We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce

La Dolce
Migue Hidalgo Esq. Emiliano Zapata s/n | Across from Maros Shrimp House, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
624-143-4122
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 349 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great food and even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from Cabo and one of the highlights of our trip was our dinner at La Dolce. We had a group of 13 which varied in age from 74 to 12. but they could not have been more accomodating. Great atmosphere, the kids loved the vibe, and the food was fresh and oh so tasty. Our server never neglected us (even the kids), and made sure we had everything we needed including helping us with a good Barbera wine selection and a good tequila to round out the night.

Stefano even came by as we were leaving to thank us, and he is a gracious host indeed. Reservations are a must -have fun!

Rich J and friends/family -Chicago, IL

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    166
    53
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Italian at its best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food was great...the servers were attentive and accommodating....they put up with my joking....many thanks to Carlos and Gilberto. WE WILL BE BACK! Eduardo and Carolina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“confused...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

i've been to cabo many times and have never dined here. this particular trip, however, everyone at our hotel raved about la dolce, claiming you can never get in, referring to it as the best restaurant in cabo. from ny, i usually don't go to italian restaurants because i only consider a few of them outstanding and authentic, so my husband thought it odd that i would consider trying one in mexico. on our last night, wanting to try somewhere new and special, we took a gamble and walked by. we asked if they could take us for dinner (around 7p on a quiet tuesday in cabo) and if we could sit outside (another recommendation). as it turns out, the red-velvet rope/can't get in wasn't in effect this particular evening, and we were seated outside, right away.
my confusion - is this really the restaurant everyone considers 'the best'? we started off with a margarita (average), had asparagus wrapped in prosciutto app (average, but very good), i had the grilled mahi mahi and my husband had grilled salmon over pasta. all very average. the only positive thing we could think of was that the price for dinner was relatively 'average', and it was a decent meal for two for under $75. other than that, i may try it again on my next cabo visit, but wouldn't be disappointed if i can't score a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello Sir.
Thank you for sharing your opinion and your review.
First and foremost, I feel that is very important to clarify the use of the ¨red velvet can´t get in rope¨During the Xmas and New Years vacation for there is and overwhelming amount of traveler/vacationers during these time and long time clients of ours (most of them from New York) needless to say, we put the rope there in order to provide better service and somewhat a bit of privacy to the clients seating in the terrace. I understand that it may look a bit arrogant, but it is just for the better good of all, specially when you have people trying to get in right away and making preasure by standing next to the already seated customers.
Second. Our reviews,word of mouth recommendations and long time faithfull clients from all walks of life speak for themselves, so I do not understand what your confused about. Specially when you say that the Sparragus App was¨average but preaty good¨ now Iám confused!LOL
It´s all good my friend. Please come in next time your in Cabo, on your way in ask for Stefano and I personally will make sure that on your way out, you will have fully understood what we are all about. I´ll even put out the red carpet for you.!!!
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Solid Choice for Italian Cuisine in Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Authentic Itailan. Healthy and generous salad options. Excellent spinach ravioli with pomodoro sauce and bolognese. Excellent service, friendly staff. Definitely worth checking out and super-convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ciao. Thank you for sharing your experience at La Dolce. It was a pleasure meeting you all and hope to see you again next time your in Los Cabos. All the best for the new year!
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Cabo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I truly love this restaurant. The owner is so nice and always fits you and your party in. Best Italian food in Cabo and beats alot of places in the states. The staff is extremely nice and proffesional. You can even catch the football games there with a tv inside. Just met the owner's beautiful family this time around. La Dolce is one restaurant you must go to while in Cabo.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiquilin123, Owner at La Dolce, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am very glad you enjoyed our resturant. For the past 16 years we have always tried to serve only the best and freshest ingredients available at a resonable price. It was nice meeting you and look forward to seeing you again. All the best from La dolce team.
Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.