We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Tacos! Chilli Shrimp!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desperados Restaurant & Cantina

Desperados Restaurant & Cantina
Morelos esq. Ninos Heros | Downtown, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
624 143 4313
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 340 restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Mexican restaurant and sports bar. All fresh, made from scratch Mexican favorites, Tex-Mex done right, grilled steaks, fresh seafood and award winning BBQ baby back ribs. Live music Tues, Thurs, & Sat, table side preparations, great homemade desserts and excellent service. 90% of our guests say we exceeded their expectations and we work hard every day to do even better. At Desperados, you are never taken for granted. We also have 10 flat screen TV's to watch your favorite sports on!
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos! Chilli Shrimp!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great atmosphere, staff was professional and very nice! The food was excellent! Would recommend you try this place out! They did have some entertainment (a female singer) she was ok, the sound wasnt too right you couldnt hear her clearly and she should have been singing a bit more upbeat music... Overall this place is awesome!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
ReneeMC79 from Toronto, Canada, thanks so much for visiting Desperados on your vacation and taking the time to write a review. We take pride in our quality atmosphere, friendly staff, and tasty food! We are so glad that you enjoyed it! The female singer you mentioned was a trial night only. Every Tues and Thurs we have had the same guitarist, Roberto Fiallo play from 6:30-9:30 pm for the last four years. Thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    220
    91
    36
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FAJITAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our first stop during our yearly week in Cabo. Fantastic food and great Guitar with Roberto. We missed not having the free margarita coupon this year but it was great never the less.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Untied, we appreciate your return business at Desperados. Right now, "Free House Margarita with a meal" coupons can be found in the Destinos Magazine as well as other places around town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Great Food, Amazing People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was in Cabo for the Cabo Comedy Festival earlier this month and Desperados hosted the shows. I was really impressed with how smoothly everything went, and the management and wait staff were always professional, hospitable and cheerful. The burger was way better than any other one I had in Cabo, and my friends ordered an amazing shrimp appetizer. Overall, I had a great time at Desperados and will definitely be back there next time I'm in Cabo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We all loved the Cabo Comedy Festival, so Desperados is having an Open Mic Comedy night on Friday, November 1, 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looking for a favorite?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Place was easy to find. Prior reviews on air condition correct. Food was good and margaritas were better. If your looking for a safe place to eat, try this one!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Desperados thanks you for coming in and sharing with tripadvisor! We hope to see in again on your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tortilla Soup was soo Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I've been coming to Cabo for 25 years. I was in the mood for the "best" tortilla soup. I read up on Trip Advisor and narrowed the restaurants to 2 of them. I understand that everyone has their own flare and recipes. I haven't been to too many restaurants to figure out which is actually the best but I would say Desperado was an excellent start at finding out. The presentation plus the flavor of this soup kept us raving the whole dinner. Desperado set the bar high and I look forward to trying the many other places now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina K, Public Relations Manager at Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed our Homemade Tortilla Soup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.