We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Dolce muy bueno!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce

La Dolce
Migue Hidalgo Esq. Emiliano Zapata s/n | Across from Maros Shrimp House, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
624-143-4122
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 341 restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“La Dolce muy bueno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

For some unfathonable reason Cabo has MANY Italian restaurants...This one has been here for quite a while and is one of our favorites. While the food is good it is still the usual Italian fare, but the service is great and the location (right on the street, near Pancho's) is fun unless you are looking for something romantic & quiet. They will park your car for you ($) so don't worry about lack of parking spaces, (unless you're too cheap. In which case you may have to keep circling the block.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    707
    156
    51
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Second attempt to dine here was our best of the week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

While traveling with a group of 8 we tried to dine earlier in the week, but the the restaurant would not give us separate checks. Take that back, they would do 3 checks, but not 4. Go figure. When our other traveling partners departed, my husband and I dined there our last night and had a wonderful meal and service. Our favorite of the week! There were two large parties of at least 10 dining as well that night, but did not impact our personal service at all. Can't imagine the hassle of trying to divide up those checks among themselves, especially after a few glasses of wine. Bottom line, great dining for two and wish they would reconsider their check policy. It takes twice as long to go around with a calculator at the end of a meal to figure each parties amount and brings a stressful end to the dinner as we found out earlier in the week at another restaurant with the same policy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The reviews for this restaurant led us on a longer walk than is usual for the area for dinner, and I'm sad to say that for me it wasn't worth the effort. That is not to say that there weren't high points; the lobster special saved this from being a two-star review as the pasta and sauce along with the preparation of the lobster were pretty good. However, after being seated and watching waiters sit around doing nothing it took 15 minutes for anyone to ask if we would like to order any starters or food and the service didn't get any better or faster from then on. Also, even though the special wasn't bad, regular menu items were. The beef carpaccio was nearly floating in oil and had to be left to drip before being eaten, the spinach and cheese ravioli had nearly zero visible cheese stuffing, and the beef ravioli were bland. I'm sorry and I know that many reviewers obviously like this place, but I just don't see it. If you do eat here, i would recommend eating inside as youre protected from the fumes and noise of passing vehicles as well as street vendors and its still very open-air. Maybe next time I'll try the shrimp house across the street since it was packed all evening and is good enough to be used by La Dolce as the landmark to be found in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Sir,
I am sorry you had to walk wayyyyy out of your way¨Two blocks from the marina¨ are you kidding me! Inconsistant food?! you never ate here before to say that!!! but the Lobster special was preaty good!$&$#%&%// Carpaccio swimming in oil?! Come on!!! I wont go any further, your review makes no sence, but will take it with a grain of salt. Obviasouly your idea of Italian is way diferent than 95% of the reviewers.
Take care and good luck with your choices of restaurants in the fututre.
stef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great pasta with seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We always plan a meal at La Dolce when in Cabo. If you like Italian food combine with seafood don't miss it. They always get a good crowd so reservations are helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was a pleasure serving you and look forward to doing it again in the near future.
Take care
Stef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Is 3/4 nights too much :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed at Capella Pedegral (unbelievable Hotel and location) but their rest. Was way overrated/overpriced/full of superficial LA types
Soo we found La Dolce! Wow my 3 favorite Italian eateries are now Leo's Cafe in Florence, La Dolce in Cabo and Bacco in SF Noe Valley in that order!

Owner is hands on and friendly (his family dined w us the 2nd nite). Wine list is full of wonderful Italian bargains! Food is to die for.....A Tiramisu my Noni would claim as her own.

Going back Super Bowl weekend w 8 guys Golf - Pasta - and we hope a 49er victory!
Does it get any better....
Foodies try this lineup:
Los Tres Gallos
La Dolce
Floras Field House and the Office for lunch (wave runners:)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your multiple visits. Glad that you enjoyed it and hope that next time you are in Los Cabos, you come back again and again! It is a pleasure to know that there are people out there with true knowledge of what authentic Italian food should be and that recognizes the effort and love we put into our restaurants.
All the best
Stef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Been to La Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.