We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pleasant Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poplar B&B
Save
You added The Poplar B&B to your Saves list
23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Pleasant Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Elizabeth and Bryan are the hosts of this comfortable and welcoming B&B. Rooms are clean, cosy and their breakfast offering is an excellent start to a long day. Both hosts are very knowledgable on the area and made great recommendations on restaurants (Rusty Anchor which offered a 10% discount for Poplar B&B visitors), whale watching (Captain Mark's) and hiking trails (Skyline is a must). They also offered driving tips, what to watch out for and helped make the very first experience on the Cabot Trail quite memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed staying two nights at the Poplar. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, though small. The breakfast was a self-serve continental, which suited us perfectly since we didn't know in advance what time we would want breakfast.

We only saw Brian briefly when we first arrived, but we got to speak with Elizabeth a few times. She offered us great advice on what to see and do near Pleasant Bay, including whale-watching, restaurants, and hiking trails.

With a clean place to stay, knowledgable owners, and a great price, we would certainly choose the Poplar again if we return to the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a nice surprise when we entered this bed and breakfast. Brian gave a pleasant welcome and when we said we wanted accommodation for three seniors, he offered us two rooms for a very reasonable rate instead of adding a small fold up cot to one room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and we were able to use the kitchen for a cup of tea and coffee before we went to bed. There was also a lounge that we could use. It was very modern, nicely decorated, a tv in each room and free WiFi. Without hesitation, I would recommend this accommodation.
Janet I.

Room Tip: Both rooms were equally nice. There was no swimming pool and we didn't notice any children acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Elizabeth & Brian, they welcomed us into their home and made sure we treated it as if our own. They also recommended sights to visit close by.....great breakfast was included,also recommending fresh lobster by the jetty.....shared kitchen,two rooms available, a little small but have a lounge area to sit and read with Internet available...I do highly recommend visiting The Poplar B& B....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were warmly received by the daughter of the owner. The b&b was very clean and neat. The rooms were small, but big enough, the bed and the shower were perfect. We shared a kitchen (filled with beakfast ingredients), and a terrace with the other guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at The Poplar B&B in September 2012. Our reservations were made via Internet two weeks in advance and our hosts confirmed our inquiry within hours. We really enjoyed our stay here. Brian and Elizabeth were always friendly and helped with recommendations on what to explore in the area. They are wonderful hosts. We were out on hikes two days, and The Poplar was a great place to come back to in the evening. Breakfast was just right, and the homemade muffins were a delight. We even took a photograph of the recipe so we can try to have a 'Poplar-B&B Breakfast' back home in Germany. In the evenings we always enjoyed a great dinner at the Rusty Anchor Restaurant. Pleasant Bay is a small community and the ideal place for a vacation to explore the Cape Breton National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meriden nh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for one night. Brian and Elizabeth were very friendly and helpful.Bedroom and bathroom are rather small, but we found it to be acceptable. The price was the lowest we paid on Cape Bretton. Kitchen/living room areas were clean and nicely decorated. If you are looking for a nice place for a night I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poplar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplar B&B

Address: 23606 Cabot Trail Road, Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia B0E 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Pleasant Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pleasant Bay
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poplar B&B is located halfway around the beautiful Cabot Trail in Pleasant Bay, NS! We are located only 45 minutes from the town of Cheticamp and only 60 minutes from the town of Ingonish. We have two rooms, The Mountain Sunrise & The Poplar View. Both rooms have their own en-suite baths, queen bed, satellite, TV and DVD player, and free WIFI. Our B&B offers a continental breakfast with your stay and a sitting room to relax during the evenings. We offer a special rate for families or couples traveling together who would like to book both rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Poplar B&B Pleasant Bay, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplar B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.