We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masons Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Masons Arms to your Saves list
Masons Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another happy visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our 3rd stay; we have had the same room each time & it has been refurbished between our visits. The hotel is a picturesque thatched building in a lovely, peaceful location near to the sea. One can eat either in the pub area or in the quieter more formal dining room; there is a good choice of dishes & the food is excellent. The staff were good - friendly & helpful especially Michael who carried our bags to our room, managed to get us a table in spite of the dining room being already fully booked & refused to accept a tip ! The only problem with service was one day when one of the staff had gone off sick at the last moment & those working had difficulty coping - couldn't keep up with orders & table clearing.
I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel & would happily return for a 4th time !
N.B. No mobile phone reception so no chance of irritating phones calls in the bar or dining room !

Room Tip: Rooms in the row of cottages across the car park from the main building are quiet & peaceful &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    126
    48
    30
    7
See reviews for
41
261
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South East London
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is in the most perfect Devon setting and Branscome is a most attractive little village with lots of history and near to the beach. The building is very old and has lots of atmosphere, and the service at The Masons Arms is friendly, helpful, and efficient. The food at breakfast was about the best I have ever had and our room, which was in one of the cottages was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The views from our window were spectacular.
The grounds are kept beautifully and there is parking for all residents, which is very handy in an area where parking in narrow lanes would be impossible.
Would really highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I went to the organised beer festival which was held at the Masons Arms in July this year and stayed three nights.
We decided this particular venue because of its locaion and other Trip Advisor comments.
Whilst there we stayed in Cottage Number 5 on the ground floor....big mistake !!
It wasn't cheap but we thought "what the heck.!"
The building is a row of converted seriously old cottages and so we had people staying bove us.
I am sure that these individuals are not noisy at all, but because of the nature of the building, the noise is unbelievably enhanced.
I appreciate that the buildings are old and that we were out of the building during the majority of the time but they are not fit for purpose. Indeed we met some regulars who laughed when we told them about the noise. Several said that they do use the cottages, or did use the cottages out of season, when the rooms awere cheaper and usually on the first floor.
The food was quite reasonable although a bit overpriced ..my opinion.
The qulity of the accomodation other than the noise was good.
Very friendly staff.
What about the beer festival?
There is no bad beer and the groups who entertained were good.
Apologies, but here comes another negative observation.
The festival was held in the pub car park. Tables, chairs and small tents were set around the car park. There were big signs saying "car park closed" but this didnt happen.
Vehicles were moving in and out, parking up in front of the groups, tables and chairs etc and on numerous occasions people sitting on chairs had to moove around in order not to allow traffic to move around.
Additionally there were many people there with young children and pets who had to avoid traffic.
An effort was made to move the last group on the Friday night into a small hall but that was the area where the beer was being serve, and a water pipe had burst in the ceiling as well , and water was dripping quickly into various buckets and so on making it virtually impossible to stay there and watch the entertainmement. Mind the beer was good!
I really was concerned about individuals personal safety and it was the culmination of the accomodation and this which caused me to speak to the manager and express my concerns.
Truthfully I did ask for a reduction in my bill.
This naturally did not happen, but one good thing was that on the Sunday night after the formal closure of the Beer Festival, the cost of the beer was reduced to £1 a pint...
A lovely place to visit and so many friendly locals and visitors.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a ground floor cottage...unless you can sleep through anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Branscombe is a stunning location. The Mason Arms fits in perfectly with its surroundings. The room was small but had everything you needed and was clean. The quality of the food was excellent (breakfast and evening meal). Staff were friendly and helpful.
There is another pub (the Fountain Head) about a mile down the road from the Masons but unlike the Masons is not open all day which was annoying after going there during part of a long coastal walk. We did return to the Fountain another day and the food was also good there to. For both pubs though, book in advance as they both get busy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a fantastic pub, the restaurant and bar has a fantastic vibe with great country decor.

I never write reviews but on this occasion I have .

Great food, Great Service and a great location. I've been going to the area since i was 4 and its the first time ive eaten here, I cant believe I've not been before.

Highly recommended from a real fussy bugger.

duane and francesca 2013

Room Tip: the rooms are a high price but you get what one pays for .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We were warned (when we booked back in Feb) that our room was tiny, which is why we only paid £80, but actually it was small but had everything we needed. Clean & cosy. Nice bathroom with lovely soft towels & products. We were there with a group to celebrate a birthday & the staff couldn't do more to help. Delicious fish & chips for supper, and lavish breakfast (thrown in). Highly recommend this place. Location: nestled in valley, 10 mins walk from secluded stoney beach with great cafe. Totally spoilt. It almost feels exclusive. And this was high season. Reluctant to share this info really as it currently feels undiscovered!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yes the service was good as was the food. The room was large, comfortable and clean and the bathroom large and well equipped. We had a superior room on the ground floor, however, and the noise from the room above was loud: you could hear their TV and every footstep. Not good. This is a pub with rooms and hard though they try to sell the restaurant side, it is just a different menu in the pub dining room. The rooms are expensive too, so check out the prices before you get too deep in.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms in the outside block. They suffer from noise from the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masons Arms

Address: Branscombe Village, Branscombe EX12 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masons Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Branscombe, one of Britain's most picturesque villages, is the award winning, 14th Century, The Masons Arms. This charming thatched Inn dates back to 1350 - a cider house turned country pub - and the men who cut the stone for Exeter Cathedral drank here, hence the name. With only a leisurely ten minute stroll to Branscombe Beach, The Masons Arms offers an ideal base to escape the stresses of modern life and enjoy the magical vista of sea, beaches and the spectacular walks offered by the ninety five miles of Devon and Dorset's Jurassic Coast. The authentic interiors ooze character with timber frames, low beamed ceilings, pine cladding, whitewashed walls and a huge roaring log fire. Our award winning Restaurant offers an exciting and creative menu in relaxed fine dining surroundings. The Masons Arms kitchen brigade are dedicated to sourcing the very best of local Dartmoor produce. The cooking is classy yet simple, perfect for a special meal or relaxing Country lunch. We serve as many as six locally brewed bitters and the finest wines from around the world. The 21 bedrooms at the Masons Arms Branscombe, are cosy, stylish and inviting, blending comfort with character. The Masons Arms has been awarded a FOUR STAR rating under the Inn category by Quality in Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masons Arms Hotel Branscombe
Masons Arms Sidmouth
Masons Arms Hotel Sidmouth
Masons Arms Branscombe, Devon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masons Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.