We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy stop-over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast
42 Harbour Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Handy stop-over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Highland Breeze was a handy place to stop for the night on our Cabot Trail trip. We had one of the downstairs rooms, which was comfortable and adequate for our one-night stay. It was bright and airy, didn't feel like we were in the basement. The bedding could use an upgrade, however. The owner doesn't live onsite, so if you're looking for the typical B&B experience, this may not be it. We watched a gorgeous sunset from the beach down the road and had a great lobster dinner at the Rusty Anchor nearby. Breakfast (delicious) was served at Anna's restaurant a short distance away, which was fine with us as it was a beautiful morning for a walk. We happened to be the only guests that night, so needless to say, it was very quiet! There is a hot tub available, but the pool was out of service. There is nothing to "do" in Pleasant Bay, but the Highland Breeze makes a good home base for Cabot Trail activities. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Than you so much for your comments. I try to read them all while gratefully respecting the chance to host my guests in the first place and and keep an open mind. I wanted to let everyone know that the pool is now up and running. We had to put in a new liner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
24
97
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One thing you realize quickly along the Cabot trail is that it's all about the trail and views and hiking and nothing else. You aren't staying in luxury hotels or the nicest places in the world. Once you grasp that, you can appreciate the places you stay.

The Highland Breeze was perfect for what we needed. It was very well appointed. We had (I think) the french room. It was room right off the kitchen. Was great. Clean, large, comfrotable bed. No complaints.

Location is perfect to check out the middle of the Cabot trial close to the Skyline trail as well as many others.

Pleasant Bay is a very very small town (if that) so don't expect much.

Breakfast was down the street at the owners new little restaurant. It was awesome.

Pool was being fixed while we were there so didn't use it. But would be nice in the hot summers after hiking all day.

Great place to stay along the trail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was on the lower level and quite small. There was no water pressure in the shower. Our breakfast was the best part of the stay. Although Anna was slow and disorganized, she made a great cinnamon bun. The website offered a flat screen TV -- was not there. A swimming pool -- not working. Best I can say is that this is not ready for prime time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This B&B is easy to find, close to the area restaurants and gift shops.
The B&B has 3 large rooms, one off the main living area upstairs, and two in the basement area. There is an upstairs common room with a large flat screen TV, a table and a kitchen.
The rooms are all nicely decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The owner does not live in the B&B, but nearby within 200 yards of the B&B. Anna, the owner also has a restaurant where a wonderful home cooked nade to order breakfast is served. Anna is super friendly, a great conversationalist and an equally great cook.
If a B&B is your thing, then this property will exceed alll your expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two nights at our home away from home. It was nice to experience a spacious unit, complete with kitchen, utensils, a living room, spacious bedroom and bathroom. Some B&B barely have room for your luggage in some if the heritage estates but we had the Ocean Breeze room which had plenty of room. Anna referred us for a great whale watching adventure with Captain Mark's tours on the zodiac. That was an experience worth the trip here alone. Wonderful trip! Wished we could have seen the ocean more from the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

On a recent road trip a friend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast and had a great experience. The weather was horrible upon our arrival and Anna, the owner, made us homemade butterscotch pudding and let us hang out in her restaurant for several hours to talk and play cards. Room was perfect for the two of us. Anna made us the most amazing homemade breakfast and gave us lots of information and tips for our travels on cape Breton.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I arrive at Highland Breeze B&B on May 2nd, as part of our honeymoon; we were warming greeted, and as no one else was staying (it being off season), we were given the run of the house! The next morning, we were fed a large and delicious breakfast, and as we packed up we received a travel bag of a few more treats! The cake was especially delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast

Address: 42 Harbour Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Breeze has made it easier to get into the house and we have added a 24 ft pool and a 6 person outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Breeze Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.