We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food, service a little lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley Bridge Country Resort

Stanley Bridge Country Resort
10090 Route 6, Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island C0B 1M0, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great pub food, service a little lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good variety of pub food and seafood. I had a burger and it was excellent! The nachos were good as well and they had a variety of pub type food. Service was slow and the wait staff were not very attentive. Perhaps it was an off night. I would definitely try it again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deep South
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Look for Sutherland's Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped here recently (June 24) after doing the Green Gables thing and was pleasantly surprised. Not many people (it was 1:30 p.m. or so) so there was no waiting and speedy service. I had a cup of seafood chowder and it was outstanding, Lobster roll was main course and it was better than average. Beer selection was pretty good. If I ever get back up there (maybe to play Green Gables Golf Club right down the road) I will definitely stop at Sutherland's again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on June 6th. No one else was at the restaurant when we dropped in - maybe a bit of a clue. Our hostess/waitress was polite and efficient. There was some confusion at first about what was their special and if a couple of items on the menu were in fact available that day. However, after taking our order, though, the waitress quickly brought a bread service to the table - nice touch. The soup and wrap special was excellent; chowder wonderful.

Note: washrooms are upstairs, which was very, very difficult for the handicapped lady travelling with us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sutherlands Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Chowder here is AMAZING!! Definitely worth a stop just for it!! And the staff were very friendly as well. You can tell it must be good as a lot of locals were stopping by for lunch :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic find on PEI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had spent the day travelling around PEI visiting potato museums, customers and finally an Anne of Green Gables site, running short of time to find a spot for eating and a bed we were pointed in the direction of Sutherlands, part of the Stanley Bridge resort by a helpful tourism attendant who had just shut up shop but saw us in the car park looking lost. We checked out the menu and booked a table, it looked quiet but we were assured it was pre the peak season. We were shown a table quickly and chose drinks, first point to note was the Alexander Keith's IPA, served ice cold in a chilled glass...brilliant!
We both had chowder, a speciality apparently, we can now confirm it was the best we had ever tasted. We then followed up with a lobster salad and Coquillee Sain't Jacques, both were stunning, truly the seafood on PEI is the best, and that is some compliment coming from a proud Scot!!!
We finished with a banana bread and butter pudding which was a little disappointing considering what had proceeded.
Overall, this was the best meal we have had in Canada by quite a distance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley Bridge Country Resort also viewed

Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island
Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island
 
Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island
Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Stanley Bridge Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley Bridge Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.