We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desperados Restaurant & Cantina

Desperados Restaurant & Cantina
Morelos Esq. Ninos Heroes S/N | Downtown, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
6241434313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 363 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Dessert, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Desperados Restaurant & Cantina is a Mexican restaurant and sports bar. Our menu includes homemade tortilla soup, BBQ pork ribs, fajitas, fried ice cream and much more. We have 8 flat screen TV's that you can enjoy your favorite sporting events on. Indoor and outdoor dining available and a full bar with an extensive Margarita list. Reservations and walk ins welcome. Make yourself at home at Desperados!
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stopped in for dinner here and we were very impressed. The food exceeded our expectations and the waiters were friendly and efficient. The beer was cold and we will definitely go back to this restaurant for a full rack of ribs...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    99
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great guacamole! The margaritas are pretty amazing as well. I had a steak Chimichanga and couldn't finish because it was so large, but the food was great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I go to Desperado's twice a year when we come to town. Great food, drinks and atmosphere. Each time we ask for Diego and receive the best in service. Use your Gold Card if you're a Villa Group Member and get discounts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012





service was outstanding the guacamole made table side should not be missed the coconut shrimp are huge

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place for our wedding rehearsal dinner!! Highly Recommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I were recently married in Cabo and during the planning stages were having trouble finding a rehearsal dinner location. The problem we were finding was that most of the places were too expensive to host all of our guests (around 40 people) and not just the bridal party. Finally, we received a tip that we should check out Desperado's. I'm glad we did because the place was beyond our expectations! Not only was the price unbeatable, but it fit category for what we wanted. We wanted a laid back, casual, fun, Mexican style dinner for everybody at a good price. We found all of those at Desperado's.

From the beginning, we were in contact with Tyler, who helped us out and took care of booking a space and providing us with the menu...which was amazing!

Upon arriving on the day, Tyler had a section sorted out for our huge party and the service provided by the waiters was excellent. Also, because we were there on a Thursday, they had a guitarist playing which gave the dinner a perfect atmosphere!

The service we received on the night could not have been better and the same goes for the food. Every one of our guests commented on how good the food was. Everyone was stuffed and loved their meals! We loved it so much, we made a return trip a few days later!

There wasn't anything negative that we could say about Desperado's and highly recommend it for a rehearsal dinner or just a casual lunch or dinner. It's great location just around the corner from El Squid Roe makes it easy to find and get to.

The next time we are in Cabo, we will definitely be back!

Thanks again for a great night, Desperado's!

Alex & Paula

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados Restaurant & Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Desperados Restaurant & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperados Restaurant & Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.