We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KINGS HEAD

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
KINGS HEAD
MARLOW ROAD, Little Marlow, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: THIS IS A DELIGHTFUL PUB WITH A WONDERFUL MENU OPENSEVEN DAYS A WEEK, AND SERVING SUNDAY ROAST FROM NOON UNTIL 7PM ON SUNDAYS, AND UNTIL 9.30PM OTHER EVENINGS.IT IS PERHAPS THE BEST SUNDAY ROAST WE HAVE EVER TASTED AND THE OTHER ITEMS WHICH ARE VARIED AND EXCELLENT ARE VERY REASONABLY PRICED. THERE IS A LARGE CHARMING GARDEN WITH OUTDOOR SEATING, AND A COVERED AREA ALSO FOR SMOKERS IF THEY WISH. THE FOOD IS FANTASTIC, FRESH AND IT IS LOCAL PRODUCE. THE STAFF ARE EXCEPTIONALLY PLEASANT AT ALL TIMES. WE CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE HIGHLY ENOUGHFOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES, AND THE GARDEN IS GREAT FOR CHILDREN. THERE IS ALSO A FUNCTION ROOM SEPARATE FROM THE MAIN BUILDING FOR WEDDINGS AND FAMILY GET TOGETHERS, OR INDEED ANY EVENT. MARVELLOUS PUB, ALWAYS BUSY DAY AND EVENING BUT QUICK EFFICIENT SERVICE WITH A SMILE. THANK YOUKINGS HEAD AND SPECIAL THANKS TO THE CHEFS, PARTICULARLY MR. PETER BAKER WHO USED TO BE AT THE HAND AND FLOWERS IN MARLOW.
maidenhead
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Delightful meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The King's Head is a lovely country pub with a restaurant in a back room. The restaurant is quite small (although you can also eat in the bar and there is an enormous outdoor eating area), so booking is essential. The menu is fairly extensive and the food is just a delight.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    14
    13
    1
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked a table for 9 after reading some local reviews of the Kings Head. Can't believe we received such shoddy service and not particularly great food. Upon arrival we had to find our own table, even though I'd made a booking. We were squashed onto a table that was too small and the owner advised that we should 'Order at the bar if you want to get any food in the next hour' as they were quite full. Our food order was wrong upon arrival. All steaks over cooked with the exception of one and very very disrespectful service from a 'waitress' who told us that we had ordered incorrectly. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and certainly won't be going back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday visit with the family! Excellent :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Warm welcome. Plenty of food choice on their menu. Decent sized portion of food on the plate. Something for everyone. First time we visited and we will definitely be going back again soon. A really excellent old pub with good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Visited for lunch, lovely open fire on arrival with nice and friendly atmosphere. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food lovely and will go back. Thank you

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You had better book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A small friendly pub with a warm welcome from a great Landlord. The menu for a small venue is very varied and well presented. If you are a meat eater the steak is almost the size of the plate and good value. What ever your choice ranging from a meal to something lite you have a great choice. They have a function room thats great for that 60th party .and outside a great garden with plenty of cover for all..
Log fires, great beer and friendly staff. All in all well worth a visit and not far from the river and if you fancy a walk you can go to Enid Blytons Cottage for a cream tea on the way home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KINGS HEAD also viewed

Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to KINGS HEAD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KINGS HEAD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.