We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stop for dog lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creggans Inn

Save Saved
You added Creggans Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creggans Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strachur PA278BX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Strachur
Ladybank
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good stop for dog lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I'd been looking for a decent hotel for a 1 night stay but needed to find somewhere that allowed dogs. Creggans Inn is in a wonderful setting across the road from the banks of beautiful Loch Fyne. The only fault I have is with the price. I paid £80pp for b&b with an extra £7.50 for the dog. To be fair, the room could not be faulted....it certainly lived up to its "superior" billing, and enjoyed a fabulous view out over the loch. But £160 is too much. I would suggest £60-65pp would have been more reasonable. The breakfast, like the room, could not be faulted. There was an abundance of choice and the scrambled egg and salmon I enjoyed were lovely. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Go for the lochside view, although it can be pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    65
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
139
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I just returned from an overnight stay at the Creggans Inn, we would like to thank the owners Archie and Gill, and all the staff who made our stay so comfortable, everyone was so courteous and efficient. The extra effort put in was greatly appreciated by us, it was my wife's birthday and our son in New Zealand phoned to ask if a local interflora could provide some Champagne, flowers and chocolates for our arrival, Gill provided the iced Champagne and hand tied the prettiest bouquet and sourced a small box delicious choccies saving our son an extra £14 from the nearest Interflora in Dunoon. After a walk on the shoreline we relaxed in the cozy bar which had a log fire on the go, there we met Hector, lovely wee dog. Our meal that evening was in the main restaurant, and it was fine dining indeed, the meal was the best food we had tasted in many years of travelling the globe. The chef is only 24 and worth his weight in saffron. Really impressive. All of this along with some stunning scenery on the doorstep and you can't fail to have a fantastic time. I have read some people complaining about the tiniest of things where Creggans is concerned or that it's too expensive for some things, all I can say is stay at a hostal and eat sanwiches with crisps, you get what you pay for and some at this delightful well run hotel.. It is a credit to Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ate in the bar, and did not stay overnight, so this review is for the bar meals only.
The local scallops were first rate - tender, cooked just right, with a light salad - couldn't fault it!
Mains were good, but not to the same standard, and the dessert menu is disappointing. They ran out of the only real ale - mid evening on a Saturday (!), so had to resort to bottled beer from the same local brewery.
There is nothing adverse about this place except that if everything was as good as the scallops, it really would be excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights in this charming family run hotel .The staff are all local and welcoming . Even during two wild days we felt at home in the comfort of the residents lounge with its magnificent view down Loch Fyne . The loch facing bedrooms enjoy the same glorious view and must be worth the slight extra charge for one of the best views in the west of Scotland.
The bar is a cosy spot with the occasional friendly local passing through . An interesting locally brewed real ale added to the pleasure .
Food was uniformly of a high standard . Kipper for breakfast merits special mention .
Dinner had an exciting menu choice and the cooking was of a high standard.

Room Tip: spend extra on sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had an overnight stay with my hubby. Good food and fabulous views. Great cosy bar with a real fire, tended by two fab bar staff/waitresses. Had a fantastic after dinner companion in the shape of the resident dog Hector. What a wee charmer. =)
The only negative was the hard bed (though the view from the room was fantastic) and although slightly over priced still a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

great food staff and view, only problems where there was 2 dogs running around while we where eating and slightly overpriced.The hotel is set right on the loch with views that are just stunning...My only issue was our food was luke warm The hotel is situated on the shores of Loch Fyne, with truly outstanding scenery of both Loch & mountains. It has warmth and character as it is family owned and where you are made really welcome as if you are part of the family. Staff are really helpful, courteous, polite and they ensure that your stay at The Creggans is as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is situated on the shores of Loch Fyne, with truly outstanding scenery of both Loch & mountains. It has warmth and character as it is family owned and where you are made really welcome as if you are part of the family. Staff are really helpful, courteous, polite and they ensure that your stay at The Creggans is as pleasant as possible. Food is fantastic, cooked by fantastic chefs, Robbie, Andy & Ewan. Amazing to watch day travellers arrive from far & wide to sample the excellent cuisine in the bistro/dining room areas. MacPhunns bar is really cosy with an open fire and amazing selection of Loch Fyne ales & whiskys and you might be lucky and have a visit from Hector (Archie & Gills dog - owners of the hotel). I stayed in a Loch view bedroom with outstanding views. The room is warm, comfortable, clean & tidy. Well done Anna, Amy & the housekeeping staff. I would recommend a visit to The Creggans and experience a short break or longer and indulge in the fine food & drink and relax. I do love the hotel and ensure I visit at least three times a year.
Thank you for making my holiday memorable, Dennis

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creggans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creggans Inn

Address: Strachur PA278BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Strachur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Strachur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creggans Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creggans Inn is an award-winning, family-run hotel and offers the perfect retreat for the discerning guest. Each of our 14 bedrooms has been individually decorated and has its own disinct character, ideal for relaxing and unwinding in. Many of our rooms feature breathtaking views over Loch Fyne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Creggans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggans Hotel Strachur
Creggans Inn Strachur, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creggans Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.