We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Norfolk gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caldecott Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fritton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caldecott Hotel
Save
You added Caldecott Hotel to your Saves list
Beccles Road, Fritton NR31 9EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Fritton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A little Norfolk gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here overnight for a wedding in the summer. This is a small hotel with between 8 & 10 rooms. Very small reception but adequate for the size of the hotel. Our room was of a good size, airy and bright. Bathroom was also bright, clean & airy.

There was good choices for breakfast including a cooked breakfast if desired. Overall we had a pleasant stay here and enjoyed the lovely country surrounding grounds. We would have no hesitation of staying here again as the room rate was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived at the hall for afternoon lunch without a booking and were welcomed with a warm smile.

We ordered the cod and chips and it was five star! Gorgeous meal and a lovely quite atmosphere!

Five stars all around!

Naz and sarj

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently stayed at this secluded little hotel for a one night dinner bed and breakfast break. The room was clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Food tasty and well presented . I used the leisure complex and went for a swim. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Can't remember the number but they all seem very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have stayed three times in the last few months and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and of a reasonable size and all with large flat screen TV's. The en-suite bathroom was of a good size and the shower over the bath was very powerfull. The staff are very helpfull although one gets the impression that staffing levels are not as good as they should be but as the hotel has only eight rooms it is not a great problem. The breakfasts are reasonable but the only drawback for business and golfing visitors is that they do not start serving till 7.30. All in all a quiet pleasant place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Great Yarmouth.

Room Tip: Rooms 5-8 overlook the side terrace and garden. room 3 overlooks the kitchen roof (but is cheaper)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Booked an afternoon tea for my mother's birthday which was much looked forward to. Arrived to find that the booking had been entered into the diary for the wrong Monday and we were unexpected...and the Chef was unavailable and "no cakes have been bought in" (sigh...I suppose we all know they don't make them on site, but you'd like the illusion at least!). Thus we were permitted to have a pot of tea and some hastily-thrown-together-crust-on sandwiches free of charge and invited to return another time but it was very disappointing when you've taken the trouble to book well in advance and it was for a special occasion. No Pimms, no cakes and there were dirty glass left sitting on tables for the duration we were there. All entirely lacklustre and a poor experience overall. Sorry, cannot recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at Caldecott Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am very sorry about the mix up regarding your afternoon tea. The sandwiches were made so you could have something to eat because of the mix up and there was no cake because the chef had not made any as we were not expecting you. All our cakes and scones for afternoon tea are made in house and for each afternoon tea, this ensures they are fresh.

I hope that you would come back one day to give the hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fritton hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Booked an afternoon tea via Groupon and arrived on a very wet and miserable afternoon. But immediately things brightened up when we entered the Hotel. We were met by the manager,I believe his name was Tony. After settling us down in the very comfortable lounge we were presented with Pimms which helped to make us forget about the rain outside. This was followed by a generous helping of sandwiches and then home made scones and cake together with the most enormous portion of thick cream.Wow!! A lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

The room was lovely and clean, the grounds were absolutely beautiful and food was well cooked and presented to us. Staff could not have been more helpful so really looking forward to another visit really soon.
Thanks for a really nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caldecott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caldecott Hotel

Address: Beccles Road, Fritton NR31 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Fritton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fritton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of rural countryside with easy access to nearby golf course and spa facilities. Set away from the main road. Restaurant and Bar for guests or non residents. All 8 bedrooms are en-suite and all have tea, coffee, biscuits complimentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caldecott Hall Hotel Fritton
Caldecott Hotel Fritton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldecott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.