lower number villa, as #1 is at the top). The daily maid service was superb. Our concierge, Azael, did a wonderful job of taking care of all our needs. He helped with our golf outings, set up our fishing trip and arranged for a chef to come to the villa and cook our freshly caught "mahi mahi" dinner. It was delicious and much less expensive than in town. All three couples had wonderful spa services. The shuttle service was superb. We can't wait to come back to Montecristo! Thank you Azael for making our vacation so much fun and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Montecristo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.