We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Starters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Head

Queens Head
Pound Lane, Little Marlow SL7 3SR, England
01628 482927
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Starters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Quiet and hidden away but everyone should know about the great menu available. My friend and I just share a selection of starters - very delish - highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“True country pub atmosphere with good food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had our family Easter Sunday lunch for seven at this quaint English pub. Hidden away in Little Marlow it takes you into world away from the hubbub of the modern lifestyle, back to log fires and country life. A lovely smile from the staff welcomes every visitor, first a pint at the bar and then shown to our table in the restaurant. The menu covers most tastes and the specials board offers something different plus the Sunday roasts. We chose beef and pork roasts and steaks. I had roast pork which was excellent; the vegetables cooked to perfection. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meals. All the waiting team have genuine smiles and give impeccable, subtle service. We finally left after five feeling well fed and content. Good value for money. Well done to all at the Queens Head, see you again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Large Party went for lunch, we didn't need to prep order. All food arrived quickly and was presented nicely. Good service and lovely food. We will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great menu, helpful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Five of us went for a delayed Mother's day treat on a Tuesday evening. The restaurant was quiet but friendly and warm. We chose from a good standard menu plus specials. Everything was great, from the scallops and hake cooked to perfection to the puds - worth asking about the blandly described Trio of chocolate which 2 of us shared and included a lovely brownie, milk choc mousse and shot glass of something rich, dark and delicious. We are quite local and will certainly be going back. Good local Rebellion beers available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“aaaahhhhhhhhhhmazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having been to this hidden gem once before for a drink, we decided to return today to sample the food and so glad we did.
Hubby had the scallops with pea puree and bacon for starter and then we both had pan fried cod with a herb topping served with a potato and beetroot croquette and savoy cabbage and it was absolutely delicious. Lovely atmosphere, good service and excellent food, well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Head also viewed

Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Little Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.