We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food in Laos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chennai Restaurant

Chennai Restaurant
Main Road, Nong Khiaw, Laos
8562095599786
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 restaurants in Nong Khiaw
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Indian food in Laos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in Nong Khiaw for 5 days and ate at Chennai Restaurant at least twice daily. The food is great -- fresh, cheap, and tasty. The owner is a great guy, and the wifi is speedy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    18
    6
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Indian food in amazing village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We found this place and just check the menu looking for glutenfree dosai! And they were there! The owner speaks very good english so he can recommend you what's the best. Also, high speed wifi (it's hard to find in Nong Khiew). You can eat lao food as well.

Next morning we repeated for breakfast, they serve abundant dishes, and not only indian food.

good prices (like in the others restaurants in Nong Khiew). Cheaper than the other indian restaurant in town (Deen's).

Great choice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cheap, Delicious and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Chennai was recommended to me by the owner of Aussie Bar in Luang Prabang. First place I stopped when I arrived in Kong Khiaw was Chennai and I was not disappointed. Great food, friendly staff, really reasonable prices and a nice place to catch up on e-mails. I think I spent the better part of my day there as it is very easy to relax in this sleepy town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“good cheap and helpfull staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good cheap and helpfull staff. So excellent restaurant. I love it. I can only recommend it to every ones...,.............. let s enjoy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chennai Restaurant also viewed

Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
Nong Khiaw, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Chennai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chennai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.