We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time at the Masons Arms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masons Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Masons Arms to your Saves list
Masons Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic time at the Masons Arms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just returned from a lovely walking weekend stay at the Masons Arms in Branscombe. The weather was fantastic so that was an added bonus. We just wanted to say a big thank you to Tiibor (known as Tibbie) and all the restaurant staff. We were a group of 10 and the service was brilliant nothing was too much. The food and accommodation was first class and we highly recommend the Masons Arms for a break from the traumas of life!
June and Roger Martin Bristol

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    126
    48
    30
    7
See reviews for
41
261
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colyton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Some of us walked over the cliffs from Beer (about an hour for oldies) and others came by car and were lucky to find a space in the car park behind the pub. We have stayed in the long past under different owners, and very good it was then too.
This time we were there only for a reviving lunch - soup (delicious), salad and sandwiches (crab and home cooked ham - all excellent). As of old, the staff, including at least one we are pleased to find still there, are helpful and attentive and though the cut-off time for food is 2.15pm we were able to have deserts and coffee after that.
The weather was amazing and we sat outside in the sun. We hope the work in progress will reinstate some more outside tables for the height of the season. Delighted it still lives up to its old high standards.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night as a base to explore the surrounding area. The rooms were very clean,comfortable and well stocked-lots of tea,coffee and bottled water. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was excellent-real coffee and more on offer than a full english! Branscombe itself is a very pretty village. The beach is only 10 minutes walk away and once there the Shanty Inn is well worth a visit too. We would certainly visit Branscombe again and definately stay at The Mason's Arms.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 which was seperate to the main building. I liked the beautiful garden ( amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed for two nights room lovely, however due to the old building the noise from room above disturbed us several times during the night, could hear every sound. Beautiful setting , gardens to the front of cottages wonderful with chairs to sit on and watch the world go by. Welcome by the staff on arrival was friendly, as was the service in restaurant and bar. The food was excellent and breakfast providing a varied choice of options. We would definately return in the future a good comfortable stay.

Room Tip: book upstairs rooms in cottages downstairs noise from upper level noisy due to old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After the mixed reports of other visitors to The Masons Arms, we were a little apprehensive. We need not have been. Perhaps we were lucky or the proprietors have made adjustments but our stay could hardly have been better.

To get to the pub you plunge down narrow lanes and find it in a peaceful rural valley within walking distance of the sea.

Although we had been told that our room would be available from 3pm, when we arrived just before lunch, we were told that we could move in. This was very much appreciated, as was the offer to carry bags up the steps to the cottages. We were accommodated on the ground floor. It was pleasant having our own table and chairs on a small terrace looking out on an attractive garden. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom large and well-equipped with both a bath and a shower. It was a thoughtful gesture to leave a complimentary bottle of wine as an anaesthetic because of the building work. Actually the noise from the workmen was not intrusive, merely purposeful cheerfulness during the working day.

When we set off with boots and sticks for a walk, the landlord told us to ring if we needed transport back.

We enjoyed the evening meals and, despite having taken healthy exercise, found the helpings quite large enough, tasty and well presented. The service was efficient. Outstanding was a tall Hungarian lady who looked after us splendidly and never seemed to pause in her duties. She seemed the dynamo that drove the restaurant.

At night we found the bed unusually comfortable and the room most quiet.

The breakfast was also to be praised for its selection of cold and cooked items and the prompt service with a (pre-ordered) newspaper being delivered to our table.

The pub is ideally placed for strolls down to the beach or more energetic walks on the South West Coastal Path. It is surrounded by delightful countryside. In the late afternoon we enjoyed sitting on our little terrace admiring the garden, reading and writing.

The only mild complaint was about the service on the last day. We stayed until lunch time and it took them twenty minutes to bring us a sandwich each. The pub was very busy and, in the light of all the good things we experienced, it is easy to forgive them.

Room Tip: Downstairs in the cottages, if you want somewhere to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for a break 25th June for two nights.

Wonderful time, Simon and the staff were brilliant, made us feel very much at home.

The food was delicious, the rooms were so comfortable. Everyone was so welcoming, we will certainly be back. Beautiful surroundings, so pleased we chose this for our break.

They had scaffolding up necessary as problem with a roof, but they were so good in letting everyone know so they had the choice whether or not to come. Did not affect the wonderful time we had. It was perfect.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room no 2, it was lovely so pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The scaffolding was still up but didn't spoil the stay at all. Would have been nice to see the place in all its glory but it just means we have to visit again when all the work is done.
We ate there every night of our stay, the food was excellent and the service was always good with friendly staff. A good selection of real ales and local ciders to choose from to accompany your meal.
Breakfasts were also good and a nice touch providing a cooked sausage for our dogs breakfast each morning too.
We stayed in a Superior Room I believe, this was very spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, inconsiderate "neighbours" in nearby rooms didn't seem to know how to close doors, constantly allowing them to slam shut.
All the locals were friendly and chatty.
We will certainly be going back for another stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain's most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, The Masons Arms. This charming thatched Inn dates back to 1350 - a cider house turned country pub - and the men who cut the stone for Exeter Cathedral drank here, hence the name. With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset's Jurassic Coast. The authentic interiors ooze character with timber frames, low beamed ceilings, pine cladding, whitewashed walls and a huge roaring log fire. Our award winning Restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings. The Masons Arms kitchen brigade are dedicated to sourcing the very best of local Dartmoor produce. The cooking is classy yet simple, perfect for a special meal or relaxing Country lunch. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world. The 21 bedrooms at the Masons Arms Branscombe, are cosy, stylish and inviting, blending comfort with character. The Masons Arms has been awarded a FOUR STAR rating under the Inn category by Quality in Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Branscombe
Masons Arms Sidmouth
Masons Arms Hotel Sidmouth
Masons Arms Branscombe, Devon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.